We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Inglewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inglewood
Ranked #3 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. As soon as we walked into our twin room it took our breath away. It was the sea view room and was so large, airy and modern. It had a sofa and a couple of comfy chairs a large flat screened TV and so many drawers to fill. The bathroom was very modern and clean.
Breakfast was very good and the Manx kipper option excellent.
Andy and Pip very very genial hosts although we did not get to see Pip until the last day as she was busily working in the background cooking and admin I guess.
Our trip took two years to come to fruition but we still only paid our original quote which was more than reasonable and very kind of Pip and Andy.

Room Tip: Superb sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tone8906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2011

This was my first visit to the Isle of Man and I needed to find a good value hotel for 2 nights at short notice that was convenient for central Douglas and my job interview, as I was flying in and had no car for 2 days. Finding a good hotel in somewhere you have never been to is always difficult - so I looked on trip advisor.

Andy & Pip fully deserve the excellent reviews for their hotel.

All the rooms are recently refurbished with flat screen digital TV, the beds are new, clean and comfortable. Equally the bathroom facilities are modern and very clean. The whole hotel has had a complete make over in a modern contemporary style without losing the best of the original features of this Sea Front Hotel (great views of Douglas Bay!).

Andy & Pip were very welcoming and friendly - enquiring about how my interview was progressing over the two days. They also gave me lots of useful background information about what its like to live on the island. As I had an early start one morning, they even served me a full cooked breakfast at an earlier time - for even earlier rising guests they can provide packed continental breakfasts. The food was great and the service was brilliant!

They do not serve evening meals but that is no problem. There are plenty of good restaurants, bars and traditional pubs in Douglas - along the promonade and by the Quayside - its only a pleasant 15-20 stroll along the flat promonade to the centre of Douglas or you could catch the bus. Andy & Pip can recommend quite a few to suit all tastes and pockets.

Finally you can catch the frequent bus service from outside the hotel direct the Airport (£2.30 each way - as at Jan 2011) or get a taxi ( fare approx £18 each way - as at Jan 2011).

I will definately stay here again, until I can find somewhere to live in the Isle of Man now that I have been offered the job.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sight_screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

First trip to the IOM so I decided to stay in the major town! I looked on trip advisor and saw that this Hotel had excellent reviews. I could not agree any more, for the price in October the value for money is excellent. All the rooms are recently refurbished, the beds are new, clean and comfortable. Equally the bathroom facilities are modern and clean. Finally the guest areas such as lounge and whisky bar are warm and comforting, plus the provision of WI-FI made everything easier!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashropshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I have stayed here many times over the last year in various rooms, which are all comfortable and are always immaculate. Andy and Pip run what is no doubt the best guest house on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Binthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed at the Inglewood for two nights in September 2010. Andy was a fabulous host and could not have been more helpful. We stayed in room 4 which had a sea view and a separate room off with a single bed. The fittings all appeared to be brand new and the view of the promenade was fab. Andy recommended a local indian Taste of India which was roughly a 10 minute walk along the promenade towards town...expensive but great food. Mind you, we found the majority of the prices in Douglas above average. Would echo the previous review....the kippers for breakfast were delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rej1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed three nights after main holiday season returning to the island out of curiosity for the first time since I was a 6 year old day tripper in the fifties. Douglas is the best centre for hotel/B&B accommodation this time of year. We took our car (£170 return) but would consider foot passenger and hire a car in future. The Inglewood is run by enthusiastic relative newcomers to the hotel business and it is improving all the time. They are very friendly and anxious to get things right for residents. No problems with free street parking in September but I would imagine that it would be more difficult in high season. Guest house rather than hotel - no restaurant. Breakfast is of good quality with a cooked choice. The kipper fillets are excellent. There has been an extensive refurbishment scheme and the seaview rooms are all suites with a lovely living room area with flat screen tv (terrestrial only) to match the one in the comfortable bedroom. Very new shower room with very modern fittings. We chose the 4th floor as that was vailable for all three of our nights. The only drawback is the number of steps (73 to the 4th floor and there is no lift). Beds are comfortable and the standard of furnishing is good. 4th floor sea view not quite as good as 1st to 3rd as the windows are garret style with a partial obstruction from a little external wall. The others have bay windows. Free Wi-Fi available but no signal on 4th floor. The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the town centre but only 5 minutes from the Douglas to Ramsey tram. We avoided restaurants frequented by coach parties from the mainland and looked for those popular with locals. We can recommend the following. 1) 14 North Quay - overlooks the yacht harbour - cosy, informal, friendly good quality, well priced, bistro type food 2) Chapters - town centre (Don't be misled by coffee bar look downstairs) - top quality, fairly expensive, semi-formal, nouvelle cuisine with attentive service (but avoid the ridiculously over-priced range of bottled waters).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We were on the IoM Costal walk and The Inglewood was our first and last night on the IoM. Everything worked out really well. Rooms were very comfortable and clean and we were well looked after. A first rate place to stay. Enjoyed a wonderful evening in the bar trying some very fine Whiskys as well!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cholomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £62 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing