We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adelphi hotel”
Review of Adelphi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelphi
Ranked #8 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Located five minutes from see front, friendly welcome, big room nice hot shower, great big bed.
I slept like a king, the breakfast was rather good also.
I was a little surprised to find some one else's shirts hanging in the wardrobe but I didn't find it offensive or irritating.
I would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbuddha1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and my hubby have just stayed for the 2nd week of Manx Grand Prix, well were can I start, we had a lovely room on the first floor, which even for me, having arthritis, was brilliant very clean, comfortable, and everything you could want for a week away. Len and Jojo, could not do enough for us, the breakfast was yummy every day, and the whole experience was fantastic, thank you guys, and keep up the good work. The only thing I can critisize, where the hotel is situated is not very good for people with very bad walking difficulties, I have osteo arthritis, and it was ok for me.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesMilliemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very nice bed & breakfast hotel with nice breakfasts, friendly owners & convenient for all of Douglas's attractions & sea front promenade. All in all a very good hotel for the price. The only possible down side would be the parking would probably be difficult in busy times (like the T.T) although we never had any trouble finding a spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Have stayed here for the last 2 years, to watch the TT Races, was recommended by a friend of ours. Location is superb, a short stroll and your on the prom and the high street. Not far to walk up to the grandstand to watch the start and finish of the racing. Also has off road parking to the front of the property for those of us with motorcycles. There are numerous take aways just down the road, for those late night munchies on the way back from having a few beers!
The hotel is extremely clean, functional and excellent value for money.
We stayed here for our honeymoon last year, len sorted us a nice room for the occassion, and we yet again had a fantastic time.
We are off again tomorrow, for the tt races, and are looking forward to seeing Len once again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamieyzfr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is no luxury, but nothing to complain about. Everything a traveler may need is there. Breakfast very nice, location OK (Douglas is not a big place). In cold weather the bathroom felt a little bit chilly (the rooms themselves are heated).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Adelphi it is clean and functional and reasonably well-located in Douglas, the main town on the Isle of Man. It is no luxury stay--as noted by several other reviewers. However, the Internet and the shower worked consistently and I had no complaints for the price. The hotel (and the island) are very relaxing and the staff at Adelphi is very helpful. For the price, it is good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

To start with the positives, the place does seem to have been refurbished (in bright red, perhaps with the advice of a trendy interior decor consultant) especially in the breakfast / dining / lounge area. The staff were helpful despite our arriving at c. 7am following a cancelled sailing from Liverpool. Breakfast was good every morning (though identical as far as we could tell; there was no menu so no obvious opportunity to express a choice). The room was clean and the bed confortable.

But ... and it's a big but ... the en suite bathroom seems to have escaped the refurbishment altogether and it's long overdue. The sliding door refused to remain shut (and it had no lock). The towel rail was hanging off the wall, as was the miniscule washbasin. The shower controller (in the wet area) had exposed wiring leading to it, and the shower head ought to fit on to the attachment on the wall but the two were of different makes and colours and the attachment was broken so showering had to be one-handed, the other hand holding the shower head. The whole appearance of the bathroom was tacky and depressing.

This may have been a one room exception, but the next point was endemic across most of all rooms. The electrtic showers fluctuated between hot or cold at random depending on who else in the building was using a shower. This is clearly unacceptable in a Bed and Breakfast. Everone was talking about it over breakfast, including visitors from Australia, New Zealand and the USA. It was so embarrassing and I was tempted to distance myself by saying it wouldn't be like that on the mainland (certainly not ain a place with 3 stars).

The whole place needs replumbing and/or rewiring (and it would have been sensible to do this before redecorating). The place seems to be fitted out with standard domestic plumbing instead of commercial quality. This sometimes reflected in the hot water supply to the basin too, though that was based on a different system.

The whole star classification on the island is somewhat suspect if they award a place with no meaningful reliable morning showering facilty a 3 star rating.

A couple of other points worth mentioning. The Adelphi is up a rather steep hill form the promenade, and has steep steps up tpo the front door, and seemingly hundreds of stairs up to the high altitude bedrooms; the upper floors are unsuitable for anyone who struggles with stairs. Also in some contexts (e.g. the canopy over the front door) the Adelphi describes itself as a "hotel". In a hotel I'd expect a reception area, and significant public areas such as a foyer, lounge, bar etc. I think it's fairer to think of it as a B&B with a small lounge area. Finally there are lots of notices saying the payment for the whole stay is required on arrial (though this wasn't enforced in our case).

Also never trust the steampacket ferries from Liverpool; ours was cancelled on both sailings, in and out a week apart. the locals seem to be unsurprised. The steampacket's small print means you get no compensation at all for significant disruption. We were transferred to sailings to/from Heysham (near Morecambe - a route on which they have a more reliable vessel), in one case departing at about 2 am.

Room Tip: The lower the number, the fewer stairs to climb. And there are a *lot* of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 15 in Douglas
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi

Address: 15 Stanley View, Broadway, Douglas IM2 3JA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £40 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Douglas
Adelphi Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing