We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited and waited walked out”
Review of The Central Hotel

The Central Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Restaurants in Peel
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Waited and waited walked out”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The absolute worst service we have ever experienced
Waited and waited bar staff totally ignored us served the next table, never even asked if we wanted a drink.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Thursday night steak meal and wine”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very good host. Meal was excellent and very good value for money. They don't skimp on portion size and the wine was excellent. Overall hard to beat for a total cost of £25 for 2 people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central Hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A lovely, old-fashioned pub with good pub food. The chips were a little limp but otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The atmosphere was great and the staff friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The half hour bus ride from Douglas to Peel is well worth it, if only for a meal and drink at the Central! Peel itself is certainly worth the trip, but the Central is such a gem, I would go back just to have a meal there. Peel is a quintessential small fishing town, with lots of narrow winding streets that reward a slow wander around. We stumbled on the Central by just wandering around and, when we saw it had been there for over 400 years, felt we just had to go in!

It reeks of age, history and charm, and the locals in high spirits are an entertainment in themselves - a very happy vibe was present throughout the pub.

We decided to have the steak meal with a bottle of red wine deal - it was very good and extremely well priced.

Peel is well worth a look and the central definitely is!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a great little find. Don't be fooled by the modest exterior, this is a great little pub.
Food is fantastic, served by locals who know their stuff about Peel and the Isle of Man.
Had a great evening here and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Finchy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Central Hotel also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Peel, Isle of Man
Peel, Isle of Man
 
Castletown, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing