We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Devonian
Ranked #2 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Gillian,&kevin the owners bend over backwards to give 5 star service,lots of choice at breakfast,iv try the lot,as a bedroom cleaner myself,the room was spotless every day,we stayed 5nights,this will be my 3rd visit,im very happy with this hotel so dont need to look elsewhere,O and yes they are very gay friendly.Kevin,Tony,Steve & Trevor.Stoke & Hereford.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyeden32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    59
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
90
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

I stayed two nights at this welcoming B&B when I went to the Isle of Man for a family funeral. The room was crisply decorated, en suite and with all the facilities (like a t.v., hair dryer and tea making facilities) one would expect from a higher starred hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. There was a wide choice of food for breakfast, served in the dining room, which was included in the £30 per night fee for a single room. This was cooked to order and delicious. More toast or refill pots of tea or coffee were offered without prompting. Proprietor, Kevin, was friendly and efficient. The hotel was well placed for Douglas front and town centre shops. I enjoyed my stay despite the reason I was on the IOM.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDJJmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed in the very large studio on the lower ground level. Very spacious room and large en suite. The owners are very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of the island.
Breakfasts are very good indeed - a cut above the average B&B.
And the dog was welcome too!
We had a really good holiday, and I'd recommend The Devonian to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Have just spent a short weekend here with some family members. We found Gillian and Kevin and their staff extremely peasant and helpful. The breakfast was brilliant and a perfect start to the day. The rooms were comfortable, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our visit. Situated just off the promenade, we were in easy reach of all the local facilities including the town centre.We would be more than happy to recommend The Devonian to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrayclan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windlesham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights on the basis of previous good reviews. As it was nearly fully booked, I actually stayed in 3 different rooms (I rarely unpack my bag). All rooms were to the side of the building (so no traffic noise), fairly small with tiny, recently refurbished en-suites. Very clean and the breakfast is excellent. I was very satisfied. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the Isle of Man walking festival. It is midway along and just off the promenade. The Winter Gardens are across the road and it is a short walk to the Gaiety Theatre and the town shops. The breakfast was very good and well presented but if you want Earl Gray tea, take your own. They advertise views over the Glen Falcon & Villa Marina Gardens but our side room had a view of scaffolding and other builders materials as work was going on at the property next door.
They don't have a lift and it's a long way up with your luggage if you are on the higher floors.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mypointofviewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUNCORN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Lovely Guesthouse, very friendly owners & Guests.
Excellent breakfasts, cooked to order not warmed up like some establishments weve stayed in.
Lovely room, very clean as the rest of the guest house. Large en-suite with a shower i could stand up in, im 6 foot tall.
All mod cons, owners very helpfull advice to find places of interest.
We were there for the TT practice week, ideal location, central, short walk to all locations, resteraunts & a great chippy round the corner !! Local pubs etc.
We would highly recommend this establishment.,..EXCELLENT !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysanRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#3 of 27 in Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonian

Property: The Devonian
Address: 4 Sherwood Terrace, Broadway, Douglas IM2 4EN
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Devonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonian Hotel Douglas
Devonian Hotel Douglas
The Devonian Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing