We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable excellence.”
Review of Inglewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inglewood
Ranked #2 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Welcoming, comfortable excellence.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just finished our second stay at the Inglewood, and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Andy and Pip are excellent hosts and can't do enough to help. The sea view bedroom was large, airy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was, as usual, delicious.

A truly relaxing place to stay, and an excellent base from which to enjoy the island.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebusyfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    42
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
142
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for eight days and in all our years of travelling round can honestly say its the best B & B we have stayed at. Our booking was handled very efficently and all subsequent queries we had before arriving were dealt with promptly. We received a warm welcome from Pip and Andy which continued throughout our whole stay. They are very friendly warm people and nothing is too much trouble for them.

I would recommend the Ingelwood for a number of reasons:

Location - about a five minute drive from the ferry port and easy to find as its on the promenade and has a lit neon? green sign. About 10 minute walk from the centre of Douglas but there are bus and horse tram stops outside if you don't fancy the walk. There is a nice pub nearby - the Queens and some restaurants where we ate (I have done seperate entries for these ) . The electric tram is only about 5 minutes walk away. There is a SPAR nearby where you can get cash back. The views of the harbour and bay are lovely and there are seats on the promenade if you fancy just chilling out and watching the world go by.

The B & B - when you open the door you are greeted by a fresh clean smell, no mustiness, damp or kippers ! There is a large lounge with plenty of seating, which has a lovely view of the harbour. The cafe where you can have a coffee/tea or some cold drinks. Hubby was impressed by the selections of whiskies on offer as well as a good choice of other alcoholic drinks. You MUST try Pip's home made cakes - they go well with the hot chocolates ! There was a reception desk with lots of leaflets, maps etc which were very useful.

Our Room We stayed in room 9 which was one of the medium sized rooms. It had a full wardrobe and an iron and ironing board. A chest of drawers with a proper sized hairdryer and two comfy easy chairs. There was a tv and dvd player (there were dvd's to borrow ). The bed was very comfy, great mattress and was perfect for my hubby who has a dodgy back. The shower cubical was of a good size and the room, bedding and towels were all very clean.

The breakfasts - My goodness what a choice. There were cereals and fruit juice laid out and you were shown to your table and given an extensive menu to choose from - which included, freshly made fruit salad, yoghurt and honey, muesli, porridge (plain or with honey and banana - had this twice really good) , continental - fruit and yoghurt, croissant with cheese and ham and one of Pip's scrummy fruit and nut muffins, full fry up, kippers either whole or filleted (had the fillets twice and NO BONES - really recommended) etc . Considering the B & B has 16 rooms - the efficiency at breafast was to be commended. It was great to have a freshly cooked breakfast rather than selecting stuff that had been on a hot plate for ages.

Our ferry wasn't leaving till the afternoon but Andy was happy to store our luggage and motorbike gear for us until we were ready to leave

This B & B really deserves to be number 1 and really would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed an 8 day visit to the Inglewood and I must report that I have rarely stayed in a B & B or hotel which gets anywhere near the standard of this one. There is nothing that I could possibly complain about; the room was spacious, clean and expensively furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the large en-suite well laid out and looked brand new.
The breakfast menu was extensive and quickly cooked to order and you can have as much as you like. The bar has a good stock of beers and spirits and prices are reasonable.
The location is good too. Parking is on the road but it's free and fairly easy to find a spot close by. It's also only a 15 minute walk to the TT Grandstand
Pip and Andy do their utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible and rightly deserve continuing success with their business.
Would we stay there again ? Oh yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerxx1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Had four lovely nights here whilst watching the Classic TT. Hosts were really welcoming and treated us as though we were old friends. Breakfasts were fantastic.

I'd highly recommend this place if you're looking for somewhere to stay on the Isle Of Man

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a lovely bright spacious room number 12. Breakfast very filling and lots of choice on the menu.
Would definitely stay here again. Coffee and home made cake served in the bar during the day should you feel a little peckish.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Inglewood for two nights on the basis of the reviews we had read about the establishment. It is a perfectly reasonable B&B run by a friendly couple, however, there were a number of areas that, for us at least, could be improved upon.

The room we stayed in was on the top floor room at the back of the hotel (note there are no lifts if this is an issue for some). The bedroom was in need of an overhaul. It was clean but the the plasterwork on the walls was blown in places and though the whole room was wall-papered it did look in need of a makeover. The room was of a reasonable size though the bed had a weird middle set of legs and support (in addition to the outer ones) which could be felt through the mattress when sleeping. The mirrors in the bedroom were also oddly positioned with one behind the bathroom door meaning that when that door was open it could not be used and the other stuck about 7-8ft high up the wall and so unusable.

In contrast to the bedroom the en-suite bathroom was modern and the tiling etc looked new but the room itself was extremely narrow. There is a walk-in shower. The extractor fan was noisy though when on. There was also what seemed an odd instruction about guests not getting the towels dirty with make-up.

Breakfast is in a large room downstairs stairs but first appearances are deceiving. On entering you are told where to sit (which again seemed overly officious as we were the only ones in the room) it also initially appears there is just a small selection of cereals available and nothing else. This is because most of the breakfast menu has to be requested from the menu (which is a good one) for it to be made for you i.e. you can not choose your own selection from a buffet-style breakfast bar. This means that you have no control over what options of yoghurt or portion sizes you get as you get what you are presented with. However, the food itself is very tasty.

All-in-all this is a perfectly reasonable B&B with friendly hosts but is not the best we've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inglewoodhotel, Owner at Inglewood, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks for your comments which we feel need some clarification for future guests.

The room is located on the second floor and we have four floors of bedrooms in total. Our terms and conditions clearly state we do not have a lift.

The room in question is newly decorated and the plasterwork is not blown. It is slightly uneven in a couple of places as this is a historic building built in 1907 with a lathe and plaster finish, common in buildings of this age and character. It is solid, clean and professionally decorated and in very good order, we would not have retained our gold award if it was in anyway below the high standard required to achieve this accolade.

The solid oak frame bed has, in common with the majority of wooden frame beds a support for the lats in the centre, running from the headboard to the foot of the bed. This is to ensure the lats and mattress dont sag/dip in the middle. This is the first time anyone has advised that they found the bed uncomfortable. However, I have tested the bed following your comments and as a precaution, we have replaced the mattress with a brand new memory foam mattress and will seek feedback from future guests to ensure this isn't a problem.

The room has two mirrors, one full length mirror on the wall in the bedroom located by the bathroom and one in the bathroom above the sink. The mirror in the bedroom is placed to be used with the bathroom door closed and is a dressing mirror. There is another more decorative mirror in the bedroom, which is more of a picture and not intended to be used as a mirror hence its location approximately 1.5 metres up the wall.

All our extractor fans can be switched off at the isolator switch if required and the "odd" instruction re towels is simply to offer an alternative dark coloured towel to use instead of our usual quality white towels. Unfortunately some make up and tanning products do not wash out of towels and to avoid the possibility of damage and a subsequent charge, we offer an alternative to guests who might be using such products.

We offer an award winning breakfast menu with a restaurant style service where we show clients to a table and take an order. That table then becomes theirs for the duration of their stay and all food with the exception of the cereals and juice is freshly prepared to order. Guests can choose to have as much or as little as they like, and have it cooked according to individual preference e.g. well done bacon, eggs runny or hard, porridge made with varying types of milk etc. If you like a buffet style breakfast sat in a bain marie, which the other guests have poked, prodded, maybe even touched and tested then don't book with us we prefer to make every breakfast special for each individual guest.

It is very frustrating when feedback obtained during the clients stay does not reflect the comments made afterwards (eg is everything ok?....yes everythings fine) as our aim is to ensure you are as comfortable as possible when you are here.

As we've said in the past we will never fully satisfy every client as we cannot cater for every difference in opinion, style or preference but it wont stop us trying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Andy & Pip, the proprietors, gave us all a warm welcome when we arrived to celebrate my hubby's 50th and my father-in-laws 70th birthdays. We were a group of 10 covering all ages. We booked from recommendations on Trip Advisor and they were certainly not wrong. The B&B was tastefully decorated which made it very boutiquish. The sea view rooms were very big and airy and stylish with wonderful views across the Irish Sea . The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and all freshly cooked to order. The little coffee shop was a little gem with lots of homemade cakes by Pip. Scrummy!!! We could not fault the hospitality or the venue. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs ask for a lower floor room as to get to room 15 we had 4 flights to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#9 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Property: Inglewood
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing