We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of The Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropolitan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nowadays there is no point expecting to find a smart classy hotel in Whitley Bay. Much better to look for a B&B with good reviews, which is how I found the Metropolitan. There is nothing to fault in this excellent B&B. The tasteful monochrome theme to the decoration is consistently elegant. The initial impression of immaculate cleanliness is entirely accurate; you would be hard pressed to find a speck of dust anywhere. The breakfast menu is more than adequate, with choices from the 'full English',to elegantly presented smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Our bedroom was comfortable, and although the en suite shower room was small (carved out of a corner of the room), the double width shower and good supply of toiletries made up for that. The position of the house is convenient, with the sea-front a minute away in one direction and the Metro station two minutes away in the other. Although Whitley Bay itself is a bit run down these days, that does not detract from the beautiful beach and promenade walks. An especially nice surprise comes from turning southwards and walking into Cullercoats where the beach and seafront are as lovely and much smarter. In spite of it being a bit past its best, there are good places to eat in Whitley Bay. Stephen your host at the Metropolitan has reliable recommendations. To sum up, the Metropolitan is as comfortable as many a four or five star hotel, and more welcoming than most. Don't hesitate!

Room Tip: You may prefer a front room as the back looks out onto the backyards and lane of surrounding houses.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usuallyfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for The Metropolitan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Warm & welcoming, this hotel has lots going for it! My friend & I were in the North Shields area for one night only but we would recommend the Metropolitan for longer stays. Shower room was small but adequate; comfy beds & clean rooms. Breakfast was huge & freshly cooked. I mentioned that my friend loves mushrooms & chef made sure there were extras on her plate. That was really lovely. Well done Steve!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a nice little B&B this is.The host was one of the best i have come across and all the little extras in the rooms are very welcome. Has for the breakfast it was excellent. Well done to all at the Metropolitan.Stephen can you shoot the elephants next time we stay please.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Visiting family not seen for fifty years, the Metropolitan was a real find.
Steve could not be more pleasant and welcoming .
The rooms are outstanding for a B&B and the decor is smart and immaculate.
I stayed at the 5 star Sofitel Heathrow the same week, before my wife flew out the following day, and although 5 times the price , both the towels and certainly the breakfast are better at the Metropolitan.
If you are staying in this area, don't consider anywhere else.
My nature is to always find a fault - all I can come up with is that the bumper and stylish teapot supplied at breakfast is a little awkward to pick up when full !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just home from staying here with some friends for the wkend from the moment we arrived until we left we were overwhelmed!! Steven is fantastic he arranged for us yo have a bottle of wine and bday cake in our room for arrival the house is immaculate !! Fresh modern super clean spacious comfy beds and amazing breakfasts mmmm ! Best bed n breakfast we've stayed in! Just wish there were more like this ! We will definetly be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the metropolitan with our 2 children age 10 and 6.
We were given the family room on the top floor.
The room was immaculate, clean and spacious.
There were 2 double beds and 2 single beds. Tea and coffee making facilities, tv with freeview and a large bathroom with shower cubicle.
The decor was modern with matching accessories.
We each filled in a breakfast request form.
After reading through the information folder we went out for a walk to check out the restaurant recommendations and ended up booking the Italian (Davanti- one of the best Italian restaurants we have been to)
We had a comfortable night sleep (apart from the party of girls in the room below us arriving noisily back to their room at 3.30 am- not the owners fault)
Breakfast was fantastic- served in the dining room downstairs.
We were sat at a table with our room number on it.
The sideboard had Fresh fruit, chocolate croissants a and various cereals available, in addition to the hot food we requested, we were also offered toast and fresh coffee.
The hot food was delicious and the owners worker so hard to make sure we were satisfied.
The kids enjoyed their stay. The cakes we were given on arrival and the colouring packs were a nice touch!
I would definitely return if we needed somewhere to stay in the area and wouldn't hesitate in recommending.
My only small niggle would be to suggest that other guests showed a bit of respect and were changed out of the pyjamas for breakfast!
Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a party in nearby Cullercoats.
I would agree with previous reviews - we received a very warm welcome, and the little bag containing banana and walnut muffins in our room was a nice extra touch (in addition to good biscuits, tea and coffee etc....) The bed was comfortable and the breakfast delicious - as well as the high-quality "Full English" they offer a homemade kedgeree or kipper pate.
Although the decor wasn't really to our taste, others would (and clearly do) love it - Newcastle Utd fans would be especially delighted I imagine, since the whole place is black and white (monochrome probably sounds more on-trend!)
So in summary - although I wouldn't personally choose such a modern look, the Metropolitan ticks all the boxes - it is an immaculately clean, comfortable, and very friendly base for a stay in the area. (And judging by the tales of woe other guests at the party were coming out with, this is definitely the BEST place to stay in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Whitley Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 10 in Whitley Bay
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan

Address: 13 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range: £48 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan bed and breakfast is situated in the heart of Whitley Bay, We provide our guests with quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a modern setting at an affordable price. Centrally located, The Metropolitan is a few minutes walk from the blue flag beaches and Whitley Bay town centre. The Metropolitan is positioned in a quiet street which is close to all transport links, restaurants, theatre, bars and nightlife. It is the ideal place to stay to enjoy all that Whitley Bay and surrounding areas have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing