We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth.”
other travellers have booked this property
the front of the cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the front of the cottages
a welcoming complimentary bottle of wine awaits! our beautiful gardens with hidden secrets!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
the front of the cottages
a welcoming complimentary bottle of wine awaits!
our beautiful gardens with hidden secrets!
the lounge
hidden somewhere in the centre of the gardens is the summerhouse!
the lane leading to the cottages
part of the garden!
the kitchen
the comfortable bedroom for a peaceful night's sleep
for a few quiet moments in the study with a view of the fields or gardens
under the pergola!
the treehouse hidden among the leaves!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ramsey, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
I_J_Macke...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth.”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

It was a pleasure and a privilege to stay at Close Taggart. The cottage was a delight, so tranquil and serene. The owners provided everything we needed, and more, to make this a very special holiday. Comfortable to relax in, with intriguing and imaginative gardens to explore. The tree house is a must (to visit)! Wildlife at door and window if you want to look for it. Excellent dining at the local pub, for those who like to dine out. A well stocked One Stop shop near to hand, for those that like to cook. We will be back and will never forget our stay at Close Taggart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed Your holiday. Shirley and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAWN G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I didn't believe paradise existed until I stepped through the door of Close Taggart 'Thie Lough'. The cottage is stunning. The owners John and Shirley have gone to great lengths to make their guests feel at home. There was a welcome basket waiting in the kitchen, a bottle of wine, basket of fruit and a dish of sweets waiting in the front room and the fridge was stocked with bread, butter, eggs and milk. Tea, coffee and sugar were also provided. There was also a box of chocolates on the bed! The cottage is warm and cosy and we felt right at home the minute we stepped in the door. It has it's own little garden to the rear with seating but step through the gate into the main garden and it's like Alice stepping into wonderland! the garden is segmented into various sections each containing something different to look at. The tree house is magnificent and it was a pleasure sitting in there with a glass of complimentary wine provided by John and Shirley just watching the birds and other wildlife that visit the garden. I think my greatest pleasure was sitting on the viewing platform on the other side of the driveway and watching the sunset, beautiful! John and Shirley are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend anyone staying there to try their 'walk no 3' through the curraughs to see the wild wallabys. What more can I say about the place other than I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. We booked our return visit there next year half way through our holiday and can't wait to go 'home'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing except having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks ~ we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil N
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I haven't felt this spoilt since I was a child, all my wants and needs were catered for, many i didn't even realise I had! John and Shirley have spared no effort to make Thie Lough a dream destination, yes, it's a beautiful chocolate box type cottage but it's all the little extras hidden around the place that make it so special. We have stayed in many cottages over the years and bring what we regard as essential items 'just in case'. None of them were needed, not one! So, to the gardens, I simply can't describe them in one sentence. Suffice it to say that by the time we had strolled in and out of the tree house, summerhouses and pergolas I was more relaxed than I have been in years. We already plan on returning next year. Thank you John and Shirley!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet with loads of wildlife nearby.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Your kind remarks are much appreciated ~ looking forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet H
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our first trip to the Isle of Man and we couldn't have chosen a more idyllic base from which to explore. Close Taggart has been developed by Shirley and John to provide a wonderful retreat for any couple wanting a relaxed holiday. The cottage provides all we needed for our time there and the gardens are a delight with unexpected areas to enjoy around every corner and there are a variety of walks to be enjoyed in the nearby wildlife and wetlands area. We loved it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Lack of a fixed shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
We were so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday on our beautiful Island! Shirley & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBarcroft
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place. Amazing hosts.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

John and Shirley were amazing hosts. The cottage was equip with everything you can think of. A real home from home. We had a fantastic 3 night stay. The grounds are amazing. The location is very out of the way. Great for walkers and people active during the day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We should've stayed for longer, 3 nights wasn't enough! The cottage had everything we needed, it was immaculately clean & the little individual touches from Shirley & john were excellent. The gardens are gorgeous, we loved the tree house, we went up one night in the dark & drank wine by candle light!! Even though the weather was cold (we expected worse for January) the central heating is brilliant, we were always cosy & warm. If you want a quite romantic home from home to base yourselves from while you explore the island then this is it! We intend to stay here again in the summer & make use of the barbecue! We've already recommended close taggart too family & friends. Thank you Shirley & john.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane F
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Little Haven”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful little Haven we found at Close Taggert, and such a warm welcome from Shirley & John. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Walking into the delightful cosy cottage for the first time was like coming home! Although better because someone else had done all the work. We found everything spotlessly clean, and every corner you turned there was another little treat thoughtfully provided to make you feel welcome.

Even though we arrived late after a rather stressful journey we awoke the next morning refreshed and relaxed and thanks to Shirley & Johns generosity we were able to have breakfast without doing any shopping and then get straight out on one of Shirley & Johns well explained walks. We were walking on a beautiful deserted beach within the hour and then strolled back through blissfully peaceful country lanes.

Close Taggert is set in a beautiful tranquil part of the Island and yet it is very easy to get around and explore further afield. Shirley & Johns Gardens are full of interest with some beautiful planting, there is a little surprise around every corner, lots of areas to sit and relax in and the Tree House is a delight.

We would not hesitate to recommend Close Taggert we know you will have a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing