We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy. Comfortable. Clean. Convenient. Cor Blimey...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sleep listening to the many sounds of the sea. Magnificent views over Irish and Scottish headlands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sleep listening to the many sounds of the sea. Magnificent views over Irish and Scottish headlands
Enjoy Manx dancers outside Ben My Chree (means Woman of My Heart) Beach Holiday Cottage 4*GOLD Ben-My-Chree Beach Holiday Cottage is on the sea front with amazing views to Scottish hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Sleep listening to the many sounds of the sea. Magnificent views over Irish and Scottish headlands
Enjoy Manx dancers outside Ben My Chree (means Woman of My Heart) Beach Holiday Cottage
4*GOLD Ben-My-Chree Beach Holiday Cottage is on the sea front with amazing views to Scottish hills
Super spacious open plan lounge with brand new sofas
Spacious open plan lounge with large plasma tv
New warm wooden kitchen floor
Spanish pots Creating a courtyard garden
Looking into the spacious lounge from the dining area
Mural in court yard to reflect the views from the front
Beautiful newly fitted kitchen/dining area
Large light double bedroom with fresh towels, and views to the hills of Ireland and Scotland...
Twin full size quality  single beds
Watch Punch & Judy on the beach, with the ancient castle in background where sunsets appear late
Celebrations in Peel Sunset City on the promenade in the evening-see from the cottage
Enjoy the splendid sunsets from the  beach cottage and stroll along the romantic promenade & harbour
View the cottage from across the harbour at low tide.  Can you see Ben My Chree Beach Cottage?
See from the castle how the cottage is nestled in Peel Sunset City with two splendid sandy beaches!
Join in kayaking &coasteering on Fenella Beach and have barbeque fun! Time for a paddle!
Peel Castle in October, romantically lit up - ideal for a stroll around the harbour, beach & marina.
Watch the Viking boats racing across the beach.  See the wide variety of boats in the harbour.
See the basking sharks behind the castle.  Better still view them from a local boat ride. .
Enjoy barbeques on Fenella Beach; sandy cove with smugglers cave & rockpools bursting with life!
Hire one of the fishing boats in Peel Harbour; go out on wildlife trips in search of basking sharks!
Paddle into the smugglers' cave at low tide and imagine what contraband was lifter through the roof!
Busy fishermen catching eels for bait outside the 4*GOLD Ben-My-Chree Beach Holiday Cottage
The Hebridean Princess, one of our many visiting cruise ships to Peel..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peel, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fireadvis...
Scunthorpe
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy. Comfortable. Clean. Convenient. Cor Blimey! Less than 30 minutes from the ferry ( and almost everywhere else!!)”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything you will ever need in a self catering cottage. Uninterrupted views at the front. Brilliant suntrap in the sheltered back yard complete with a mural of everything that you can see from the front of the property but without the cold North wind coming straight down from Scotland ( and the Arctic). Shortly after arriving, bubbly, friendly owner Jenni popped in to ensure we were Ok and we had a quick chat about things to do nearby and a bit farther afield all of which enhanced our stay. Bob popped round too! Hi Bob. Ample free parking right outside your window. Excellent base for touring and coming back to cafés, coffees, ice creams or something a bit stronger?? and more eateries than you will ever need, most of them are acceptable and affordable to most pockets. Recommend the Royal India. REALLY REALLY recommend BEN-MY-CHREE. TYVM Jenni. Unforgettable cottage. XXX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Hard to single anything out but Jenni is up there with it.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Really lovely to meet both you and Linda Fred. We look forward to seeing you again. Bob says hi! So happy that you enjoyed the cottage and the island and eating out in Peel. thank you very much for taking the time to do a review without prompting. Very kind comments and lovely review. And thank you also for the beautiful gift you gave to me. Thanks Jenny X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delbo y
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'OUTSTANDING' More 'Home from Home' than Home itself”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

You are looking at these reviews, because you are thinking of renting 'BEN-MY-CHREE', 22 Shore road. GO NO FURTHER, BOOK IT NOW!
This is the most beautiful location I have ever stayed at.
We arrived in the dark (due to travel delays with the ferry) on Easter Saturday. The cottage itself doesn't give anything away from the outside, apart from the beech side location, but there were warm welcoming lights in the windows and once we entered the warmth of the inside, we were blissfully surprised. A bottle of wine, fresh flowers and 2 creme eggs were waiting for us on the table.
The cottage is beautifully presented in all rooms, the huge kitchen diner, large bathroom and both bedrooms were immaculate, (there was not one creaky floor board either, for such an old cottage). The best surprise was saved for the morning when you sat up in bed in the double bedroom and looked straight ahead, out the low windows across the beech,bay and harbour at Peel castle. WOW
Peel itself, was to us, without doubt, the best place on the island, (though not many shops, there was the quaintness of the narrow streets). After a day's exploring of the island in all directions, it was lovely to 'go back home'. As for eating out with teenager's with awkward eating habits, the best variety of menu was at the Marine Hotel, 2 mins walk along the front. nice food (and a pint of Okells), in a very nice large restaurant out the back of the pub. THE CREEK INN was very nice, (steak & ale pie was delicious), but very busy. Also visited the 'CREG NE BAR' pub up in the mountains on the TT course, that was nice too.There were a handful of 'proper old style' pubs in 'Peel city' as some call it (due to the presence of the islands only cathedral), but being early in the season, a few other places to eat, still hadn't opened.
You MUST do 'The Laxey Wheel', a tour of Peel Castle (have the free audible hand set to guide you round) and the 'Calf of Man', all beautiful for completely different reasons, we also had a day on the electric train, up Snaefell mountain and also on to Ramsey,
although there doesn't seem to be much there. Douglas is ok for the shops.
Oh ! and a bonus for us 'mainlanders' -- free parking every where (except the multi-stories)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the location
Liked least: the ferry journey to the island - force 7 gale - rough !!!!!!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you very much Robert for such a comprehensive review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Peel Sunset City and in Isle of Man Peel Beach Holiday Cottage! We hope to see you again soon. Chance to breathe in the amazing Manx sea air, relax and blow away the cobwebs. Great to have you all. Jx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T
1 review
“Excellent holiday home in perfect location”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed last week and had a great time. The cottage is well-equipped, and met our every need. Perfect location right on a large sandy beach, central for Peel and for touring the island. And wow what a view!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Great to have you Jo, Steve and Jessica, and look forward to seeing you all again in July 2016. Lovely photos on Facebook - thanks for that. So pleased you enjoyed the sandy beaches - they are the best in the world! I love paddling but your Jessica was brave enough for a swim at the end of October! Well done! See you soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresabb3...
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage with stunning sea views”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Ben My Chree is a warm, welcoming, 2 bedroomed cottage with a cosy atmosphere. The bedrooms are very comfortable - you will be fighting over who has the front double bed with views of the sea. The kItchen is well equipped and the bathroom is clean with plenty of hot water. Very relaxing front room and from there you literally step out of the front door, cross the road and you are on the beach

Peel is a traditional fishing village with excellent restaurants and pubs (try the Creek). So much to do and see on the island it is hard to fit it all in one week. You must spend time in Peel though to visit the castle, museum and traditional shops and tea rooms.

We purchased a Go travel card from The House of Manannan Museum. This allowed us to travel on all the buses, trams and steam train. For a bit more money there is also an option to include in it all the Manx Heritage sites. We found this to be an excellent way to see the island. The buses are very frequent and you can return to Peel up to around 11pm. We found there was no need to hire a car at all. In fact when we arrived we got a bus from the airport directly to Peel. Going home was different as we had to leave early on a Saturday, but we booked a taxi easily enough.

All of the people we met were very friendly and gave us good advice and tips on what to see and do on the island. Jenni who owns the cottage could not do enough for us and was very easy to contact.

We had never visited the Isle of Man before and were over whelmed, the scenery is beautiful, wild flowers grow freely in the hedgerows, there is a vast array of wildlife to see and all in a safe environment. We would recommend Ben My Chree to anyone wanting to experience the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location very relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Brilliant! So pleased you had a good time in Peel and found the local transport handy enough. It was great to have you stay, and also a good idea that you researched the Island well so you knew exactly what you wanted to do. Thank you very much for taking the time to do this review. Very helpful to otther guests who might be booking Isle of Man Peel Beach Holiday Cottage. Hope to see you both again soon. Jenni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsheathe...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Simply perfect ( as is Peel itself)!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our first holiday without our dear friend who died last year but we felt this cottage wrap its arms around us and we 3 all had a wonderful time. Jenni and Bob made us feel very welcome and the little extras were well received. The cottage itself was wonderful with everything you could need to make life on holiday easy (apart from a sharp ,small serrated knife) . The location is breathtaking with stunning views all round and we loved watching the sand eel fishermen every evening and the harbour seals. We did get one sunset in a whole week of dry weather and it was stunning. Peel itself is locked in a time-capsule that was simply lovely. I could go on and on but visit yourself as soon as possible and stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and we have now purchased a serrated knife! It will be great to have you back and I'm so pleased that you all felt welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickyp290
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“exceptional! birdwatchers and motorcyclists take note!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

lovely property right on the sea front. Crossed the road with my cup of tea past our motorbikes to sit on a bench and delight in the seabirds in the bay and the sunset over Peel Castle. Lovely, lovely, lovely. I will definitely be coming back here!! Saw seal in the sea behind the castle, nearly had my nose taken off by a Peregrine Falcon on Peel Hill. Might have seen Puffin if I dared get close enough to the edge!! And as for breakfasts at various places on the seafront - well..... I am now on a diet, but it was worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea views, but the courtyard mural is lovely too
Liked least: noisy seagulls kept waking one of our party, but I loved it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you Nicky for taking your valuable time to review the cottage. And such fun you had with the birds and the beach! Boat trips from the pier are good to see the basking sharks, seals with their babies on the little beaches in the caves around the hill, and the puffins, along with other wildlife. Lovely to have you, and thank you for helping others see how great the wildlife is here in Peel Sunset City. Looking forward to having you stay again. Jenni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamer59...
1 review
“Ms ”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It was amazing couldn't fault the warm welcome before we had even arrived, from booking ideas of places to visit. Cottage had everything we needed and more with the privilege of walking out the front door to being on the beach. Thank you for a fantastic cottage for our family holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you very much Lorraine for your wonderful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your family holiday in the cottage. It was great to have you stay. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you Jenni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing