We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langtoft Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Langtoft Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Peel B&B and Inns
Theresa, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We loved Langtoft Manor! Lyn was fun to talk to and very welcoming. We had bikes with us and it was no problem to leave them in a safe place. The house and grounds were wonderful- I was a little under the weather and felt a million times better after a healing afternoon in the very comfortable, clean, and attractive room. Breakfast was delicious and more than we could eat. Lyn had helpful suggestions for bike routes and things to go see- we followed her advice and were very happy with what we experienced. I would love to go back here to stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Manor. Owing to ferry delays we didn't arrive until close on midnight but our charming hostess Lyn greeted us with a smile and showed us to our room without demur.

The room was pleasant and had flat screen TV plus tea and coffee etc. The ensuite bathroom was modern and the shower cubicle was well appointed with shampoo etc.

The following morning we went down to breakfast which was served in a superb traditional Manor house dining room. We were sat at a beautiful oval mahogany table set out with china crockery and silver tableware. The choice for breakfast was anything you fancied. Lyn would make for you her magnificent fry-up to continental hams,cheeses etc. Half way through the meal Lyn produced a platter of poached and smoked local caught trout - delicious!

The country-side setting of the house means there is no noise whatsoever and parking is plentiful in the grounds. Altogether I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment though a car is essential as you are a couple of miles outside town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This B&B visit was a delightful and traditional experience. It WILL be an interesting stay if you stop here. It's not a modern, flawless but soulless place. It IS a quirky gem with lots of nooks and crannies. It isn't perfect, but is perfectly comfortable. Lynn the host, is charming and engaging. Stop here if you want a fun experience!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abijsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
277 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Really hard to rate this. In terms of general friendliness and breakfast- excellent. In terms of welcome, poor- we were kept waiting for ages having rung the bell. First impressions were not great- towels and laundry hung over railings, and dogs, admittedly contained and not loose, running about.
We were lucky enough to be given the lodge - a self catering apartment, for our night's B & B, which was generally clean and well appointed, although as a previous review has pointed out, some of the finishing looked bodged on close inspection, and we experienced a mustiness which suggested it had not been used for a while. Comfortable bed, good shower.
The furniture and décor in the dining room of the main house is fascinating, with lots of North American and African artefacts, and while this might not be to everyone's taste we found it to be intriguing and unique.
Our breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, lots of fresh smoked trout, a good choice of cereals and a decent bacon sandwich.
Another drawback is the location, well over a mile from Peel and it's restaurants which is not great if you are walking (although the place is only about 1/4 mile from the coastal path if you do not leave it at Peel but continue on to leave it nearer the accommodation). That said we were given a lift into town by the owner (for £5) and paid the same for a taxi back after eating.
On balance I would stay here again, but it might not be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our second trip to the IOM and to Langtoft Manor we was not disappointed again, we were put into the Lodge how fabulous we had our own space to spread out although only just the two of us with bike gear still adds up. We spent most of the day out touring so the evenings were spent in the secret garden in the warm sunshine, The breakfast in the main house could not be faulted how much can one person eat!! cereals, fresh fruit, local smoked organic trout , home made jams cakes, varieties of breads, cheese, meats,and then a full cooked breakfast Lynn also offered to do fresh pancakes and kippers.. five star service every day we just want to keep coming back and we will (maybe for our honeymoon) lots of love Lynn keep doing what you are doing absolute star ... Thank you for making our holiday so special and thank you for the glass of wine you shared with us in the garden. such happy memories.

Room Tip: all the rooms are clean well decorated and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyf6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came to Isle of Man for the Coastal Walk, and what a treat to land at Langtoft Manor after a long day of trekking. Our room in the main house was lovely -- perfectly appointed -- and Lyn was both welcoming and helpful in getting us on our way the next morning. The house has an interesting history, and the breakfast was both abundant and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a fantastic place, the room we were in had chandeliers, walk in wardrobes, huge comfy bed spotlessly clean, refurbished to a very high standard. Great variety of breakfast, fruit, yogurt, manx kippers, full English, ham cheese, cereals, toast, tea coffee cake etc ! Very friendly and welcoming ... will definitely stay there if we get back to the Isle of Man. Thank you Lyn for a fabulous stay. :)

Room Tip: The Clementine where we stayed is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynkermode, Owner at Langtoft Manor, responded to this review, 17 July 2016
A late thank you
So it must be time to come back and see me
Hope all is going fine
Take care Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peel
9.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtoft Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtoft Manor

Property: Langtoft Manor
Address: Langtoft Ballagyr Lane, Peel IM5 2AD
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Peel
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtoft Manor Bed & Breakfast is set in two and a half acres of garden and foliage in a quiet country area three minutes drive from Peel. Silver award set in open country with views over the fields, with the sea close by. This is a lovely area especially for bird watchers and is a walker's paradise where you can wonder over the old railway tracks for many miles. Take a short walk to the White Strand beach where you can enjoy a peaceful walk along the beach front. Spend the day in our beautiful home enjoying afternoon tea, or take a stroll in the gardens, have a picnic, or why not unwind and relax in the drawing room in front of the log burner after a long day. Cyclists are welcome and there is secure storage overnight for bikes. The dining hall is of a bygone era with artefacts to study. There is a flat-screen TV with sky and DVD players in every bedroom and the communal drawing room. Our rooms are all very well equipped for your comfort. We hope you will enjoy your stay in our friendly and unique home. Facilities: • Plenty of spaces for parking • Hairdryer in each room • Packed lunches (extra charge) • Full Manx breakfast deliciously homemade with local seasonal products (vegetarian option available) • Homemade cakes a treat-in-store. • Kippers (Manx specialty on request) • Central heating • Tea and coffee facilities • Extra bed (if required) • Shaving point • Free Wi-Fi/Internet • Beautiful linen and towels • Drawing room with tea making facilities (at your disposal) • Flat screen TV in each room with Sky and DVD players • Non smoking policy • Pets allowed (by arrangement) • Garden area ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Langtoft Manor Peel, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing