We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kipper Baps - Heaven!”

Peel Breakwater Kiosk
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Peel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sussex
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Kipper Baps - Heaven!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

WOW - had a real culinary delight with a stunning buttery kipper bap - very generously filled with lots of fish, with a view to die for.
This place is a busy little gold mine and deserves to be!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    26
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Kipper Bap and cup of tea. I'm in heaven!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We regularly visit the Harbour Kiosk during our holidays. The location is superb overlooking Peel beach. The menu is simple but the Kipper Baps are the best I've ever tasted. Plus there is also a good quality well cooked food available.
With plenty of seating you can sit and take in the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brassonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's not a restaurant, it's more of a hatch, with some tables outside. BUT, it serves some of the best food on the Isle of Man.

I always make a point of calling here when on the Island, often while fishing from the breakwater, or just to sit and relax. A crab or kipper bap with a peppery Bovril, whilst watching the world go by on a summers afternoon is unbeatable.

The staff are friendly, and the prices are more than palatable. I'll look forward to revisiting when I'm over for the TT in May.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkieLangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“We had kipper baps to die for!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Yes they were delicious. Large soft bread rolls filled with hot, buttery kipper fillets with not a bone in sight. We sat at a table on the breakwater above the kiosk and looked out to sea on a beautiful day. The baps were very good value at £3.50 each. There were plenty of other items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for cheap sandwiches etc”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

At the end of the breakwater in Peel is the Kiosk - sometimes called the Shack.

It sells sandwiches, baked potatoes and some other hot food.

Its not Gordon Ramsey - but its cheap, good food. Bacon rolls are my favorite here.

There are a few tables nearby to sit outside at - but no indoors so not the best place if its raining. There are also some tables up steps overlooking the sea with great views - which are excellent as long as its not cold, windy or raining!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reddal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peel Breakwater Kiosk also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Peel, Isle of Man
 

Been to Peel Breakwater Kiosk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing