We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Devonian
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Admiral House(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
178
65
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
65
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla marinab bisle of manbreakfast menu isfresh berriesguest housebusy roadlarge bay windowlovely weekendfull englishtop floorminute walknothing is too much troublesea fronttown centredouble roomcentral position
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just come back from the Isle of Man and stayed at The Devonian, excellent place and lovely people & staff. Gillian & Kevin do their best to please and nothing is too much trouble, the breakfast menu is vast and excellent, can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: Front facing room the best
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

stayed here quite a few times now, Gillian and kevin are both lovely people who aim to please during your stay, breakfast was most enjoyable and is varied, rooms have excellent wifi and are decorated nicely, town is only 10 minutes away by foot, casino is a short walk away down the prom, really enjoy staying at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michaelaF2297SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is not a Hotel (as advertised) but a run down B and B in a run down area of Douglas.
The staff are pleasant enough (when you can find them) but the whole place could do with complete refurbishment.
My room was tiny, damp and nothing worked.
I am glad I only stayed one night it was enough for me and I will never stay there again.
No public rooms or places to leave your luggage - these people want your money but don't want to put the work in - Avoid at all costs.
All complaints ignored by the owners!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire121_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from the Isle of Man, we had a very enjoyable time and the weather was good to us. Because our flight came in at 10:30 am, we had arranged to leave our bags at the hotel, before we went off exploring Douglas. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and we were allowed to use our room earlier than normal. The room was very clean and comfortable with a side view of the sea. The hotel is centrally situated for the buses, theatre, Horse drawn trams, and the shops are near enough to walk to, or a short ride on the bus. The 3 day explorer ticket was really good value for getting about the Island on the buses and trains (£32.00), The breakfast was very good, and what a choice, the fruit pancakes were delicious. It was our first visit to the Isle of Man but it won't be our last. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mum2molliemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This must be the best guest house I have stayed in
Nice modern ensuite room with good free WiFi,only minus no view
The breakfasts were very good in particular the sausages
I was allowed to leave my bag until the afternoon of departure

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank timthebluebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews