We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inglewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inglewood
Ranked #3 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Made our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Inglewood certainly lives up to it's great reviews and this is down mainly to hosts Andy and Pip who really made us feel at home from the moment we arrived until our departure. They were welcoming, helpful, full of advice on things like pubs and restaurants, likely weather etc and even let us use their phone when we found on arrival that our mobiles didn't work.

The whole place was comfortable and well decorated. Our room, which faced the rear was of adequate size and comfortably furnished and the bathroom was well appointed but a little cramped. There was plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room, plus a widescreen TV and hairdryer. What could be a downside for some in that like most hotels and guesthouses on the promenade it has four floors, so there could be a lot of stairs if your room is on the higher floors. However the Inglewood's website does make this clear so there should be no surprises.

The breakfasts were excellent with a choice of full cooked bacon etc, kippers and 'healthy' and various permutations in between were no problem. In the evening, the bar (residents only) was a convivial place to share experiences of your day with Andy and Pip and other residents, who mostly seemed to have stayed there before - a testament in itself. There is also a spacious lounge facing the sea.

The Inglewood has a pleasant location on the Promenade about a mile from the town centre and less than half a mile from the Manx Electric Railway and Horse tram terminal at the north end of the Promenade. A frequent bus service passes the door and takes you not only to the Sea Terminal and town centre, but also direct to the Airport, Castletown and Port Erin. The Horse tram also passes the door. There are a number of good places to eat on the Promenade within ten or so minutes walk of the Inglewood. Best ones for us were the Italian Job in the arcade next to the Gaiety Theatre - great food and efficient service even when busy, The Taste of India - which tasted excellent and the Terminus pub, which as the name suggests is next to the horse tram and MER terminal.

Douglas itself disappointed. Apart from a good museum, the Camera Obscura and the promenade itself, there is not a lot for the visitor. The shopping was particularly poor with only one shopping street mostly fast food and low-end High street names. Best then to make the most of the excellent transport system radiating from Douglas with steam trains going west, electric trains going north and a comprehensive and frequent bus service across the island. An 'explorer' ticket for buses and trains is a great buy, particularly for 5 or 7 days. Castletown, Peel and Port Erin had more charm and there are miles of spectacular coastal, hill and dale walks or cycling to be done.

It was our first visit to the Isle of Man and despite mixed weather, we enjoyed it. We will be back and will have no hesitation in recommending the Inglewood.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are larger and have the best views. Ask for a lower floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    42
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
136
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from another stay at the Inglewood, our fourth visit in successive years. We again stayed in Room 15, a spacious bay-facing room on the 3rd floor with large seating area. Little has changed during the years since our first visit in 2009, the high standards of decor and cleanliness have been fully maintained and the welcome is as warm as ever. The service and helpfulness provided by Pip, Andy & Leslie is second to none and we are delighted that the Inglewood has just received the Isle of Man Tourist Board's Gold Award which is for (in their words) "the very best of the best" which is a most appropriate description. Many congratulation on gaining this status and we look forward to visiting again in 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 10 & 15 are all spacious rooms with views over Douglas Bay & Promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Having lived on the island, this was a fantastic return, The Inglewood definately lives up to the excellent reviews it has. We arrived on the Motorbike on Sunday, and woke to a wet!!! and foggy day , so wet in fact we hired a smart car from smarthireiom for a couple of days. The smart hire was delivered by the owner, 'Milky Quayle' the outstanding TT rider, what a fantastic ambassador for the island he is. The car was great fun, easy to drive and fantastic value for money. Andy and Pip at the hotel were excellent hosts, even putting our bike gear in the Drying room ( sorry about the aroma from my boots!!) . Rooms are to a very high standard, really nice to have a relaxing drink in the bar or the lounge. Breakfast was suberb. All in All a great stay and we will return when Pip tells us the rain has gone!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welsh-she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlands Gill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

From the first telephone contact to final departure, our experience of Inglewood was outstanding.
The hotel is pleasantly located on the main promenade at Douglas and the rooms and facilities are first class. What really 'makes' Inglewood, however, are the hosts, Andy and Pip - committed to personal service, nothing is too much trouble for them. Our thanks to them both for making our first visit to the Isle of Man such an enjoyable one - despite a few raindrops!
Angela & Laurie Graham.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I normally stay at the Sefton Hotel when I travel to the Isle of Man, but this time it was full and I was forced to look at alternatives. The Inglewood proved an excellent option, very welcoming with beautiful decorated and immaculately clean rooms (significantly better than the Sefton and not as expensive). Breakfast was delicious and unusually there was a proper cooked vegetarian breakfast on offer as well as very good kippers. The only downside is that it can be difficult to park outside and there is no restaurant, but overall thoroughly recommended, Andy and Pip the owners deserve to be congratulated.

Room Tip: The sea view suite was excellent with a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Optimusprime100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

It has long been my belief that an overriding factor for success in the hospitality industry is to start with ‘nice’ people, people who have empathy for others. When appropriately trained these people will provide excellent and seamless service to the customers they encounter. “And so what has this to do with the Inglewood Hotel?”, you may ask.
Well both Andy and Pip are clearly nice people within my definition because their hotel is run as a home-from-home. It appears nothing is too much trouble for them and they are happy to help and advise.
The hotel may have the physical limitations of a Victorian building but they have done a sterling job in bringing it up to date in both the public areas and guest rooms. My wife and I stayed in room 22 and had a superb view of Douglas Bay and by the end of our week we were much fitter from climbing the stairs to the 4th floor. The “room” included a comfortable lounge and bedroom with excellent twin beds. All was complimented by what appeared to be recently installed shower suite in the en-suite bathroom.
The breakfasts were a good start to the day and when we asked for advice on where to eat and drink in the evening Andy’s recommendations were faultless. Between them Andy and Pip made our bookings and it is this type of detail that really makes the difference between having a good holiday and having a great holiday. Thanks for a great holiday on the Isle of Man.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seasoned_traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Travelled to the Isle of Man in a party of 8 , ages varied from late 30s to late 70s.
Stayed at the inglewood and cannot praise it highly enough. The owners Pip and Andy are amazing and go out their way to make guests feel at home. Rooms are very modern, clean and have everything you might require whilst on vacation. The bar has a great selection of whiskies that put many a public house to shame. Breakfast is plentiful and a great choice is available. Andy is very helpful in pointing out local restaurants for evening meals and has a wealth of knowledge on the island and the attractions .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEMACKAY1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Property: Inglewood
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing