We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Inglewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inglewood
Ranked #3 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just arrived home from a four night stay at this B and B. Andy and Pip have worked extremely hard getting this place as good as it is. Rooms are roomy and clean. Great view over the bay if you are staying in one of the front rooms, although it can be a bit noisy with the traffic, but as you are on a main road it's to be expected. The breakfasts were great, cooked to order and there was plenty to pick from. There is also coffee and cake available. Illy coffee and home made cakes which were delicious. Altogether a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

andy and pip are lovely and trying to make this b and b in to a boutique hotel. a booking error by me meant that i arrived with my 12 yr old not realizing that they didnt welcome children but they did! bathroom beautiful but beds/pillows and chairs uncomfortable. breakfast ok but not outsanding-continental breakfast that was left for us as we left very early on sunday was ok . room was at back and so dark. it was very noisy due to builders next door during day but was never mentioned by owners. to be honest £95-which we ended up paying i felt too steep and i wanted a twist to breakfast to give me wow factor eg waffles and fresh berries. to get top marks they have to preempt what i want! pip gave us really good info on explorer pass which worked brilliantly but questions/suggestions at breakfast would have given edge to trip. i wish them luck as theyve worked so hard and obviously have a vision where they want to be. i found parking a real problem but im not sure how rigorsly parking restrictions are obsered

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbauer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inglewoodhotel, Owner at Inglewood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your review. What a shame none of these matters were raised during your stay. We are disappointed that despite several conversations during your holiday you gave no indication of any of the problems you highlight, many of which we could have resolved.
To clarify:-
- Children over the age of 10 are welcome and our rates are based on a per person basis, as stated in our terms and conditions.
- The guest information folder in the room advises that any of the bedding, pillows etc can be changed as we appreciate some guests may prefer feathers pillows or man made etc. The room in question has quality memory foam mattresses.
- Earlier this year we received a breakfast award to compliment our 4 star gold award. This was based on our comprehensive menu, that includes many options, including fresh fruit/berries. All our food is cooked to order. Unfortunately waffles aren't on our menu, but had you asked we'd have probably made some.
- We're not trying to be a boutique hotel; we are a guest house. Hotels offer evening meals and have a public bar. Our bar is for the exclusive use of our residents and we specialise in offering the best possible bed and breakfast service we can provide.
- We have no recollection of any building work during your stay but again, had this been raised we could have investigated.
- The room is rear facing which is again detailed in the terms and conditions and we are sorry that you found the room dark. It has 3 large windows with ceiling, wall and desk lamps in both the bedroom and the lounge areas.
- Parking is free and available on both sides of the promenade outside the inglewood, timing and availability of spaces we cannot control but it is rare that guests have to park more than a 100 metres away. One of the reasons many guests book with us is because of the availability and ease of free parking at this end of the promenade.
Thank you again for your comments which sadly were made to late for us to help you. We hope that this response will assure future guests that, where possible, and when advised we will do what we can to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It is family owned B&B, the owner work hard and breakfast was very nice. The bathroom was updated, clean, very nice, but the view of the room was pretty depressing for me.(view was other rooms windows, and no much light even sunny day). I would have gave 4 stars if I did not expected other reviews comments, but I did expected little bit more. I would say average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YokoGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inglewoodhotel, Owner at Inglewood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you were happy with all the areas within our control, i.e. the cleanliness, quality breakfast and service. We advised in your confirmation letter that the room was rear facing i.e. not sea view. Please accept our apologies if this was not clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This place is a hidden gem. Had a lovely suite with a sea view, exceptionally clean, beautifully furnished, contemporary, simple and extremely comfortable. Extensive selection for breakfast, hot food cooked to order. Well presented and cooked to perfection. Owners friendly and obliging. Would have no hesitation recommending Inglewood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I stayed at the Inglewood in the middle of June and had such a wonderful stay there. As soon as we arrived, Andy and Pip made us feel right at home. I believe they had recently renovated the rooms, especially the bathrooms, which were amazing. The breakfasts in the mornings were great, with plenty of selections. I am not a tea drinker, but I think they had at least 15-20 different teas to chose from on the menu. Andy was great at helping us understand the bus schedule, and made great recommendations about when and where to go to different parts of the island. My family wanted to have someone drive us around the island, so we could do some genealogy research. They picked the perfect driver for us, and what we thought would take 2 days, he found all the places in the just a few hours. All of the restaurants they recommended were amazing, and we even got a little discount at the nearby French restaurant because we were staying at the hotel. The bus stops right outside of the hotel, which was so convenient. There is a lounge on the ground floor. It was nice to hang out there in the evening and meet other travelers and hear their stories. When we return to Isle of Man, we'll certainly be returning to the Inglewood hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmend05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A fantastic place to stay, with owners who really care about your time there.
Service was lovely, and the rooms comfortable and equipped with everything needed.
Highly recommended, especially as it was where we spent our honeymoon! Must have been good!
Should also mention how cosy the bar is in the evening. Just a fab place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryBibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay with a party of ten. From arrival to departure the stay was perfect. We arrived early but most of the rooms were already cleaned and ready for occupation. We had a rear bedroom with a view of next door but it was excellently finished with a seating area, before going through to the very comfortable bed and then through to the en-suite. The rooms at the front were bigger and had a fantastic sea view. Andy and Pip were only too happy to recommend and book restaurants for us to save us the trouble. The bar was open at night with a good selection of spirits and during the day it served coffee and home made cakes. Andy crafted beautiful artworks for the top of my cappuccinos:-) Breakfast was delicious and there was a great choice. Both Andy and Pip were perfect hosts and happy to chat. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to the Isle of Man

Room Tip: Fantastic seaviews from the bigger front rooms, ask for a room on the lower floors if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fazug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#1 of 37 in Douglas
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing