We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaktree Lodge(Whitley Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
183
133
58
25
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
133
58
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewtapasprivate partybuffet styleitalian restaurant next doorsea frontbreakfast roomlady on receptionfree upgradefull englishhotel barsingle roomon arrivalbooked this hotelsaturday nighttoastwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night while visiting family. Left the children with grandparents. Room was fantastic and Very clean. Big comfortable bed and a sea view. Check in was easy no problems. The receptionist was very helpful showed us to our room and the breakfast room. We ate at the Indian restaurant which is a couple of doors down highly recommended and had a few drinks in the bar next to the hotel afterwards. They had a solo singer on the Saturday night abd we both thought he was very good. Lovely relaxing atmosphere even when they were only a few people there. Only downside to our visit is parking we had to park at least 20 mins away from the hotel as they have no car park.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rdeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here on two different occasions this month. My relatives also stayed at the same hotel including my daughter and her children.
The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable and you received extras that you would only normally get in a 5 star hotel.
The breakfast was one of the best I've had anywhere in the world. Every need was catered for including for the children.
The staff were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
It was 5 star hotel service at B&B prices.

John & Pat Grevatt

Room Tip: Pay the extra little bit for a sea view suite. Its worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here with a few work mates to attend mearsk training a few weeks ago. Absolutely the most helpful and friendly staff which made the stay enjoyable..The rooms were clean and warm with a big TV to keep us from the bar , although the happy hour is hard to keep away from. I would definitely come back just to have a laugh with the staff and eat huge breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked in only on reviews, and we were not disappointed. The staff ALL are welcoming and so friendly, didn't matter what they were doing always had time to help or chat. The breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice and loads to have. The bedroom was always clean, everything supplied and if you needed extra you only had to ask. The Noir club attached was just as brilliant. If you want a break with a friendly , welcoming , reasonable priced break this is the hotel for you. + we never had trouble parking right outside the hotel! TAKE a CHANCE

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindyloo28156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just spent four nights here while visiting family in the area.
The staff are so friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
The room (14) was comfortable and clean, the bathroom spacious.
The breakfast is fantastic, great food and very attentive staff.
This was our second stay at The Royal Hotel and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.
We are recommending it to our family and friends.
Thank you so much to Julie and all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews