We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night while visiting family. Left the children with grandparents. Room was fantastic and Very clean. Big comfortable bed and a sea view. Check in was easy no problems. The receptionist was very helpful showed us to our room and the breakfast room. We ate at the Indian restaurant which is a couple of doors down highly recommended and had a few drinks in the bar next to the hotel afterwards. They had a solo singer on the Saturday night abd we both thought he was very good. Lovely relaxing atmosphere even when they were only a few people there. Only downside to our visit is parking we had to park at least 20 mins away from the hotel as they have no car park.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rdeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    111
    41
    23
    20
See reviews for
52
149
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leyland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here on two different occasions this month. My relatives also stayed at the same hotel including my daughter and her children.
The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable and you received extras that you would only normally get in a 5 star hotel.
The breakfast was one of the best I've had anywhere in the world. Every need was catered for including for the children.
The staff were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
It was 5 star hotel service at B&B prices.

John & Pat Grevatt

Room Tip: Pay the extra little bit for a sea view suite. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here with a few work mates to attend mearsk training a few weeks ago. Absolutely the most helpful and friendly staff which made the stay enjoyable..The rooms were clean and warm with a big TV to keep us from the bar , although the happy hour is hard to keep away from. I would definitely come back just to have a laugh with the staff and eat huge breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked in only on reviews, and we were not disappointed. The staff ALL are welcoming and so friendly, didn't matter what they were doing always had time to help or chat. The breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice and loads to have. The bedroom was always clean, everything supplied and if you needed extra you only had to ask. The Noir club attached was just as brilliant. If you want a break with a friendly , welcoming , reasonable priced break this is the hotel for you. + we never had trouble parking right outside the hotel! TAKE a CHANCE

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo28156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just spent four nights here while visiting family in the area.
The staff are so friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
The room (14) was comfortable and clean, the bathroom spacious.
The breakfast is fantastic, great food and very attentive staff.
This was our second stay at The Royal Hotel and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.
We are recommending it to our family and friends.
Thank you so much to Julie and all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Royal Hotel this weekend. Location is great, room was huge, very comfortable, spotless and well decorated. Breakfast was exceptional and all the staff extremely friendly helpful and informative. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend to friends and family. Would also recommend the Divanti restaurant next door the food and service is first class. Thanks to everyone.
Jenny and Jim Newmarket

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The room stank of suwage from bathroom which you couldnt get in to have a shower as it was that small .there wad noway of filling a kettle for tea/coffee as sink to small. Very little room to walk around beds. The windows not correctly fitted so drafty and extremly cold. The rooms ad terrible the staff however are lovely.
The parking is badly thought out could be made easier.
Food looked ok I didnt try breakfast looked good but was average.
Would I go again. NO would I recommend NO.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginola2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#8 of 11 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 13-17 East Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing