We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality guest house. Easy to miss, wonderful to find”
Review of Inglewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inglewood
Ranked #2 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“High quality guest house. Easy to miss, wonderful to find”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This fabulous guest house is set in the middle of a row of terraced buildings and is easy to miss. But the high quality of fittings and furnishings is quite amazing - modern, all function perfectly and everywhere is spotlessly clean. We had a front room which faced the sea: lovely views. It was spacious and had comfortable armchairs, table and well-fitted bathroom. Lovely fluffy towels.
The only meal served is breakfast which was plentiful with a wide choice. It was cooked to order and it tasted fresh. Coffee and cakes are available during the day but we did not sample them (there are tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom).
There is a well stocked bar - especially a good range of whiskies. It is open only in the evenings.
Service is excellent - professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    42
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
142
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you go to the Island of Man stay here - 100% in all aspects they even cook breakfast below stairs so the cooking smells do not reach the dining room. Lovely greeting - lovely room - great food - sad to leave!!

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I chose this hotel because of the TripAdvisor reviews. I was not disappointed.

From my very first query half a world away, nine months ago, by email, nothing was too much trouble, and no question too silly from me as first time travellers.

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, 7-8-9-10 October.

Pip and Andy are fantastic hosts. Also very helpful with suggestions for where to eat and car hire (SmartHire, who hire smart cars - I'll be doing a separate review).

We had room 4 on the first floor, overlooking the sea. Wonderful. The beds were SO comfortable, the pillows great, and the room itself was spacious. Lovely bathroom and great toiletries. We had a little single room attached which was great as we could use it to spread out, leave the suitcases in there and use it as an office to set up the laptop.

Breakfasts were superb, cooked to order and with you quick as a flash.

I highly recommend this hotel, and if we are ever in the Isle of Man again, this is where we stay.

Thank you Pip and Andy for making this part of our holiday very special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in Inglewood for three nights in a king size room overlooking the bay. The room was spacious and the sea view lived up to expectations. The only minor gripes we had with the room were that it was three floors up and consequently the water pressure in the (otherwise first class) shower was on the low side and that the room would have benefited from a picture or two as there was a lot of plain wall - hardly spoilers to our holiday though. Several reviews mentioned the decor in the communal areas and we'd have to agree that it could be improved but, once again, it hardly spoilt our stay. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and we had no problems parking (at the end of September).

Room Tip: Sea view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Four of us stayed in hotel for second weekend trip this year. Took rooms 12a (double) and 20
(Twin). Both rooms were very comfortable and fully equipped with TV and WiFi. Room 20 had fantastic views of the bay. We were advised that there was no lift but this was no problem for us even though room 20 was on 4th floor. Andy and Pip offered to take bags up to room but this was no problem as we were only over for the weekend. Breakfasts were very good and we had afternoon teas at the hotel one afternoon. Yummy coffee cake. We travelled to the north of the IOM one day and to the south on the following day. A & P gave us good recommendations for where to eat too.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view rooms it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend was shooting a campaign in Isle of Man and we decided to make a long weekend of it. We chose to stay at Inglewood based on the reviews on tripadvisor and I was glad that we did.
Andy and Pip are fantastic hosts who actually give a damn about their guests, worth their wait on gold. We had a small double which was on the petite side but we knew that in advance and we didn't spend much time in the room.
Breakfast was great and even when Andy was inundated with all rooms entering the dining room at once, he kept his cool. All of our requests for information and dinner reservations were met with a smile and an eagerness to help. Even their recommendation of a car hire company meant that my boyfriend for to meet a TT legend. Can't ask for much more than that!
If only all b&bs were like inglewood...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldieinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed for 8 nights with walking the main object of our return visit to the IOM. We arrived before lunch and were given a very friendly welcome by Andy. Not unexpectedly, our room was not ready but while we were off making an initial exploration, Andy took our cases up to our room - a much appreciated gesture as we were on the 4th floor with no lift (we were advised about this when we made our booking). Super room with sitting area and great views over the bay. Andy & Pip were excellent hosts giving advice on walking routes, transport and restaurants. Very good choice at breakfast. We can't understand the adverse comments about the breakfast room made by a recent reviewer; the lack of natural light was more than offset by imaginative lighting and artistic and colourful soft furnishings.Plenty of eating places nearby with a healthy walk of 1.3 miles if you wish to eat in central Douglas! An excellent stay.

Room Tip: Super sea views fro front rooms - the higher you climb, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#9 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Property: Inglewood
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing