We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay for a relaxing holiday in the Isle of Man”
Review of Langtoft Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langtoft Manor
Ranked #3 of 5 Peel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay for a relaxing holiday in the Isle of Man”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for the first time for part of practice week and race week for this years TT and found the owners to be friendly and welcoming. The room was large, clean and well appointed.

Plenty of choice for breakfast and obviously a lot of effort made with the presentation.

A short walk along the lane and onto the main road takes you to the costal path, so good location for walkers.

We will be there again next year, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger20112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    7
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked the self catering part for the raceweek on Isle of Man.
This was basically a toolshed with beds and a old dirty couch. Upon arrival there was bugs all over the bedrooms, on the walls, on the floor and also on the beds.A variety og beetles, spiders and ants.
Everything was dirty. The shower was horrible with rotten floor, and bugs everywhere.
We paid for the appartment and one outside. A considerable ammount of money. After one night, two of us decided to rather put up a tent outside as well. Then the owner came asking for more money. 10pounds per person per night extra.
The poor quality of this accomodation ruined this trip for us.
It deserves 0 out of 5, but not possible on Tripadvisor. Therefore 1 out of 5.
TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eivind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent a few days in this place as the only guests, and had a nice time, if you ignore breakfast. Immaculately clean room and building. Breakfast however was a shame - every day, the same leftovers from the day before were put out - shrivelling pieces of smoked trout with wilting grapes, bread and bagels that were so stale they broke when banged on day one were put out every subsequent day; did they not wonder why no one was eating them (based on previous reviews, I'm willing to bet that these were the same bagels bought the week before!). Almost ALL of the cereals were out of date, one by 5 months, and as they were left out all day without being sealed, they tasted even more stale. The same sliced meats and cheese were put out on the same plates daily - meaning that cumulatively over the week they were out in room temperature for many hours. Even the electric coffee pot was reused daily, meaning that the coffee was so bitter it was undrinkable by day 3. It's not surprising that both of us had stomach upsets by the end of the trip. The cooked breakfasts were good (although we noticed old bread sneaking in under the eggs), but we rarely got the correct order; scrambled and poached eggs are NOT the same! The local kippers were excellent.

We also had problems sleeping - the owners also run a kennel, which was just round the corner from our room. On a cold, wet night, one of the dogs stuck outside in a wire enclosure was howling for hours; when we pointed this out to the owner at breakfast, she turned to another guest (sleeping on a different side of the building) to ask if he was affected; when he said no, we were told that 'we must be very light sleepers'. I can assure you we're not; we live by an airport!

Finally, despite leaving out the used tea and coffee sachets in our room, these were not replaced during our stay, and when we asked for more toiletries, we were left a load of shampoo, but no soap or shower gel.

In summary - this is a lovely place, in a good location; but it needs to be much better run; breakfast would not pass a health and safety inspection; having few guests is not an excuse to use old food. It wouldn't take much effort to bring this place up to a great standard - just provide a fresh and hygienic breakfast and move the dogs!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynkermode, Owner at Langtoft Manor, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
Dear Adam,

Unfortunately there seems to have been a personality clash from the moment you stepped into my lovely home. Everything I tried to do to make your stay comfortable seemed to be unappreciated. However, it cannot all be as wrong as you proclaim as I have a lot of five star reviews from repeated satisfied guests. It seems to me you want a five star London Hotel, not a four star B&B on the Isle of Man. Our many customers, are now our friends and return to visit both my home, and our lovely Island. So good luck in the future in finding your ' perfect' accommodation wherever you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very friendly and comfortable place to be in lovely surroundings.We opted for the self cateering option..it was not that big but was nice and cosy.Great getaway from the crowd. All the attractions to Peel / Castle town/Laxey/Ramsey/Sound/Douglas are netted equally withing 20-30 mins drive. Will need a car to explore on your own phase as thr are lots Glen to walk and explore. Love to come back again.Thanks a lot Lyn for your lovely welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynkermode, Owner at Langtoft Manor, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
It's time you come back and see me
You did promise hehe
I am waiting patiently
Would love to see you all again
Take care keep in touch
Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a find excellent Hotel, Bedrooms were beautifully decorated and furnished, Lyn the owner couldnt do enough to make you feel welcome and the breakfast was amazing, not only did you have cereals and fresh fruit, but smoked trout,ham,bagels,cakes,toast and a full cooked breakfast.The views were amazing and a short walk and you were on the beach. I would definitely recommend staying here and i will be back. Oh and in the evening Lyn ferried the four of us down to Peel so we could enjoy the food and nightlife so all in all an excellent experience for our first trip to the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyf6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Had 2 nights here and will definitely go back. A very friendly and comfortable place to be in lovely surroundings. Great breakfast thrown in with plenty of choice. Rooms are high quality and large with quality fittings throughout. A lift is offered into Peel and taxis are cheap enough. All in all 10 out of 10.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

On arrival we were greeted with an un prepared property, we decided to rent the self catering section, basically a converted gatage/ cellar, quite nicely done but shoddy workmanship when you looked closely, outside there was a swing lounger with no cushions, therefore just a rusty swing of no use, there was also a wooden bench which was missing the second day we were there and arrived back as we were packing the car, great outdoor experience there, as far as the views of peel bay was concerned all you get is a field of sheep, you are actually far from the beaten track with zero views, you do however get dogs barking on the balcony above, dogs barking in the kennel outside the door, not a very nice place to be when your tired, no tin opener in the self catering kitchen, heating was hitty missy, couldnt dry a towel, freezing at night with zero heating in the bedrooms, hassled for money and overcharged, we agreed £320 for the 3 nights and then told it was more than that, all in all I will not be going back, please please please do not go here if you want to relax and unwind, too far to walk to peel for a day out, if you dont have a car you will be sick and if you dont like dogs you will be sick, probably the worst self catering establishment I have tried, and I have stayed at a lot.

Room Tip: Dont stay at the self catering part, you are next to all the dogs, very very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynkermode, Owner at Langtoft Manor, responded to this review, 17 July 2016
The cushions were in the store cupboard of the kitchen
Did you not have the time to look in there as you were to busy looking at the builders work
I guess that must qualify you to be Clark of the works
Or maybe you were counting the sheep instead of admiring the lively views that you didn't see
Or maybe counting the calories you would loose if
You walked to peel for your din dins You could of taken you dogs with you that should not of been there in the first place and your kids instead of goding
My dog
Enjoy your complaining somewhere else
Or better still
Stay home as bad reviews that are not true is very very unfair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peel
9.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 17 in Douglas
146 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
389 reviews
8.7 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtoft Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtoft Manor

Property: Langtoft Manor
Address: Langtoft Ballagyr Lane, Peel IM5 2AD
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Peel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtoft Manor Bed & Breakfast is set in two and a half acres of garden and foliage in a quiet country area three minutes drive from Peel. Silver award set in open country with views over the fields, with the sea close by. This is a lovely area especially for bird watchers and is a walker's paradise where you can wonder over the old railway tracks for many miles. Take a short walk to the White Strand beach where you can enjoy a peaceful walk along the beach front. Spend the day in our beautiful home enjoying afternoon tea, or take a stroll in the gardens, have a picnic, or why not unwind and relax in the drawing room in front of the log burner after a long day. Cyclists are welcome and there is secure storage overnight for bikes. The dining hall is of a bygone era with artefacts to study. There is a flat-screen TV with sky and DVD players in every bedroom and the communal drawing room. Our rooms are all very well equipped for your comfort. We hope you will enjoy your stay in our friendly and unique home. Facilities: • Plenty of spaces for parking • Hairdryer in each room • Packed lunches (extra charge) • Full Manx breakfast deliciously homemade with local seasonal products (vegetarian option available) • Homemade cakes a treat-in-store. • Kippers (Manx specialty on request) • Central heating • Tea and coffee facilities • Extra bed (if required) • Shaving point • Free Wi-Fi/Internet • Beautiful linen and towels • Drawing room with tea making facilities (at your disposal) • Flat screen TV in each room with Sky and DVD players • Non smoking policy • Pets allowed (by arrangement) • Garden area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Langtoft Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langtoft Manor Peel, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing