We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Metropolitan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaktree Lodge(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
310
34
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
34
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bplates and cutleryhot chocolatefresh fruitextra touchesbottled waterlittle extrason arrivalbiscuitsmetro stationexcellent breakfastroom numbercomfortable bedseach morningwarm welcometea and coffeelittle gem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just spent three nights at the Metropolitan, lovely clean and smart rooms great breakfast so much to choose from all cooked just for you, Stephen is a brilliant host and every thing at the house was perfect ,highly recommend this B&B if you are in this part of the country

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank dudley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What can I say best B&B I've ever stayed in,the room was immaculate, everything you could ask for even cupcakes. Steven and Andrew are great do anything to help,there information folder in room is very helpfull tells you the best places to eat,where to visit, helpfull numbers etc. will stay there every time when traveling to Whitley bay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed her for 2 nights and received a lovely welcome. Both Steven and Andrew have great knowledge of where to go in the area for something to eat and where to visit. I want deny being disappointed in not receiving the lovely cup cakes on arrival which everyone seems to be talking about, however this was never promised anyway. Our room was lovely, clean, big and modern how ever it was a little bit cold. Our room consisted of LCD TV, DVD player, modern furniture, docking station. The bathroom was fab as it had big shower cubicle, good range of toiletries, plus a his and her basin. I love the way they organised breakfast and what they offered. We did experience a brief problem with the hot water. May be its me expecting too much but they did not really say good bye to us and ask us if we enjoyed our stay. However Steven was busy preparing breakfast for another guest. I would certainly return. Staying her has really changed my views about staying at a B&B. Great work Steven and Andrew

Room Tip: If you are a couple I would highly recommend room 6. However I have not stayed in the other rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medlar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Returned to The Metropolitan for the third year and a lovely welcome. Upgraded to an enormous room, with a large shower room. Lovely cakes on arrival. Tried the new Salmon breakfast and that was delicious. Just about to book for same time next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropolitan, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for leaving a review , it was great to see you again see you next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and our experience could hardly have been bettered!
Extremely clean, excellently equipped with modern furniture throughout, TV (with freeview), DVD player, docking station, free WiFi, "hospitality tray" with biscuits, coffee tea etc and a shower-room with a good range of shampoos etc.
Breakfast is pre-ordered at a time and "composition" to suit the individual guest.
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble to the owners - if it was possible, they would do it or find out for you. THe guide in the room was extremely helpful about local amenities and places to eat etc. (If you wanted to order a take-away to eat in the dining room, they would even provide the plates and cutlery!)
Would unreservedly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thereddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropolitan, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us at The Metropolitan, thank you for taking the time to leave feed back i am extremely happy you were able to leave such a glowing review, and we look forward to seeing you next time your in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews