We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum”
Review of Nautical Museum

Nautical Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nautical Museum in Castletown is home to one of the world's oldest yachts - the Peggy - which was found in 1935 concealed in a contemporary boat cellar. The Peggy had lain undisturbed and undiscovered for 100 years after her owner, Captain George Quayle, died.Visit this impressive yacht in its original home where you'll find trap doors, secret panels and a replica stern cabin in the boathouse. In the loft, you'll find a reconstruction of a sail maker's workshop and a fishing gallery which includes models of boats, equipment and photographs depicting the importance of the fishing industry.You'll also hear about the exploits of Captain Quayle and his fascinating life as a politician, a banker, soldier and, it's alleged, a smuggler! Find out more about the Peggy on the National Historic Ships Register. Please note: Extensive archaeological investigations have been completed in the boatyard yielding new information on the Peggy story and revealing an 18th century private dock. The Peggy has temporarily been removed to a specialist building for a long-term programme of stabilisation, conservation and study. This is likely to take place over a 5 year period.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Museum”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This place is definetly worth popping in to see, the guide is really good and full of information. Very unusual place, delighted we went to it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AQire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    9
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The guide makes it”
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

This museum is difficult to find - I had to resort to the map on my phone - and looks like just another house. Without a tour guide, the museum would be pretty uninteresting as the signage and descriptions are pretty nonexistent. But, the guide when we were there on 12 May was AMAZING. He was the most passionate and knowledgable guide I've ever encountered and his passion for his subject was infectious. We thoroughly enjoyed the couple of hours we spent there.

Helpful?
Thank purple_mei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A good little trip”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great story telling from the guide, without him you would struggle to make sense of the real history of the place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You need to ask a guide to show you the hidden secrets of the parlour”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This museum was not well signposted. We passed it by and then had to backtrack - and I was with a cousin who used to live in Castletown. The museum is full of interesting nautical pieces, all the way to the basement, with a full smuggler's boat.

The most interesting bit for me was Quayle's parlour full of hidden secret compartments and stairs and locking mechanisms. Ask one of the museum guides to show you them all because they are certainly not all visible to the untrained eye.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fenedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really Interesting Building”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This little museum is really interesting inside with lots of interesting things to see and very unusual layout with secret entrances/cupboards. This is well worth a visit and commands a good view from outside on the wall in its courtyard of castletown harbour and the bay.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank manxman12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nautical Museum also viewed

Castletown, Isle of Man
Castletown, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Nautical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing