We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milntown Gardens”

Milntown House and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Ramsey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Milntown is set in over fifteen acres of beautiful gardens in the North of the Isle of Man, near Ramsey and is one of the Island’s most historic houses. Originally the home of one of the leading families on the Isle of Man -the ‘Christians’ - Milntown has also been a school for young ladies and a hotel. More recently it once again reverted to being a private house owned by Lady Edwards and subsequently her son Sir Clive. Upon his death, in 1999, a Trust was created to maintain the house and gardens for the benefit of the Manx people, in line with the wishes of Sir Clive. Milntown House is open for tours each Wednesday and Saturday from April - September. Garden Tours are held monthly, please visit our website for further information regarding tours and other events held at MilntownMilntown also has a restaurant that can cater for up to sixty private diners or an elite fine dining experience for up to 14 guests in the old Milntown dining room. Larger numbers can also be catered for with a bespoke marquee in the stunning garden.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Milntown Gardens”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We come for the TT Races every year and its such a shame the house is always closed, non the less this year we decided to go and look at the gardens and we were not disappointed, absolutely beautiful, colours, smells etc.
After a couple of hours we had lunch in the restaurant which again was fantastic. Only one niggle... the deserts were a bit disappointing after such a lovely meal. Still a lovely day out though and I would definitely recommend a visit to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Milntown House Tour”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We've visited the gardens twice now and they are lovely and we really wanted to see inside the house too. We booked for the house tour for the Saturday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed it. Both guides were very knowledgable and both our teenage daughters really enjoyed it too ! There was plenty to see and you can even sit on some of the seats. It was great to see the rooms which were as they were left. I'd love to do the night- time tour but I think the day time tour suited us better ! There was plenty of time to visit the gardens too but as we'd already seen them a few weeks earlier we enjoyed coffee and drinks in the restaurant. Everyone said it was a great new experience and at £7 per person well worth doing. Booking isn't essential on the house tour but we just wanted to make sure we'd get in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
2 reviews
“Fabulous food, fabulous setting!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Milntown in Ramsey is a jewel on the Isle. A couple of weeks ago I was over spending time with family and friends when it was suggested that we head to Milntown for a late lunch. Nestled within picturesque gardens, was the light and airy restaurant that I believe has now become a firm favorite with locals. The staff could not have been more welcoming and provided an excellent level of service. The lunchtime menu was varied enough without being overwhelming and the promise of good, locally produced, wholesome food didn't disappoint when it arrived. The Island boasts a handful of great bars and restaurants however Milntown was a revelation and it will be on my list of places to go when I return in 2014. I think next time, I'll make room for the High Tea too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fabulous fun gardens at Milntown House”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We only had time to visit the Gardens at Milntown House, but they were so beautiful I would love to go back again and visit the house next time too! We went late afternoon one sunny day in September, when the flowers were all in full bloom - hundreds of bees and butterflies everywhere. Lots of fruit and veg plants to look at too. There is also a large pond with boathouse, an old waterwheel, some woodland trails to wander with fun sculptures and games interspersed throughout - including a grass maze, wooden jenga and wooden checkers, plus more! We spent an hour in the gardens, but I could easily have stayed longer if we had had more time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, interesting house but oh such a tedious guided tour ....”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Good bits first. Beautiful gardens (especially on the warm, sunny day we visited). House looks like a wedding cake covered in 'white icing'. It has a fascinating history and it was great to see inside even is some of the 'suburban-semi-style' decor (as left by the last owner) is a little cringeworthy. I guess it may become an important historic snapshot in time but for now it just looks a bit naff, especially the Drawing Room.

Now the bad bit. I know the guides are volunteers (and good on them for that) BUT, one and a half hours for the 10 rooms visited is too long. The husband and wife team we had seemed determined to impart every last bit of information in each and every room. After an hour, people begin to flag. Please tighten up your spiel a bit and let people out to enjoy the gardens after an hour!

Oh, and you DEFINITELY need a guide book. A good fund-raiser and it would enable you to slim down the tour to 'main facts only'

That all said, we still enjoyed our visit very much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3fr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milntown House and Gardens also viewed

 
Laxey, Isle of Man
 

Been to Milntown House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing