We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and welcoming hosts”
Review of The River House

The River House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The River House
Ranked #8 of 12 Ramsey B&B and Inns
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights in August 2013 and couldn't recommend it more highly. We had one en suite room and one room which was part of a suite which shares a bathroom (but the owners never make people from different parties share the bathroom so it was all ours). The house is really peaceful and quiet with views over the river and garden from our room.
The breakfast was delicious with homemade jam and marmalade along with rhubarb and gooseberries grown in the garden. A full Manx breakfast was available along with lovely toast, cereals, yoghurts and fruit. There was also a separate suite with kitchen facilities (which some of the guests we got speaking to over breakfast showed to us as they were staying there!) and that was lovely too - particularly if you would like more freedom in the evenings to cook for yourself as well as going out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The River House is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Isle of Man. We go during TT fortnight and enjoy the wonderful breakfasts and the engaging company of Adrienne and Edward. The location is superb and it is close to the TT course but not such that noise is an issue. I would recommend staying there at any time of year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriumphRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I could not agree more with the other recomendations for this B & B, gorgeous house, very friendly welcome ;great accommodation in a beautiful setting. A wonderful place to stay or use as a base for touring the Island.

The hosts Adriane and Edward could not be more friendly or helpful ,nothing was too much trouble for them. They provided a huge choice for Breakfast cooked to your satisfaction,the accomodation is fantastic, spotless a home from home

Room Tip: If possible go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the travelling man 2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you're looking for a wonderful getaway or going for the most exciting motorcycle racing in the world, you must go to the Isle of Man and stay at The River House! It's a big beautiful home on the river in Ramsey which is a wonderful little town in easy walking distance from the house. The home itself has beautiful grounds tucked back off the beaten path and is quiet and serene with beautiful gardens to enjoy and the hosts, Adrienne and Edward, will make you feel right at home. The breakfasts are to die for, served on elegant tableware and a pleasure to look forward to each morning! The Isle itself is just a treasure trove of things to see and do with castles, beautiful glens, steam trains, electric trains, and too much more to mention. Enough to do so that you can be as busy or quiet and peaceful as you choose to be. Go and enjoy and tell Adrienne and Edward that Mary and Sam sent you!!!! Loved our 10 days on the Isle!!!!!

Room Tip: All of their suites are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Only stayed here one night on business and normally stay in the Ramsey Park Hotel. I felt welcomed the moment I walked in, almost a feeling of going home. It is so nice to actually talk to people instead of being part of the usual "your just a number" hotel chain. I had actually forgotten what it is like to actually chat to people and find out about their lives rather than just calling for room service.

No the place isn't perfect like a new hotel but I would rather have the comfort of home and a warm friendly atmosphere from now on.

If your staying in Ramsey or just visiting the Island please try this place and experience the comfort and friendliness of home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VMSLogisticsLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed three nights and it as the web site. That is it is very comfortable and well decorated in a good location with views over the river. Our first visit to the island and will return but not to Ramsey. We could not find much to recommend in Ramsey. Eat at the Harbour Bistro two nights. Decor is very dated and it is nothing more than a basic pub. Food on first night was very good but not good on second visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was just the most amazing experience, what a fabulous place. A really excellent breakfast with luxurious rooms and our bathroom en suite was simply beautiful with delightful views across the glorious garden. Sitting alongside the river, it is both peaceful and well located to enjoy the town of Ramsey which is full of hidden delights, particularly in relation to artisan type shops. The Harbour Bistro at the end of the main shopping street is a welcome retreat for the hungry visitor, we enjoyed really tasty food and they have a good selection of wines.
However, the absolute highlight for us was the hospitality provided by our hosts at the River House, rarely have I experienced such genuine kindness and thought, outside of my own family and friendship group. Thank you so much I really hope we can return very soon.
Jo and Vicky

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0T0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ramsey hotels
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Ramsey
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodbrae Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Summerlands B&B
Summerlands B&B
#2 of 12 in Ramsey
19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House

Property: The River House
Address: Ramsey IM8 3DA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ramsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsey
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The River House Ramsey, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing