We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adelphi
Nearby Hotels
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
All Seasons(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
84
54
13
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
54
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillroom was lovely and cleancooked breakfastiron and boardfull englishnothing is too much troublebus stationtop floorbudget hotelno liftshort breaksteam railwaygreat weekendearly ferrybreakfast was includedwi finice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The place was tired. I had an expectation that the it would be refreshed for the start of the season. This was not the case. For example, furniture propped up with bits of carpet, dirty shower, mis-match of bedding, lights not working etc. Proprietor and wife were friendly enough but both seemed as tired as the premises. I am now aware that similar priced B&Bs operate with higher standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kessywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your review, We are always working to make things better at the Adelphi and take reviews very series as you can see from other guest 99 % are very happy and we know its not possible to make every one happy you can see that at some of the 4 and 5 star hotels, its a shame you did not say some thing when you was with us and we could have move you to another hotel, Please let me know what room you was in and ill look into your complaints, once again so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Yours Len Carr.....Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were a group of 12 men and its was great and handy for all amenities.
Its a B&B , rooms are good breakfast delivered the goods, yes bathroom in mine was a little small but come on guys what do you expect for the price.
Yes it's on a hill but so is half of Douglas....
We would always come again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your review so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you all for being great guest's Thank you and best Regards to all 12 of you Len Carr........Adelphi isle of man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed in the Adelphi Hotel for 3 nights whilst I was looking for accommodation on the Isle of Man. The hotel is situated in a convenient location about 15 minutes walk from the main town centre. It is also not far from the main promenade although you reach it via Broadway which is a little steep. The hotel is a little old fashioned but it was warm, comfortable and inviting. I would definitely describe it as more of a B&B than hotel. The hotellier, a Philippine lady, was very helpful and chilled out. I had Room 2 which was spacious with a single bed as well as double. I found the hotel clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was decent enough. The Adelphi was excellent value at only £30 a night; I'm not sure there is anything much cheaper or as good value in Douglas.There was room for on-street parking on the nearby side streets. Certainly recommended if you want something reliable, cheap and cheerful.

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious with a single as well as double bed
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you where looked afte, Yes it was a hotel but is now b & b but we do have them extras i.e iron ,press, hair dryer, electic safe, tea and coffee, free on line computer and w.i.f.i free flat screen tv , radio, plus more. once again thank you. Yours Len Carr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The level of cleanliness is appalling. When I first arrived in my room, there was stale urine and fecal matter in the toilet, and when I lay down on the bed, I found when I got up that I was covered in crumbs and someone else's hair (the top cover had not been changed or cleaned). Not a single surface in the entire hotel is cleaned properly. When I asked for the toilet to be cleaned, I returned to find lint from a cleaning rag on the toilet and sink - the question is: which was cleaned first?

Breakfast included moldy muesli, expired packets of brown sauce (expired 7/2012 for a 12/2012 stay!) stale bacon and overcooked sausages.

I then found out that my stay had not been billed on booking as stated and I had to provide a different credit card, as the credit cards they take are not the credit cards listed on the hotel description. During the process I found out that Booking.com sends credit card details in unencrypted emails to hotels, and so I will never use Booking.com again.

Total and utter decrepit failure.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here, room 3 has a good southwesterly exposure.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raiaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

I was stunned at your review I've been the owner for 25 years and never had a review like yours i refunded your money as you were so unhappy, we respond to all reviews to make the hotel better. Yours Len Carr.....Adelphi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Located five minutes from see front, friendly welcome, big room nice hot shower, great big bed.
I slept like a king, the breakfast was rather good also.
I was a little surprised to find some one else's shirts hanging in the wardrobe but I didn't find it offensive or irritating.
I would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbuddha1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews