We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Had a very nice stay at the Adelphi. The best and largest full English I have ever had in any Hotel. Very hospitable. definitely will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    45
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
44
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This was our 3rd stay in 4 years at the Adelphi and we absolutely love it. The owners Len and Jo are fantastic and cant do enough to help, they always remember us .We always know that when we come to stay at the Adelphi that it is going to be a very enjoyable stay in clean surroundings and a very enjoyable breakfast which gets your day off to a great start.The rooms are great we always stay in the family room which we love its a real home from home and very comfortable.We would highly recommend the Adelphi for anybody to stay at you wont be disappointed

Kerry and Gordon Hawkins
Portadown
Northern Ireland

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawkins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed at the Adelhpi a few times It is clean, great breakfast, frendley, free WiFi. Len the owner will do is up most to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a great value B&B. Thanks Len & partner (don't know her name) will bring the suitecase next time. : )

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterandFayeRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

I have just returned back this morning (29th June 2011) from this b and b after a 5 night stay.

When we arrived we was greated by the owner who was lovely and welcoming and even showed us to our room, offered to take our cases upstairs, and showed us how to use the tv as it has a digitial box. Which was very polite and helpful.

We was in room 1 which was very comfortable, we had 1 double bed and one single bed. (The beds were comfy no lumps)

There are coffee facilties in the room which was topped up every day, (tea, coffee, sugars, milk)

The bathroom was a normal size, after reading below comments the wash basins are normal. I found the temperature of the shower going hot and cold and the pressure wasn't that good, but this is a minimal thing and didn't ruin our joy at this hotel.

There is a below comment on here about no shampoo, showergel etc. MAY I SAY THERE IS, ON THE SHELF OF THE SHOWER THERE IS A BLUE BOTTLE WITH ALL IN ONE IN. THIS WAS TOPPED UP DAILY. There is also handwash in the room which is also blue, and i think the below comment are getting there gels and shampoos muddled up.

The room temperature was good, there was heating and optional to open windows if it got to hot. This b and b is very clean, staff are husband and wife owned and they are very nice. Every day they greeted us with morning, afternoon etc which goes along way. They was also interested in what we done.

The breakfast was fantastic. You was served 2 slices of bacon, 1 sausage, hashbrown, beans, fried egg and ample of toast. There are choices of cereal as well. Glasses of orange juice. and pots of tea and coffee.

I have stayed in a few places in the isle of man as my sister lives on the island, and this is the best I have ever stayed in and I will return very soon.

The location is brilliant. Its on broadway. The b and b is on a hill if you have walking difficulties this may not be ideal for you, but I would recommend this b and b to anyone at all ages. When you walk down the hill you have a bus stop, horse tram stop to get you around easy. Billiant location...

Please ignore the bad reviews, I am a frequent traveller who travelled the world including poor countries and the adelphi hotel is in my top 10!!

See you soon Adelphi hotel, and thank you for your hospitality, pleasant stay and lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Our ensuite was small with a cloak room sink , we had to bend down to wash and brush teeth etc. There was no accessories - eg shampoo , gel , flannel. Only a bottle of hand wash - not good for a shower which leaked water onto the floor. The bed was a small double - not good for tall people. The room itself was a nice size with a good view tho. Tea and coffee facilities good. The room was nicely decorated and clean.
The breakfast was basic with only cereals as extra and no fruit , yoghurt etc. There was no choice of brown bread , we were just given white toast. Full breakfast was nice but one morning the bacon was cold , tho this was unusual because every other day the whole breakfast was hot .Mushrooms would have been a nice addition.Nice bright dining room.
The Adelphi is in a good location , although up a hill , but that gives a good view , handy for buses , prom etc.
It has good security with a safe in the room and number lock on the outside door.

Room Tip: Room three had good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwerf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Thanks to Len Carr I thought I could not get a room for this years TT and when he told me
a my room was still available I was over the moon after 3 years absent it was still like home from home so cheers Len I hope to see yer later, so if you want great fun stay with the Adelphi and check out his website.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingman007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed at the Adelphi while working on the Isle of Man, I was there for a few months and I can't speak highly enough about the place. Meticulously clean, extremely friendly and very accommodation. Perfect for contractors like myself who want to stay long term, but also ideal for familes on holiday. Brilliant value, and having stayed in other hotels before this one on the island, I can honestly say it's the best one on the rock!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess1Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
8.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
8.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
8.5 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 15 Stanley View, Broadway, Douglas IM2 3JA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Douglas
Adelphi Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing