We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorncliffe Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Seacote Hotel(St Bees)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
38
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
11
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here a week ago for a couple of nights whilst attending a friend's wedding. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts were delicious. However, the friendliness and kindness of the owners was absolutely outstanding. Unfortunately whilst there we broke the toilet! Ali's humour and understanding throughout what was a great deal of inconvenience for her and Andre, made us feel so much better. She did not have to be so pleasant!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Thorncliffe Guest House and would certainly use it again. Alli who owns and runs it is great and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are confortable and clean and extras are provided like wine glasses, cork screw etc. We did have a problem with the electrics but it was sorted out asap.
The weather was very cold while we were there, and my husband has some health problems at the momment which means he feels the cold, but our room was always warm on our return.
Breakfasts are good with a choice, but if I had one complaint it would be that there were no Manx Kippers on the menu.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at the Thorncliffe over the Easter Weekend and would happily return. The welcome we got from Alli was exactly what you want after a long drive - welcoming without being pushy. Our room (7) was a reasonable size with a lovely sleigh bed that was comfy and warm. There were a few problems with the electrics the first night we were there, and the following morning, but luckily only as we were going to bed and getting up anyway, so they had little impact [not that you'd have known this from other residents who used this minor inconvenience as a path to getting a nights money back!]. The breakfasts are beautiful - massive sausages, thick bacon and a range of condiments [If it was up to my wife it'd have been a five star review just for having Marmite]. We bought a bottle of wine back on the first night, and drank it from the standard plastic cups - Alli put two glasses next to the remainder of the bottle during the next day.To top it all off, when we left we got a lovely Isle of Man specific gift. Little touches that make a difference -We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms - but could recommend 7.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonRACowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Lovely place to stay on the outskirts of Ramsey.
Ali is a great hostess and always with a smiling face, a breath of fresh air.
The accommodation had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean and warm.
Breakfasts every morning were delicious.
Thorncliffe was recommended to me and I would certainly recommend it to others.
If I manage to come back to the Isle of Man I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank argopool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Ali made us welcome and our stay at Thorncliffe Guesthouse was very comfortable our room and facilities were excellent and the lovely breakfast really set us for the day I am sure we will be back and would recommend Thorncliffe to any of our friends Anne and Ian

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews