We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate, very well equipped cottage near town...”
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property. Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property.
Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
The Sunset seen from Red Gap Cottage.
Living Room.
Living Room.
Living room.
Writing Desk.
Dining area.
Kitchen.
Fully fitted modern kitchen with Neff oven & microwave.
Utility room with Bosch washer and dishwasher.
Bedroom number 1 with 2 single beds. Can be joined to be 1 Kingsize by previous request.
Bedroom number 2 with double bed.
Bedroom No 3 with 2 single beds
Modern bathroom with twin handbasins, bath with shower & seperate walk in shower.
3D plan of Red Gap Cottage.
Castle Rushen, Castletown Square.
View of Castletown Outer Harbour
Castletown Tin Bath Races.
Steam train at Castletown Station
Silverburn walk in Castletown.
Castletown Band playing at the Southern Show.
Red Gap Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletown, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miss_Pist...
Alnwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculate, very well equipped cottage near town centre”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This homely cottage was spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped with some thoughtful personal touches. The welcome pack which included essentials such as milk and butter and a bottle of wine was appreciated and a nice gesture. The location is good - the cottage is on a main road but there was no traffic noise at all and we never had a problem parking both our party's cars at the front of the cottage. The cottage is within easy walking distance of the historic centre of Castletown. Everyone in our party commented on how comfortable the beds are.

The bathroom was very clean and spacious but unfortunately the temperature dial on the main shower did not work. The water temperature was scalding hot; we could not get any cold water to come through and the shower was unusable. There was a shower head over the bath but that was not ideal, particularly as we were on the island for my daughter to take part in a sporting event and she couldn't have a proper shower when she got back to the cottage. The owner did try and resolve the issue but as it was a bank holiday weekend unfortunately no plumbers were able to come out.

There were quite a few ants in the kitchen and the WiFi did not work, but I have let the owner know about these issues too. The owner, Kim, is very attentive and professional and I have no doubt that the issues we encountered will have been resolved quickly.

All in all we enjoyed a very pleasant stay and we would recommend Red Gap Cottage to anyone looking for accommodation in Castletown.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie G
1 review
“Attentive host, cosy cottage, well located”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Kim was brilliant to deal with from the first moment. There were lovely touches in the cottage, fresh flowers, a welcome basket, spare toiletries and the cottage itself was cosy and warm. Beds were very comfortable and the kitchen extremely well equipped. We found Castletown a great place to stay with some good places to eat and some great pubs! Kim was at the end of the phone if there was a problem and had thought of everything, even shoe polish! And there were full instructions for all the appliances.
We loved the Isle of Man, the people were so friendly and there is lots to do. Great walks nearby too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki M
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful cottage, very relaxing”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Every amenity you could need has been considered, standard of cleanliness and decor very high. Kim the owner is very helpfull. Weather not too good during our stay, but that didn't matter as we had such a comfortable cottage which was piping hot within 10 mins of putting the heating on, perfect place to dry out.

Thank you for a lovely holiday Kim.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Best cottage we have stayed in.”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Easy journey from the airport. A short walk from the town square, the harbour and the steam train station. The cottage is in excellent condition; clean, modern and every appliance you could think of. As for provisions, nothing was missing. There was spare of everything just in case you had forgotten something. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated.
Kim was very accommodating and went through the facilities on arrival. Even during the booking process, communication was easy and friendly.
Thank you for providing a lovely base for us to return to after a days sightseeing.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara H
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“welcoming cottage.”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

everything was just perfect.everything you need in the cottage.it was so well equiped.even down to spare reading glasses and first aid kit.kim was a really lovely person.she was there to meet us when we arrived.would love to go back someday again.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socks43
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay 5 star”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well what can I say, from the moment of enquiry to booking and staying Kim the owner was first class nothing was too much trouble. An amazing cottage to stay in everything you could possibly need for your stay, even a wonderful welcome pack with wine included fantastic. Loved it we have an autistic son who also loved it and settled really quickly, it was spacious clean with comfy beds and a lovely bathroom with full size bath overlooking the countryside towards the sea. Also a full size shower too so your choice. Will definitely be returning we had an amazing holiday. Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7LizzieJ1...
1 review
“Perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Castletown is a lovely place for a holiday.Staying at Red Gap Cottage meant that we had a very comfortable base to return to after day trips out.The local public transport is reliable and frequent,and there are bus stops very close to the cottage.There is nothing negative I could say about the cottage as it is spotlessly clean and well equipped.There is everything,and more,in the cottage to make it the perfect home from home.Thanks for a great holiday Kim!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing