We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A two night stay in an average bed and breakfast. Nice location on the sea frontline and easy walking distance to local bars and restaurants, the town centre and the Metro. Nice and helpful receptionist, a warm welcome and quick efficient checkin. She showed us to our rooms, I was in room 11 a single. Quite a large room with a single bed and en-suite, no view as I was at the back of the hotel. The room was quite dark and very warm with only a very small window. Comfortable enough and fine for a bank holiday football weekender.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    111
    41
    23
    20
See reviews for
52
149
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Travelled up for the bank holiday weekend and stayed at the Royal.
We were met by a very friendly & helpful receptionist who set the tone for our stay.
Shown to room 12 , we were not disappointed the room was lovely with a great sea view.
Very clean and well furnished.
The bed was very comfy indeed and we slept well for our two night stay.

Breakfast was lovely, hot, fresh & lots of it .
Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff at the hotel who were very helpful and accommodating.

I will be happy to stay at the Royal again.
Shame that Whitley has not received the same loving care in recent years that this hotel has.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neeneeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Two nights in Whitley Bay over Easter as part of a North East football hop. Very chilly when we arrived with wind off the sea and surprised to find no available parking at the front of the hotel as all spaces taken. Option of parking on the side streets and pay or outside sister hotel up the road and round the corner, took latter option after unloading the luggage. Room at rear of hotel reasonable size but no view other than back yard and a fan on all nights which was disturbing. Room rather cold on arrival but soon warmed up with storage heater which was very effective but no heat at all in the bathroom. Breakfast room not large enough for the rooms but very lucky both mornings as managed to get the last table service rather chaotic but choice not bad but could have been fresher. Overall reasonable for the price

Room Tip: Suggest trying to get a front room with sea view and possibly no fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good value for money, professional friendly staff, lovely big clean spacious room with a sea view, good breakfast with plenty of food to choose from, very hard to pick any faults with this hotel, looking forward to going back and will hopefully stay longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Booked as a treat for me, my sister, Mum and daughter (age range 21 to 83)
Don't be put off by the modern dark decor.
We had a lovely tea of Sandwiches with choice of filling, scones with fresh cream a choice again and a selection of tiny cakes all with tea/coffee (refills FOC)
My only criticism would be that myself and my daughter are veggies, plenty of choice but we both opted for cheese salad which came with egg as well, not a problem to me but my daughter does not like egg.
Would definitely recommend and will go again myself.
Very friendly for the less able bodied peeps and toilets really clean and modern as well

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted very warmly and escorted to our room. Our sea view room was great - large and with great views. The room itself was nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable.
We ate at the adjoining Tapas restaurant that is part of the hotel the night we stayed and enjoyed the dishes we had very much.
Breakfast was a buffet style - we ate sparingly of the hot dishes but enjoyed the cereal, toast and fruit. Breakfast was ok...nothing exceptional though. The hot dishes, tea and coffee could have been a bit fresher and hotter.
The room was the standout for us and we would stay here again in a sea view room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at The Royal for three nights as it was convenient for visiting friends nearby. On arrival we were a bit disappointed as we could not park at the hotel but had to park in the residential road round the corner. But Marie soon put a smile on our faces by allocating us Room 12 which had a lovely sea view and was very large. All staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. The room was not super luxurious but was very clean and comfortable and was lovely to relax in. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#8 of 11 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 13-17 East Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing