We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Royal.”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Royal.”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We did visit this lovely hotel in July. We did a review immediately we arrived home, but something went awry and so we are trying again. We had a superb visit. By a fluke we came across this Hotel and can honestly say our room, staff and all about the place was wonderful. We had the best breakfasts you could ever hope to have, with choices most people would be delighted with. The hospitality was second to none, we had a family room overlooking the sea & couldn't have asked for more. The two Julie"s were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. If any issues arise all you need to do is just speak to them and it was sorted, so nothing to complain about there. Great hotel, great people, 3 very happy guests. Barbara, Frank & Aemilia.

Room Tip: Ask to look at a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    119
    43
    24
    22
See reviews for
52
158
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The positive point was that staff were friendly.
I bullet point the bad points as I would not have time. Luckily we stayed one night.
The bedroom corridor had odours from the kitchen.
Our room was large and overlooked the North Sea. There was one night storage radiator and no central heating. There was no heating at all in the bathroom. The room had been refurbished on a tight budget. The bed was narrow and not comfortable. The facade of the hotel had sodium lights to display its unsightly style and they glared into our room at night.
The bathroom had a cheap sheet vinyl floor that had been curved up the wall. There was a small shower cubicle with a cheap electric shower which was difficult to get to a sensible temperature .
One hand towel had stains in it which I will not speculate about.
Breakfast was a little better but the small room suffered from a loud television showing football. The only coffee available was instant. The view from the breakfast room was rear view roofs.

By a very long way this hotel is the worst I have stayed in for several years. It is dreadful.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed there for almost 20 days so I can say that Everything and everyone was perfect!Very warm,friendly and kind people!They make you feel like you have been there a lot of times.You could say FEELS LIKE HOME!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmaridis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel was a god send this weekend at the Great North Run, the staff are amazing and helpful. The room was coay and quiet and clean and was exactly what i needed to prepare for the big race! The pasta buffett the night before was excellent and breakfast the next morning was alos fantastic, great choice and again a very friendly host. All in all a fantastic, welcoming hotel! Thank you so much! x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We came to the hotel as my husband was running the great north run. The hotel itself is very clean with a modern homely feel, our room was a really good size and tastefully decorated.
I came to the hotel with a broken ankle and was on crutches so was very dubious about what to expect - i can honestly say I have never seen a hotel try and accommodate anyone better. They offered to carry luggage, followed me up and down stairs carrying my crutches and opening doors etc and honestly went out of their way to make my stay comfortable.
Also we brought my six year old son with us, and the entire hotel staff constantly made a fuss of him offering sweets throughout our stay, allowing him to play in the bar/dining areas and even giving him a goody bag with cakes/brioche etc for his journey home and school bag the following day.
We will definitely be going to the same hotel next year and would honestly recommend this fantastic hotel to anyone!
Many thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was superb and really tasty. While there is some noise from outside, it was fine in the room at the back and it had all died down by 11 anyway. The only small hitches are that it shares parking with the Italian restaurant and it isn't clear from the road that you can use their parking spaces. The bed was a little soft for my liking but then that would have suited someone else well.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are a bit quieter (but the view is part of the place's attraction). If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrinklyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on our way to tour Scotland. On first impression of the outside I thought mmmmm not sure about this, it looked small and a little run down. However, when we got inside the receptionist, Julie, was very friendly and remembered me from the phone booking which was just that morning. I had asked if the room had a sea view and she said that this would cost an extra £20 so I just settled for the original one. When we for there she h given me a free upgrade to the sea view room which was very nice indeed. Lovely room, great view, lovely breakfast the next morning. The staff were all very friendly. We had dinner in the Italian restaurant joined to the hotel, absolutely delicious, best Italian meal for ages. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 13-17 East Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing