We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, traditional B&B and excellent value”
Review of The Devonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonian
Ranked #3 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent four nights here. Great location just off the prom, adjacent to the Villa Marina and only a 15 minute stroll from the ferry terminal or downtown Douglas. Very handy for the theatre too!

The room was super, super clean with all you need for a comfortable night's sleep. Always reassuring. The hosts were authentically friendly, but they didn't intrude. They really did appear to love the work, or they're great actors. The breakfast was excellent: easily a match to some 'starred' hotels I've been in around the globe. Not only a wide choice of food, but teas and coffees as well. We would have needed more mornings to work through the menu. Really good value for money.

So I don't read like a salesman, I'll say that a suggested improvement would be to fix a leaky gutter at the back which was a bit noisy with the window open, and I think the lobby had a tiny memory of 'eau de moggy' on arrival. But that's picky, as it was overall a great place to be based for Island exploration. A foreign businessman at breakfast who visits Man often also confirmed it's the best place he's stayed in to date. So ... Sorted!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Moikul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have just returned from the Isle of Man having stayed at The Devonian,which I can only describe in 1 word as Excellent.We stayed in the Studio which I feel was excellent value for money being a large open space,ensuite bathroom with a powershower 2 tvs,fridge,table and chairs and clean.
Breakfast offered a good menu and excellent service and the hotel was close to the promenade and villa marina.

The only issue I would have is the stairs to all rooms.
Will definitely be returning to this Bed and Breakfast and will recommend to anyone wishing to travel to Douglas.

Room Tip: As the hotel was on the main road,there was noise from the traffic but not really an issue.rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

.... as Rod Stewart once sang in "You wear it well".

The Devonian is one of a terrace of hotels in Broadway, in a great location just around the corner from the Villa Marina entertainment complex and a short stroll to the Town Centre and Sea Terminal along Douglas' wide and sweeping seafront promenade - or you can save your legs and catch one of the quirky horse-drawn trams.

The decor of the hotel is a little dated, but then few people travel to the Isle of Man for the cutting edge, the hip and the trendy. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and well-maintained and the owners and staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are delightful, and you can choose from a range of items from light bites to a full English, all freshly cooked to order.

The only thing I would fault is the shower. I'm spoilt by having a power-shower at home, so as with many hotel showers I found this one a little dribbly for my liking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wirewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week for our holiday. I don't think that we could have made a better choice. The location was fine; close to the sea front without being noisy and the only issue might be parking. However, the IoM has excellent and fairly priced public transport and we didn't bring our car - never felt any need for it. There are plenty of decent restaurants nearby, but with the superb breakfast (and a huge choice of what to have) we had here we didn't need to worry about lunch. The room was comfortable and cleanliness couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: I think any room will be reasonably quiet - we were at the back anyway, but it didn't seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nanstallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good room with large double bed and a sitting area with a good sized TV Very clean through out and the choices for breakfast could not have been bettered. Close to the sea front and Villa Marina Gardens. Parking can be a problem

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed for nine nights in a comfy room and the breakfast each day was excellent. Gillian, Kevin and the Devonian staff work extremely hard to provide a clean and comfy place to stay and nothing is too much trouble. Everything is done with a smile and they take care of their guests. I have no hesitation in recommending the Devonian and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The breakfast in the Devonian hast been excellent. We tried 8 different meals and every single one was super. The staff is very friendly and helps you in all your needs and give you perfect advises for exploring the Island. The single rooms are pretty small, but that is okay if you only use them for having a tight sleep

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonian

Address: 4 Sherwood Terrace, Broadway, Douglas IM2 4EN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Devonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonian Hotel Douglas
Devonian Hotel Douglas
The Devonian Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing