We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of York House Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
York House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Great hotel great location had free parking too. Really nice staff. We came down late for breakfast but it was no problem for them they still did us some.. Will definetly stay again.nice size room. Hotel is clean and it's just got all you need.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank v66bry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    55
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
51
75
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked a family room at £95 at the York House Hotel in Whitley Bay for a Saturday night as we were in Newcastle on the Sunday and fancied something different instead of staying in Newcastle or at the airport in a Premier Inn. £95 is certainly more than I would normally pay!
It's not really a hotel. It's a good B&B. Don't be put off by the doors being locked and there being no reception or bar. The place is lovely and really clean. For £95 we got two rooms with a t.v. in each, which my daughter loved and an adjoining shower room. Loved having a table and chairs to sit in instead of the usual having to sit on the bed and the addition of a fridge and a microwave in the room was great. Didn't use the microwave but used the fridge. The fridge was like the rest of the room. Immaculately clean. The owners and staff are unobtrusive and efficient, just how I like it and breakfast was absolutely great. We were really well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I spent one night at the York House Hotel on a short visit to Whitley Bay where we lived for many years.
I chose this hotel because having lived in the town was aware of the hotels on the sea front being noisy and frankly a bit rough with hoards of young people on stag & hen nights, invariably drunk which the area is known for.
The hotels entrance doors were not opened until 4pm, so we had to hang about for an hour or so to check in, a bit of a nuisance after a four hour drive.
Once we finally were allowed in the young receptionist was very pleasant and efficient.
Our double room on the first floor was basic but clean with fridge, microwave oven, kettle and tea & coffee items.
The bed had heavy wool blankets, would have preferred a duvet.
En suite shower room / toilet was very well appointed although cold.
No hair dryer in room, luckily my wife had brought her own.
Breakfast served between seven and nine was ok but nothing to rave about.
This establishment is more of a B&B than hotel, no bar, restaurant or staff on the premises after late afternoon.
Free parking available but very limited.

Room Tip: Arrive at 4pm to secure a parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cambo2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

A sudden bereavement meant we urgently needed to stay in Whitley Bay for a couple of nights between Christmas and the New Year. The York House Hotel was perfect - it was central with helpful staff and the standard of cleaning was excellent. Everything I had read about the breakfasts was true, they're wonderful with loads of choice. Our room was large with a seating area and we were grateful for the kitchenette facilities including a fridge and microwave. Thank you York House.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the staff - I rang beforehand and the staff recommendation was spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneyfreak56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed in the York House hotel for 2 nights from 9th December this year. Myself and a friend booked a double room each. We arrived at approx 9pm . We were greeted by the owner who opened the door for us. Check in was easy. The owner carried our cases upstairs for us..... 2nd floor and no lift!!!
Room was red hot but individually thermostatically controlled...... Soon turned down to 1.
Room was large and spacious. A double and a single bed. Wardrobe. Table and chairs and unusually a sink with a washing up bowl, full size fridge and a microwave.
The bathroom was a little small (room 10) but had everything you need. Clean crisp towels and bedding.
Bed was a little firm for me as I have a bad back and that didn't help.
Went down to breakfast at 08.45 . No one else in there. Cereals were plentiful although no bran flakes or all bran. Plenty dried fruits and figs. Selection of juices. Tea and coffee served at the table . Full English breakfast available if you liked. My friend had one and said it was superb.
Great location for walking to numerous great restaurants. We ate in Devanti's on the sea front. Beautiful meal and reasonable prices.
There is a beautiful lounge with several chairs and a sofa. Very comfortable. Several magazines about to read.
Vending machine for soft drinks and snacks.
The cleaner had been in whilst I was at breakfast and made the bed , hoovered and changed my towels.
When I came back to my room at the end of the day, the radiator had been turned up again so had to turn it down and wait for my room to cool down.
I used the lounge for an hour but couldn't find a downstairs toilet so had to climb 2 flights of stairs to my room just to use the toilet. If there isn't a ground floor toilet then perhaps it may be a good idea to put one in.
A lovely property with several parking spaces front and back. I had no problem parking both nights.
More a guest house/B&B than an Hotel. No bar on the premises , no room service and no phones in the room.
Having said that, it's lovely just as it is. Very comfortable and great breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you have any knee or back problems , make sure you find out if there's and ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheTraveller1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I travel the length and breath of the uk due to my job and I have to say The York House Hotel is up there with the best, comfortable big rooms ,attentive staff and a breakfast to die for .
Credit where credit is due I have only possitive words for York House , try it out and you will see why

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellencamp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Decided to stay out of Newcastle for a change and it was a good choice. Lovely hotel, I was worried about not staying at a large chain but was nt disappointed. Large room with seating area and small kitchen area, just as shown on the website. Had a kingside bed and a single I one room and bunks in a seperate room, great for our teenage son. Nice large bathroom with large shower. Spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was served in the dining room , good choice, efficient service , lovely food.

The owner was friendly and helpful, recommending an excellent restraunt, a nice hike and lovely cafe for lunch ( castaways in seaton ).

The only comment I could make is thicker curtains would be good as the street lights are rather bright.

Whitley bay also very nice , pleasantly surprised , not sure what it would be like on a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#8 of 11 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel & Apartments

Property: York House Hotel & Apartments
Address: 106-110 Park Avenue, Whitley Bay NE26 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your York House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel And Apartments
York Hotel Whitley Bay
York Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing