We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Committed to quality & guest satisfaction”
Review of Inglewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inglewood
Ranked #3 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 very enjoyable nights in this sea front hotel. Owners Andy & Pip are truly committed to ensuring that their guests will recieve the best service. The hotel is primarily a luxury bed and breakfast establishment. The room that we occupied was a sea view suite with stunning views across the bay, a spacious lounge area, modern (recently refurbished) bathroom and walk in shower unit. The towels were large and luxurious. There is a 42 inch plasma television and DVD unit. The beds were very comfortable, the room equipped also with an iron and ironing board.
Breakfast is included, table service and a good choice of menu, with each breakfast being cooked to order. A licensed bar is available in the evening and during the day a "coffee & cakes" lounge, serving homemade cakes.
Andy and Pip are very genial hosts, and by the second day, you feel as if they have been life long friends. We travelled on the ferry with our car and Andy was particularly helpful in assisting us with our planning of the island touring. To enjoy the benefit of dining without the need to drink and drive,
there are plenty of superb restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel or a £5 taxi ride takes you into the centre of Douglas.
Inglewood is located on the Promenade, therefore the traffic noise is noticeable when the bedroom windows are open, as are the sounds of seagulls and lapping of waves on the beach. However, the windows are double glazed and soundproofing is very good when the windows are closed.
This hotel is one where we would return to when visiting the island again.

Room Tip: The sea view is stunning, the bay faces east, so sunny in the morning. No lifts available,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AviatorGHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just come home after a week`s stay in the Inglewood.Our room on the 3rd floor was lovely , bed was warm and comfy , sitting area had very relaxing settee , chair and tv, the bathroom was spotless and very modern. Although we didnt have a front view our room had 3 windows.The breakfast menu is extensive and they have just won an award for best breakfast in Isle of Man. You can have anything cooked to order and I had something different every morning, also great variety of herbal teas available.There is also a licensed bar in the evening where we met lots of interesting people plus a front facing sitting room.Also in the mornings there is a cafe opened to the public serving homemade cakes baked by the owner Pip. Great hosts - Pip and Andy

Room Tip: Ask for front facing if you want a sea view and not on top floors as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inglewood in July just after the TT Races. We had a beautiful room on the first floor with a lovely bay window with balcony overlooking the sea. Couldn't fault the room at all, very roomy, good quality furniture and the bathroom was exceptionally well appointed with high quality towels.
Andy and Pip were wonderful operators, friendly, helpful with what to see and do in Douglas and the good quality breakfasts were served in a very nice breakfast room.
The best part of the hotel was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on and we have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world.
We stayed for 3 nights of our 6 night stay on the Isle of Man and regret that we didn't stay for the 6 nights at the Inglewood as it was far better than where we stayed on the other side of the Island.

Room Tip: If you can, book the room on the first floor with the bay window and balcony looking out to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here during mid August when the IoM is very quiet. As other reviewers have said it is quite a long way along the promenade so be prepared for a walk or use the buses but on the flip side car or motorcycle parking is easy.

This was a strange hotel to summarise and I find myself caught between 3 and 4 point rating. I have favoured 4 because everyone involved is lovely to talk to and couldn't be more helpful.

We stayed in room which did not have a sea view on one of the upper floors. Be warned there are a lot of stairs to reach the top floor. The room itself had plenty of room, with mostly good quality furniture with oak style furniture. Only the wardrobe let the side down as it wasn't as robust as it could have been. The bathroom however was exemplary with beautiful fixtures and fittings and should be commended and was kept supplied with possibly the best towels I have used in a hotel - bloomin marvellous. Admittedly our view was of a back of a building - but frankly we had seen plenty of the sea before returning to it.

Breakfast is served on the ground floor and was very good. Good quality food and ingredients and served with a smile - a lovely experience.

On the downside the corridors and breakfast area felt very 1980's Blackpool guest house in terms of it's decor (not in a nice way) and the rooms had plywood doors of some sort that are not worthy of a hotel of this sort. So mixed feelings....

As I said - the service was good so rated at 4 points. But would I stay again...probably not....

Room Tip: Just ask about the floor level and how many flights of stairs lead to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clementm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just finished our second stay at the Inglewood, and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Andy and Pip are excellent hosts and can't do enough to help. The sea view bedroom was large, airy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was, as usual, delicious.

A truly relaxing place to stay, and an excellent base from which to enjoy the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebusyfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for eight days and in all our years of travelling round can honestly say its the best B & B we have stayed at. Our booking was handled very efficently and all subsequent queries we had before arriving were dealt with promptly. We received a warm welcome from Pip and Andy which continued throughout our whole stay. They are very friendly warm people and nothing is too much trouble for them.

I would recommend the Ingelwood for a number of reasons:

Location - about a five minute drive from the ferry port and easy to find as its on the promenade and has a lit neon? green sign. About 10 minute walk from the centre of Douglas but there are bus and horse tram stops outside if you don't fancy the walk. There is a nice pub nearby - the Queens and some restaurants where we ate (I have done seperate entries for these ) . The electric tram is only about 5 minutes walk away. There is a SPAR nearby where you can get cash back. The views of the harbour and bay are lovely and there are seats on the promenade if you fancy just chilling out and watching the world go by.

The B & B - when you open the door you are greeted by a fresh clean smell, no mustiness, damp or kippers ! There is a large lounge with plenty of seating, which has a lovely view of the harbour. The cafe where you can have a coffee/tea or some cold drinks. Hubby was impressed by the selections of whiskies on offer as well as a good choice of other alcoholic drinks. You MUST try Pip's home made cakes - they go well with the hot chocolates ! There was a reception desk with lots of leaflets, maps etc which were very useful.

Our Room We stayed in room 9 which was one of the medium sized rooms. It had a full wardrobe and an iron and ironing board. A chest of drawers with a proper sized hairdryer and two comfy easy chairs. There was a tv and dvd player (there were dvd's to borrow ). The bed was very comfy, great mattress and was perfect for my hubby who has a dodgy back. The shower cubical was of a good size and the room, bedding and towels were all very clean.

The breakfasts - My goodness what a choice. There were cereals and fruit juice laid out and you were shown to your table and given an extensive menu to choose from - which included, freshly made fruit salad, yoghurt and honey, muesli, porridge (plain or with honey and banana - had this twice really good) , continental - fruit and yoghurt, croissant with cheese and ham and one of Pip's scrummy fruit and nut muffins, full fry up, kippers either whole or filleted (had the fillets twice and NO BONES - really recommended) etc . Considering the B & B has 16 rooms - the efficiency at breafast was to be commended. It was great to have a freshly cooked breakfast rather than selecting stuff that had been on a hot plate for ages.

Our ferry wasn't leaving till the afternoon but Andy was happy to store our luggage and motorbike gear for us until we were ready to leave

This B & B really deserves to be number 1 and really would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureLoverSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed an 8 day visit to the Inglewood and I must report that I have rarely stayed in a B & B or hotel which gets anywhere near the standard of this one. There is nothing that I could possibly complain about; the room was spacious, clean and expensively furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the large en-suite well laid out and looked brand new.
The breakfast menu was extensive and quickly cooked to order and you can have as much as you like. The bar has a good stock of beers and spirits and prices are reasonable.
The location is good too. Parking is on the road but it's free and fairly easy to find a spot close by. It's also only a 15 minute walk to the TT Grandstand
Pip and Andy do their utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible and rightly deserve continuing success with their business.
Would we stay there again ? Oh yes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakerxx1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#1 of 37 in Douglas
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing