We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a brilliant time at Whitley bay caravan park. Weather was on our side, this week.
Caravan was clean and spacious (the travel cot fitted in the bedroom).
Team Star's Mikey and u-boy did a fantastic job especially the days there was only the two of them. This is the 2nd time we have been to this park, and there will be definitely be a 3rd time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Debina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. It’s great to learn that you had a brilliant 2nd holiday with us and yes we have been blessed with some amazing weather over the past few weeks! I can see that you were pleased with the cleanliness and standard of your caravan. The accommodation team take great pride in preparing each unit to the highest of standards prior to a guest’s arrival and they wish to thank you for your comments.

The Entertainment team would also like to say a big thank you for your kind words. The guys work extremely hard to entertain guests of all ages and it is reviews such as yours which drives them to improve the service in which they provide. We look forward to welcoming you back for a 3rd time here at Whitley Bay.

Thank you again for your recommendations and the time it has taken to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We got this with Sun `s £9.50 deal but will not be returning. Reception staff could not fault them, very helpful. We wanted to know where the nearest food shop was and they had given us a helpful map to Sainsbury`s superstore 5 mins away. :) The Caravan itself was clean but very basic, stains on Carpet, sofa cushion`s were all worn and thread bared, not many pots for a family of 5, cooker/grill was not hot enough, there was no tv remote and asked for one when we arrived on the Monday but were told they were few and far between. Beds were fresh made up and comfy. The Entertament is awful we only went for the bingo and then left, the meals were expensive could be a wee bit cheaper. The pool well what can I say our 2 kids were booked in for the water jets, (fee paid) and there was 5 or 6 kids booked in for this and turns out only 2 water jets were working so instead of an hour class the kids had to take turns in sharing so not a full hour with one jet. We complained to reception to be given a free waterball class which kids were booked into the next night, so the grown ups of our party could have me time, only for the kids to come back and say the pool was closed due to body fluids being in pool earlier, and gave us another waterball slot the next day but :( we were due to leave that morning. The pool was hardly open and not big enough. overall it was a relaxing holiday but would not go back there, have been to so many up the coast before but this was just not the same. The Park is clean enough. The passes were a waste of money as never asked to show them, anybody could have walked in. The shop is very small has the basics but should be open a bit longer. We got a vip lucky dip for 30%of our next holiday there sorry but wont be returning.

Room Tip: St.Mary`s Lighthouse is a must to see,and Alnwick castle, also kids got to see Harry Potter (not rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your comments Shelley regarding your recent stay at Whitley Bay Holiday Park. It is fantastic to read that our reception team had demonstrated our customer service to assist you with their knowledge of the local area. I am however disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your holiday did not meet your expectations. We take great care in providing accommodation of the highest standard and we can relocate guests subject to availability should a customer not be satisfied with their allocated unit and I apologise that we could not do this for you during your stay.

We have received some excellent feedback regarding our entertainment this year however we understand that our entertainment does not appeal to everyone and I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. It is good to see that you enjoyed the bingo however. I have discussed your review with our Sports & Leisure Manager regarding your experience within the pool facilities and he would like to apologise for any frustration that may have been caused during your stay. All of our guests at Whitley Bay are requested to carry their passes in order to use our facilities and participate in activities such as within the swimming pool and indeed to play bingo and it is unclear as to why you were not asked to produce your pass throughout your stay.

Finally I would like to add that it always concerns us if a guest leaves less than satisfied with any aspect of their holiday and it is reviews such as yours which allows us to continually improve the service and standards in which we provide. Thank you again for the time it has taken to write you review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The caravan was fine although a bit worn, it was clean except the loo which stank of urine,probably due to the mop which the cleaner had used and left in the van-horrendous smell! The pool was disgusting and the boys who were cleaning it, while we were there were mopping the fluffy, dead bug filled, hairy, dirty water into the pool where we were playing with my 3yo!! The toilets in the family area were also disgusting and stank of urine! Clean park and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gailmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Whitley Bay Holiday Park. I am sorry to read that your holiday did not meet your expectations. We have stringent procedures in place to ensure our accommodation units are to a high standard upon a guest’s arrival and we apologise that we have let you down in this instance. I have forwarded your comments to our Sports and Leisure manager regarding the issues you have raised regarding the swimming pool and we have in turn implemented a change in our cleaning procedures within the facilities. It is great to read that you found the park to be clean and that our team members were friendly.

We hope that you haven’t judged us too harshly and that you choose Whitley Bay Holiday Park again in the near future to allow us to demonstrate our usual high standards. Thank you for the time it has taken to write your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just back from 5 days at the resort and can honestly say it was the best family holiday ever! Kids had a ball and the entertainment was absolutely fantastic! Anthony and mikey from the entertainment team did an amazing job with the kids! We cannot wait to return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staceysimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Stacey for reviewing Whitley Bay Holiday Park. It’s absolutely fantastic to learn that you had the best holiday ever with us. Yet another happy holiday maker that is impressed with our fantastic entertainment team. All the guys would like to say a big thank you for your kind words it really does mean the world to them. All of our team members at Whitley Bay work tirelessly to ensure that every guests stay is a magical one.

Thank you for the time it has taken to write you review and we look forward to welcoming both you and the family back in the near future to create some more amazing memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely caravan clean cosy well kept ! Plenty of room for both parents and two kids .Prices where spot on , loverly weather lovely staff excellent service from the manager think her name was jacky couldn't of asked any more from our weekend away !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanaJKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Whitley Bay Holiday Park. It’s fantastic to learn that you were happy with the standard of your accommodation. Our entire team work tirelessly to ensure that every guests stay is a magical one. Jackie in particular would like to thank you for your kind words.

Thank you for choosing Whitley Bay for your 2014 holiday destination and we hope to see you and the family join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Can't complain about the caravan, very nice and clean, but the facilities available for kids are dreadful. Very small games area, 2 pool tables with missing balls and broken pool cues. The pool area is in serious need of a clean!! The so called lifeguards are more interested in chatting than watching out for the safety of users. A very small child went in deep end and the child's dad had to jump in fully clothed to grab him! The entertainment is terrible, like sitting in a back room of a pub in a street you don't know, my wife actually said it was quite scary!! No atmosphere at all! Nothin to do in the park at all, although you do have the beach and lighthouse within walking distance. The park facilities are in serious need of upgrading, I definitely won't be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Gary for your review of Whitley Bay Holiday Park. As within many previous management reviews some of our guests choose Whitley Bay because of its location and what the local areas have to offer and I am pleased you managed to visit our stunning coast line during your stay with us. It’s great to read that you found your accommodation to be clean however we are disappointed that the on park facilities did not meet your expectations. We maintain our facilities throughout the year and we apologise that our usual high standards were not demonstrated during your stay. It concerns me regarding some of the some of the comments you have made so I would therefore may I ask you contact me directly on 0191 253 1216 to discuss your review further.

Thank you again for the time it has taken to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for a week 30th June – 6th July 2014 in a BRONZE grade caravan.
The site is very handy for the beach, just a couple of minutes in the car, (try parking in the Rendevous Cafe car park – 80 p hour) or a 10 minute walk, and buses stop right outside the caravan park. Whitley Bay itself is only a mile or so walk, although there is not a lot to recommend about the town – pretty run down with little for kids to see or do – or for adults, unless you are a Drinker!
Holiday Park was very welcoming and professional on arrival – very nice reception and a Sparky Club “animal” gave our two year old grand-daughter a balloon to play with, which was a nice touch. Its probably in Scandanavia by now – lol!
The caravan? – We booked a Bronze - well the kindest thing I can say is that is was just about acceptable for the lowest grade on the Park. At least 20 years old and showing many signs of wear, tear and repair. The seats in the lounge were grubby and stained – lack of general maintenance - however, it was spotlessly clean from a Cleaners point of view.
The double bed was just awful to sleep on and we ended up packing the mattress out with the spare duvets so the springs didnt stick in our backsides.
No bathroom cabinet or anywhere to store things there or hang any towels.
The “cooker” was rubbish – although it had 4 burners, a grill and an oven, the heat output was poor. The Grill was unusable as we couldnt get it hot enough to grill bacon, chops etc. And the handle was missing anyway. Although we reported it, it was never replaced during our stay.
We had a couple of issues with the caravan, the most important and dangerous was that the external door stay failed and blew the door shut, unfortunately whilst our two year old grand-daughter was climbing the steps to get in!! It knocked her off the steps onto the ground. Happily she was only winded and a little bruised on her arm where the door had hit her. I reported this, and to their credit, it was fixed my on-site maintenance guys within the hour. Looking at the broken unit, the springs were rotten, rusted through and it should have been replaced years before. It was an accident waiting to happen.
Food and Drink? As far as we are concerned – forget it!
Day 1 – 6.30pm. Went to Restaurant / Bar for meal and drink. Took 15 minutes to get served – and they were NOT busy. Only one person serving drinks and taking food orders – AND at times serving them to table. Not enough bodies. We ordered basic fish and chips, as we had a little one to get to bed. It took 30 minutes to get that meal – and only after I had to go and chase them to find out where our meal had got to. Try telling a 2 year old that her meal is “just coming”.
Day3 – Tried again. Sad to report that it was little better. From time of ordering (which still took too long) to time of delivery to table – 20 minutes. For basic Pub Grub?! Not good enough.
We gave up on them after that and ate out. Suggestions – the Cafes at the local Sainsburys ( 2 miles) and Morrisons (between W.B. and Tynemouth - 4 miles) are brill, cheap and service spot on.
Swimming Pool – when you can get in with your little one, its great. Problem was / is that there are lots of pre-arranged sessions for games, sports, differing age groups and so on, so Baby Time was, in our opinion of no use to us. It was very clean though and Lifeguards on duty all the time.
Shop – small and very basic supplies. Lots of holiday stuff though. I guess that is where the money is to be made.
Entertainment – Well if thats what you call it. Just one night was enough. Patchy, intermittent and totally, awfully, embarrassingly Amateur. I spent most of the night cringing at the dreadfulness of it all. (BTW – I am a professional musician and work in the Night Club industry and have seen many good examples of how it SHOULD be done – but not here).
Nuff said.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sixchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Whitley Bay. It is disappointing to read that your holiday was not as expected. We have a swift response time in rectifying issues brought our attention regarding a customer’s accommodation and I apologise that this was not the case for you.

I have passed your comments on to our Retail Manager to discuss the service levels you had received during your stay. It is reviews such as yours that allows us to continually learn, evaluate and improve the services in which we provide and I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. We regularly review our sports & leisure activities to ensure that the program we provide appeals to guests of all ages and I am sorry that you were no able to enjoy the facilities fully with the little one as much as you would have like to. I am sorry to read that the entertainment did not meet your expectations. We provide standard holiday park entertainment which appeals to guests of all ages which indeed is very different in comparison to night club entertainment.

Thank you again for your comments and the time it has taken to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 9 in Whitley Bay
418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 9 in Whitley Bay
351 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 9 in Whitley Bay
116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aabba Guest House
Aabba Guest House
#8 of 23 in Whitley Bay
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Blyth Road | The Links, Whitley Bay NE26 4RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Whitley Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the glorious Whitley Bay North East Coast overlooking the picturesque and iconic St. Mary's Lighthouse, our stunning beaches and glorious coastline stretching from Whitley Bay to Tynemouth is at our very doorstep and ONLY a short two minute walk away from the golden sands of Whitley Bay itself. The park is ideally located close to both Newcastle and Gateshead with regular local transportation available from the park itself. When visiting the park you can travel around our local surroundings visiting fabulous shops, museums and the amazing scenery that the Northumberland Countryside has to offer. Whitley Bay Holiday Park has something to offer for everyone! Being the ONLY Holiday Park in Whitley Bay our owners and holiday makers alike feel a sense of pride being exclusively part of everything that the best Holiday Park on the North East Coast has to offer. Kids will love splashing in the indoor pool or whizzing about in the outdoor play area. Spend full-filled evenings in the Lighthouse Show bar enjoying the glittering line up of Entertainment from cabaret and dance shows to fun family theme nights. Facilities on park include: • Heated indoor swimming pool • Restaurant and sports bar • Entertainment complex with live cabarets • Arcade and Games Area with Prize & Novelty Shop • Kids Club • Children's outdoor play area • On Park Convenience Store • Launderette • Pet Friendly Park with secluded large Dog Walking area • Whitley Bay Beach a short walk away • Internet access - Park wide WIFI available and free WIFI within the entertainment venue • A dedicated Holiday Home Ownership team, available 7 days a week! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitley Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing