We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Dissapointing”

Milntown House and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Ramsey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Milntown is set in over fifteen acres of beautiful gardens in the North of the Isle of Man, near Ramsey and is one of the Island’s most historic houses. Originally the home of one of the leading families on the Isle of Man -the ‘Christians’ - Milntown has also been a school for young ladies and a hotel. More recently it once again reverted to being a private house owned by Lady Edwards and subsequently her son Sir Clive. Upon his death, in 1999, a Trust was created to maintain the house and gardens for the benefit of the Manx people, in line with the wishes of Sir Clive. Milntown House is open for tours each Wednesday and Saturday from April - September. Garden Tours are held monthly, please visit our website for further information regarding tours and other events held at MilntownMilntown also has a restaurant that can cater for up to sixty private diners or an elite fine dining experience for up to 14 guests in the old Milntown dining room. Larger numbers can also be catered for with a bespoke marquee in the stunning garden.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
302 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A Little Dissapointing”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited for walk round the gardens and although they are immaculate they are only small and we were round in about 10 - 15 mins. The charge is £3. We did consider having lunch but it looked too expensive to be honest. The visit would have been greatly enhanced if the old owners motorcycle collection had been available to view. This would be such a draw in what is a motorsport mad island already.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EBUman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milntown, Public Relations Manager at Milntown House and Gardens, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Milntown. We are sorry that you were a little disappointed with your visit and it was only for a short period of time. Milntown is actually set in 15.5 acres of formal gardens, and woodland. Unfortunately Milntown does not have a vehicle museum and the Milntown collection of vintage motorcycles is temporarily in storage and is not currently available for viewing. Although they are bought out on occasions such as Grand Prix and TT Practice Weeks (depending on the weather) As a charity we are currently seeking funding to construct such a building We hope to have a vehicle display building in which to have them on show within the next 12-18 months. We apologise for any disappointment this may have caused and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Regards

Mintown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfortunately House not open”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The gardens of Milntown house were well worth the entry fee. We were not able to visit at a time when the house was open but maybe next time. the coffee shop/restaurant was excellent with a good range of food to choose from.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank victorsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a lovely lunch - not cheap though. But well worth it. The gardens were well kept and if you are even a mild garden enthusiast you will enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great food from a ridiculously curtailed lunch menu with no license for a glass of wine.
It is time that you allowed your guests access to your stunning gardens free of charge!
That said a nice way to spend part of Sunday!
I had expected more!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milntown, Public Relations Manager at Milntown House and Gardens, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are sorry that we were unable to serve you a glass of wine when you visited the Milntown Cafe. We have just changed management of the cafe and as a result we have had to apply for a new license in the name of new restaurant manager and The Milntown Trust The board only sits once a month and the next sitting is mid July which we will of course be attending. We believe that our customers would prefer that we open without a license in place rather than waiting for the next sitting of the licensing board. We do hope that you will visit us again after mid July after which point we will be delighted to offer you a bit more in the way of a drink!

Regards

Milntown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An opportunity missed”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited this house on our way from Ramsey to Peel/Douglas by bus.
We were disappointed that the motorbike and car museum was not open but the gardens were well worth a visit and the cakes in the coffee shop were excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank brian_pg_white65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milntown, Public Relations Manager at Milntown House and Gardens, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Milntown. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the gardens and to the cafe. Unfortunately Milntown does not have a vehicle museum and the Milntown collection of vintage motorcycles is temporarily in storage and is not currently available for viewing. Although they are bought out on occasions such as Grand Prix and TT Practice Weeks (depending on the weather) As a charity we are currently seeking funding to construct such a building We hope to have a vehicle display building in which to have them on show within the next 12-18 months. We apologise for any disappointment this may have caused and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Regards

Mintown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milntown House and Gardens also viewed

Laxey, Isle of Man
Castletown, Isle of Man
 

Been to Milntown House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing