We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good restaurant let down by poor staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boatyard Restaurant

The Boatyard Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Peel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$63
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run restaurant situated on the historic quayside in Peel. Diners can enjoy views across the marina, ancient castle and rolling hills (ideal for a stroll before or after a meal). Inside, diners can also enjoy views of the chefs at work in our open view kitchen preparing and cooking food freshly to order. Our menu features local flavours and tastes with fresh seafood, meats and vegetarian choices. We are proud of the islands suppliers and produces and use wherever possible as much locally sourced ingredients and produce. For our younger guests we have our Little Pirates menu, designed especially for kids with child friendly dishes and activity bags. Booking a table can be done over the phone, online via our website or by popping in. Thanks for reading and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant let down by poor staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Peel is building a great reputation as a good night out and The Boatyard is a huge contributor to that. A mainly seafood based menu is complimented by enough meat and vegetarian options to appeal to most tastes. The restaurant appears to attract a more well-to-do clientele than others meaning that the atmosphere is very adult.

Fabulous food in a great restaurant was unfortunately let down by less than great service. Our order of Pork Fillet was interpreted as Pollock by the waitress of european origin, resulting in a delay in our main course arriving. Then when the bill arrived this didn't correctly represent what we had ordered. There only seemed to be one waitress who knew what she was doing, but on a busy Thursday night she cant be expected to be everywhere. Get the service right and this place will be awesome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    74
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to the Boatyard. The service was excellent and the food very tasty and well presented. The menu offered a good variety with some more unusual choices. If you like fish then you must try this while on the Island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gets better and better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are regulars at this cheerfully run restaurant overlooking the marina.

At every visit we find it maintains good, consistent standards.

Resident or holidaymaker this place is well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrance007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Decided to try out the boatyard having previously eaten at their other two restaurants, Tanroagan and The Swiss House which were both very good. Was not let down at all! The place is beautifully decorated in a vintage sea theme and everything they do has their own personal touch. The bread bins with homemade bread in were impressive and the butter came in a cute sardine tin. We came to try out the queenie festival specials on offer the evening we went and were very impressed. The seafood sharing platter we ordered was so tasty and the batter was surprisingly really light and crispy. Our mains were absolutely amazing! I ordered off the queenie specials menu and had queenie and hake thai green curry which was a fab take on the thai classic, which is one of my favourite dishes in the world, my friend had the whole lobster with new potatoes and hot garlic sauce which was so beautifully cooked, i had to stop and savour the taste when testing out the dish. To top it off the waitress we had was very friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble , dont know her name but she had long blonde hair possibly with extensions, who we made sure to give a top to at the end of the meal. Would recommend this place to anyone and will be back for more lobster soon. Thank you for a wonderful meal!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overcooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

For dinner, I had lobster with queenies and a dessert, whose name was unfamiliar to me and which I've forgotten. The queenies were good. Alas the lobster was overcooked and unflavorful. Likewise, the dessert - a sort of heavy cakey thing - was a bit burned and lacked flavor. A side salad, which the waitress kindly substituted for potatoes was tasty, perhaps because it required no cooking. Thus, my advice is to skip anything which requires cooking. Go for the fresh items.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EFFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Peel, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing