We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfasts and fabulous homemade pies”

The Olive Tree Bistro
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Castletown
Restaurant details
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfasts and fabulous homemade pies”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited this cafe many times with my work colleagues for breakfast and I have to say it's the best around. Hot and fresh and very filling indeed.
I also took the family in last week and we all had the homemade steak pie.
Wow is all I can say.
Will be back during TT if I can get through the door.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visited Castletown last Tuesday and found very little in the town until we happened upon the Olive Tree.

We were warmly welcomed (it wasn't too busy this lunchtime) and spent a few minutes perusing the menu and "specials" board.

I chose the home made chicken pie and my wife had the prawn salad - both were excellent and the pie was superb and a goodly sized portion to boot. The portion of chips was huge and I failed miserably to finish these. Coffee was good and service friendly.

If you want a decent meal at a good price I would heartily recommend this cafe at lunchtimes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just perfect...”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A new place that Castletown has been screaming out for.

A very friendly little Bisto/Café that deserves to be a major success. Welcoming staff, and freshly prepared "home" cooked food offered at sensible prices. Try the home made steak or chicken pies. Bliss.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank guy7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent little restaurant - worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely little restaurant set in the middle of Castletown.

Had several excellent breakfasts here & the best fish & chips on the island.

The chef also has daily specials which wouldn't be out of place in a fancy restaurant.

Family friendly with a great atmosphere.

Worth a visit if you are nearby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris82uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree Bistro also viewed

 
Castletown, Isle of Man
Castletown, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Olive Tree Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing