We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of The Fernleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fernleigh
Ranked #4 of 5 Peel B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Fernleigh is really special. I stayed here 9 years ago, and would not want to stay anywhere else on the island. The room overlooking the sea - location cannot be bettered. Breakfast was superb: I've gone vegetarian, and that was no problem. A different breakfast each morning (that may not be possible if they're full, but she genuinely seemed to enjoy the challenge). A perfect relaxing break

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having en suite, go for a sea-view room. You get an excellent bathroom tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If one asks me, this constitutes probably one of the best places on the entire island. If you can stay there, you are, indeed, in luck. The Fernleigh is located at the end of the promenade of Peel, overlooking the bay, the lighthouse and ye olde castle. I stayed here with a friend for a week: we had two singles for the first two nights, whereupon we switched to a twin overlooking the sea. Both were, in every respect, everything which can be expected from a hotel. I, for one, have no complaints whatsoever.

Should you chance to be in a standard, you can use one of the bathrooms in the corridor, which are well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The twin room had a good shower, toilet and sink attached. The whole hotel is very cosy and carpety — the lounge has sofas and a stove.
Talking of which: breakfast offers a wide range of options and is served betwixt 9.00 and 9.30. There is the full English, just eggs in scrambled, boiled or poached fashion, some other things which people are wont to scoff and, of course, the oft-vaunted Manx kippers. Concerning the latter, I should warn the reader that these are of considerable proportions.

The Fernleigh solely accepts cash or cheques — and good on them, says I, for remaining faithful to tradition!
The staff are most affable and congenial, and I am certain that any guest here will leave quite contented indeed.

Room Tip: Someone was frequently practicing on the piano downstairs. If you mind that — which I did not — try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Pandelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quizzz
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely B and B located on the Marine Parade in Peel. We had room 6 which was 2 floors up and at the front, which gave us a great view of the sea, harbour and castle. Ideal place just to sit and watch the world go by. Lovey choice of breakfast , with something new to accompany the basics (sausage, bacon,egg) every day. Well located away from any sort of noise other than the rolling in of the waves and the odd seagull....ideal.

Lovely welcome and service.

TIP: Well worth any extra for a sea-view room

Room Tip: Have a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

An incredible welcome from June plus all the staff are very friendly & helpful. we keep coming back year after year, the rooms are very clean & comfortable, June's breakfast WELL you have to try them they are fantastic, a great selection, I would Highly Recommend the Fernleigh to anybody. A+++++++++

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here in July and I experienced an incredible welcome from the moment I arrived. The room was excellent, large and with full en-suite facilities, and the breakfasts were outstanding,
with plenty of choice for us veggies! The hotel is in a perfect position on the seafront. June was a first class host. I would recommend this place highly and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tafwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I had an incredible stay at The Fernleigh! June was very accomodating and helpful. I am celiac and alternatives were provided for me, I definitely never went hungry. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer. We will most definitely return to Peel and stay with June again.

Room Tip: We did not have a room with a view, so if you would like one you will need to ask at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife booked a holiday on the Isle Of Man as a present for her Gran, with whom she had been to the Isle some 14 years previous, and stayed in the Fernleigh all them years ago.
We couldnt have had a better time. June is such a welcoming person, and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were to die for, so much choice! The whole family, 3 kids 3 adults were fully fuelled for the days adventuring on the Island.
The room was spacious and very clean.
The view from the entrance of the B&B is something to behold. Luckily the weather was perfect and the sea was calm to produce a stunning setting.
We highly recommend this B&B, June certainly knows how to operate a smooth and friendly B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theblueprint070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peel
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
0.0 mi away
Glen Mona
Glen Mona
#12 of 32 in Douglas
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevelyan Hotel
Trevelyan Hotel
#30 of 32 in Douglas
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernleigh

Property: The Fernleigh
Address: Fernleigh 7 Marine Parade, Peel IM5 1PB
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Peel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernleigh is a well established family business that has been run by June Pownall and her family for over 20 years. The bed & breakfast offers bright, clean and stylish accommodation throughout and a warm welcome to all guests. There are 12 rooms available, 8 standard rooms and 4 with full en-suite facilities. Ranging from compact single to large family sized rooms, all are furnished to the same high level and offer colour televisions, hairdryers and courtesy trays with complimentary tea and coffee.They say that breakfast is the best way to start the day, and breakfast at the Fernleigh is definitely worth getting out of bed for! The hearty menu changes every day, and includes a broad selection of hot and cold vegetarian options such as: stuffed mushrooms, bagels with cream cheese, vegetarian sausages and Staffordshire oatcakes (if you don't know what they are, then you are in for a treat) which may even tempt the meat eaters, and of course the famous Manx Kippers. All the food is home prepared and cooked and using the finest locally sourced ingredients.The Fernleigh provides a real 'home from home' experience for your holiday; and features original artwork throughout the B&B, some of which has been painted by talented professional artists who return as guests, year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fernleigh Peel, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing