We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albany House Bed and Breakfast-Like Home but Better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel
Ranked #1 of 5 Peel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Albany house in May of this year and found it to be more than just another B and B. The location was right next to the bus stop-the most convenient and fun way to tour the Isle. The food was great, the bedroom warm and cozy. The bathroom new and delightful. But as with anything in life it is the people that make or break any operation. Luckily, Nigel, the owner, is more than just a wonderfully kind, funny, and hospitable person. He is MUCH MORE than that. While we were visiting another guest had a motor cycle accident. Nigel drove around the area trying to find the man to provide help. Fortunately, the driver was fine but his much beloved bike was badly damaged and was going to cost a great deal to have delivered to his home. The man was heart broken but Nigel would have none of it. He did his magic and arranged for the bike to be boated and trucked back to England for a very, very reasonable price. I love the Isle and always enjoyed visiting but now we will return not just for the beauty of the Isle but for the fun and warmth of Albany House. Thank you Nigel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanyHouse, Owner at Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Nigel is chuffed to bits with it. He's a great guy and will do anything for anyone, nothing is too much trouble. Sorry I missed you on this trip, SA was cold and chilly! Hope to meet you on your next visit.

Thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review for Albany House.
Nikki - IOM 25th July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

It looks very ordinary on the outside and indeed the bedrooms (which vary) aren't really our style, being rather Edwardian in appearance, but what distinguishes this establishment from the rest is that the proprietors Nikki & Nigel Sperring really love what they do and want to ensure that their guests want for nothing. Everything you could possibly need in your room is provided, but if you did think of something else then it would be forthcoming in a trice. In terms of information Nikki is a one-woman Isle of Man tourist office; and Nigel for his part is a charming and very entertaining front of house guru who offers an extremely wide breakfast selection (which is taken house-party style in their lovely new open plan kitchen).

Wi fi, comfortable beds, and good access to the town centre and [so called] bus station complete the offering. We too give it five stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Good location easy access to harbour /beach. great sun sets.
accomodation very good. Nikki & Nigel provided excellent full english breakfast with all the traditional trimmings. Comfortable room, very clean. New kitchen / breakfast room.

Room Tip: good size bed with ensuite (under floor heating)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am fussy. I also work in marketing and spend most of my time looking for ways to improve products and services. But Nigel and Nicki's wonderful B&B had me stumped. They have simply thought of everything - even goodbye gifts from their lovely (and very friendly) dogs Coco and Ralphy. We took over all three rooms and they were all lovely. It was just like having our own holiday home in Peel. The breakfasts were epic and it was such a lovely tough to be able to choose what we wanted the night before, exactly like in a top hotel - and the quality was exceptional. In the bedrooms were not only tea and coffee of every type imaginable, but alo biscuits and sweets, proper glasses in a little hamper if you wanted to bring your own wine back to the room, loads of (lovely) toiletries, bathrobes .......was I in the Savoy by mistake? I cannot recommend this place highly enough and Nigel is a wonderful host (Nicki we only met briefly as she was away on business but she handled the original booking fantastically and even sent me a huge pack of information onthe island before we got there). Please don't book when I want to go though, I don't want to have to stay anywhere else now.

Room Tip: The Fraser Room at the front with bath and shower is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaspiaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I'm sure anyone can run a B&B, but to run one with the attention to detail, comfort and amazing helpfulness that The Albany has achieved, has made it a absolute gem. Nothing was too much trouble for Nigel. Our chats with him in the mornings, in the beautiful kitchen/diner while he cooked our gorgeous breakfast, made us feel like we were staying with friends not in a B&B.
We stayed in the Frazer Room, which was beautiful. Comfortable big bed. Bath and shower, with underfloor heating and sound system!! Everything you could possibly need in the room.
We had travelled over on our motorbikes. On the our last day my husband was knocked off his bike. He was ok, but the bike was badly damaged. Nigel went out of his way to help us arrange getting the bike back home. His kindness extended way beyond the role of hotelier.
We will definitely be returning and would recommend The Albany to anyone.
Thank you so much Nigel, looking forward to our next visit !!
Sarah and Graham :-)

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sejx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Arrived soaked and freezing cold after a ride in torrential rain from the midlands to Peel. Nigel made us more than welcome (Cheers for drying the gloves out!), pointed us at the best real ale on the Isle of Man (Whitehouse if you're interested!) ... Room was very clean and comfortable, but the best bit (apart from Nigel's banter!) was the simply amazing breakfast ... cooked to order in the new kitchen - WOW ... I've been lucky enough to stay in some very very nice hotels across the UK, Europe and the USA and this puts them all in the shade - cant recommend the Albany House any higher. Already looking forward to my next stay with you guys ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedLakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here recently with friends for 2 nights and were very pleased with our choice. Nicky and Nigel greeted us as friends and instantly made us welcome. Recently been refurbished the whole house is finished to a high spec and there is every attention to detail. Rooms have a small fridge (perfect for storing the obligatory kippers from Peel). Breakfast was exceelent - a good choice and cooked to order, accompanied by Nigel's tales from his life as professional butler. The Albany is an excellent base for exploring the island and hopefully I will make a return visit

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peel
14.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
312 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
9.8 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#3 of 37 in Douglas
294 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#2 of 37 in Douglas
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel

Address: Albany House 9 Albany Road, Peel IM5 1JS
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Peel
Price Range: £33 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Manx welcome & hearty breakfast await you at cosy Albany House. Pamper yourself in either of the luxurious, spotless en-suite rooms. Comfortably enjoy beautiful Peel's attractions plus the added convenience of close public transport. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albany House Bed And Breakfast Peel Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing