We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
cavan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I stayed here with my husband and 12yr old daughter during practise at the Manx Grand Prix - we had visited the Isle of Man several times before - this was our first time to stay here- Len and JoJo were very friendly and helpful, lovely decorated and top standard room and beautiful cooked breakfast - very near Douglas centre, Villa Marina complex and cinema and shops.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helendalymcgauran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    47
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
46
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This hotel is in a quiet location but close to the centre of Douglas. Owner was vey friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. At £25.00 ppn at the height of summer this was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevinmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The museum was our main place of interest and this B&B is within walking distance without going up and down the hills in town. The host was friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The room was spacious with a 3 piece ensuite. Breakfast was full English but was only offered between 8:30 and 9:00 (continental breakfast could be requested for earlier if needed).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kotonko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

If you like to walk - great - but keep in mind when you have luggage, that this hotel is at the top of a hill, up a flight of stairs to the door, then more narrow stairs inside up to your room. The room I got had no place for an open suitcase except the bed. As a solo traveler this time, I had half the bed, the suitcase had the other - at least it doesn't snore and my half of the bed was comfortable. Imagine my surprise to find that 1) the bathroom garbage had not been emptied from the prior occupant 2) the only soap bars were used - again from the prior occupant and 3) if a vacuum cleaner was used there before, it must have been very low powered. Of course, having already 'bothered' the owner once to check the wi-fi network - as the one labelled Adelphi needed a key - it wasn't worth the aggravation of trying to get someone's attention to complain again. By the way, it is not the Adelphi network that works, but the unsecured one labelled simple Linksys. If you want a shower, keep in mind that the shower door wouldn't open more than 1/3 of the way since it hits the toilet. Then, if the sliding 'bathroom' door is shut, there is a 30cm/1ft gap to get into the shower. It is a bit easier when the door is left open. Breakfast the next morning was at a table that came complete with crumbs already. The dish that holds the condiments didn't move on the table I sat at - but I confirmed it was moveable when I saw another guest move theirs. Perhaps mine was glued. Not much discussion of breakfast - full English consists of runny eggs and the standard sausage, beans, and toast. Not even a tomato. I was glad I was leaving early the next day, as I would miss the 1/2 hour window during which breakfast is served on Sundays. I had mentioned my early departure upon arrival, but no concern was shown about alternate breakfast plans. Thinking a cup of tea in the room would hit the spot, I decided against it when examining the cups and utensil (again, used). No daily service, by the way. The room stays the way you leave it, including towels and bedding - and garbage. No sign of anyone upon departure - so leave the key and go. Then when the surprise additional charge for using a credit card appears on your bill, not much you can do. I think I will pay the extra few £ for better quality next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyrennetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontyfract
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

The Adelphi hotel was home from home clean every thing in the hotel was new had w i f i so take your lap top great food, Best small hotel on thr i o m.

Helpful?
2 Thank carolepontyfract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

this was a very clean well looked after hotel, wifi nice food great staff

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank jojoiloilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Great stay nice rooms wifi computer room home from home great thank you
will return

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank lennylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
8.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
8.4 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 15 Stanley View, Broadway, Douglas IM2 3JA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Douglas
Adelphi Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing