We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THANK YOU"”
Review of Adelphi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelphi
Ranked #9 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My son and i had a great time at the adelphi,Len and and all the staff were excellent. We were their for the southern 100 what a great base,len let us leave our bikes in the front garden when possible (CHEERS,Sorry about the noise) the food was remarkable, great breakfast!!!. The room was always cleaned professionally and i must say two blokes 1 room we are not the tidiest.lastly i can only recommend everybody at the adelphi, You made it a great stay. ps will you have us back next year please len?

ron/gary

Room Tip: a few stairs if your at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Really nice b&b. waited for our late arrival to give us the keys. Room was spot on, comfy bed, on suite, iron, hair dryer, tv, radio! Everything and some! Fantastic couple of nights. Clean and tidy place. Breakfast was spot on, sausage butty went down a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at Adelphi for a weekend and we couldn't have wished for a better place to spend our lovely break. The owner is very nice and welcoming, made us feel at home. We were provided with directions on where to go and what to do on the island. The breakfast was just great and kept us going for the whole day. The room had everything we needed (incl ironing board). The location is very convenient, 2 min away from the villa marina and the sea front. All in all it was a great experience.

We would definitely come back and recommend the place to all our friends.

Room Tip: Our room 6 was really quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DinaManchester_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed with 18 & 22 yo children in a twin and single room. Breakfasts were excellent. Len and the ladies were friendly, welcoming and informative.
I worried about parking, but found a space nearby every day with no problem.
My son found the bathroom in his single room small, but he is quite large.
I don't go on holiday to spend my days in a hotel room, and this was the perfect base for our short break on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIRLTHING63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just spent 10 days at the Adelphi for TT Week,i found it a very good base with a good breakfast and very friendly staff i have spent a lot of years staying in hotels/B&B,s in douglas for tt week and this was most certainly one of the best,I would and have recomended it to my friends and would also point out i tried to book for next year and they were fully booked so this hotel is obviously very popular and i do think some of the reviews are unfair! I would like to take this opportunity to thank the proprietors for a very good service and an enjoyable 10 day stay. Philip Higgs.

Room Tip: For the the more elderly holidaymaker I would suggest a room on one of the lower floors as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

So pleased you had a good time in the Isle of Man and thank you for your kind words I to enjoyed tt 2013 , thank you Len Carr and JoJo Carr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The place was tired. I had an expectation that the it would be refreshed for the start of the season. This was not the case. For example, furniture propped up with bits of carpet, dirty shower, mis-match of bedding, lights not working etc. Proprietor and wife were friendly enough but both seemed as tired as the premises. I am now aware that similar priced B&Bs operate with higher standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kessywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your review, We are always working to make things better at the Adelphi and take reviews very series as you can see from other guest 99 % are very happy and we know its not possible to make every one happy you can see that at some of the 4 and 5 star hotels, its a shame you did not say some thing when you was with us and we could have move you to another hotel, Please let me know what room you was in and ill look into your complaints, once again so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Yours Len Carr.....Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were a group of 12 men and its was great and handy for all amenities.
Its a B&B , rooms are good breakfast delivered the goods, yes bathroom in mine was a little small but come on guys what do you expect for the price.
Yes it's on a hill but so is half of Douglas....
We would always come again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your review so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you all for being great guest's Thank you and best Regards to all 12 of you Len Carr........Adelphi isle of man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.6 mi away
At Caledonia
At Caledonia
#20 of 37 in Douglas
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi

Address: 15 Stanley View, Broadway, Douglas IM2 3JA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Adelphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Douglas
Adelphi Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing