We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little guest house in Douglas”
Review of Glen Mona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Mona
Ranked #12 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Excellent Guest House , with an excellent restaurant next to it , same owner . Close to The Promenade , but two kms from shopping area, bus stop near by..... Nice clean room, good food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 75014PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

Spent week-end in Douglas, isle-of-man my first time, arrived on the Friday following a short aer arann flight from Dublin got the bus from the airport to douglas which took less than 30 minutes after about a ten walk from bus stop arrived at b & b had to register in there sister b & b got key and got a lovely room with all the facilities of any hotel. Given a code for the main entrance which meant you could leave yourself in and out at any time. Got breakfast each morning in there sister b & b all in all this b & b offers excellent value for money. I would suggest that the breakfast finishing at 9 a.m would not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bren53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

All you read about Glen Mona hotel on-line about value for the money, proximity to all you cam to see, comfort, convenience, is true. Plus, they create an incredible feeling that you are home, everyone loves you and is happy that you are here. I traveled all over the world, was staying in lots of hotels, luxury ones on Hawaii among them. Still a week in Glen Mona in Douglas on Isle of Man, was my best vacation! Nowhere else one can find such warmth, such real care, such informal hospitality as in Glen Mona.At the same time, your privacy is completely yours. Miraculous place, hotel, great restaurant and bar, wonderful food, fresh air coming from the Irish Sea, few steps to the shore. I just came home, and I am already dreaming of going there again, as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludmila39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The hotel is about 3 monutes from the beach - only about 10 minutes from the port.

Slightly confusing layout I will admit as the main part of the hotel is not connected and when you buzz to check in someone has to walk down from the other hotel which takes a few minutes.

The rooms themselves were average sized compared to a travel inn or premier inn, - bathroom was a tad small but clean and tidy.

The basic were all in the room including ironing board, iron & tv. The staff were very friendly which was nice and made it clear how the hotel worked. The food was again good for a hotel, and I thought for £55 well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedicalMan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Smallest room I've ever stayed in other than on a cruise ship. Just had to complain about black mould in shower cubicle which was sorted the next day. Remainder of bathroom was fine. Also mentioned about curtains not functioning. One side wouldn't open, the other not secured at the end and wouldn't meet in the middle anyway. Still not fixed at the end of my stay. Just a 5 minute job with a set of steps & a curtain hook. I questioned the owner regarding the 4 star rating. He commented that no one had complained before to which I had to reply that most would depart hoping it was just a bad dream. On the plus side, the full english breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Quite a nice B and B but seemed to be noisy at night (coming from back of hotel). Breakfast ok but was at another hotel. Very clean and there was a good supply of tea/coffee and toiletries etc.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FordieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My initial response to my room on the top floor was good, well presented clean and smart. The shower was hopeless, the refurbishment budget obviously did not run to a good plumbing system. At best the shower was a dribble and without exagerating would stop altogether if another guest turned their shower on! I compared this with friends who were staying in other rooms and their experience was the same. The toilet leaked where it met the floor and when you turned the hot tap off on the basin, the tap spun round. I mentioned this to the manager who's response was " I've not had anyone else complain". as if that was ok !

Service at breakfast was poor, on the Saturday I asked if I could delete the egg from my breakfast as I suffer an allergy with them and I was asked if I was being fussy. When a friend asked for a breakfast with no wheat products in, due to being a coeliac the waitress went in to the kitchen and shouted "ooh we've got a right fussy one here".

This hotle is no way near 4 stars and at best is an average b and b.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciderboy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 16 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 16 in Douglas
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ellan Vannin
Ellan Vannin
#2 of 16 in Douglas
600 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 16 in Douglas
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 16 in Douglas
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mona

Address: 6 Mona Drive, Douglas IM2 4LG
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £62 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Mona 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Mona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mona Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing