We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Metropolitan
Nearby Hotels
Oaktree Lodge(Whitley Bay)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
US$103
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Whitley Bay)
US$106
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)
US$71
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
310
34
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
34
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bplates and cutleryhot chocolatefresh fruitextra touchesbottled waterlittle extrason arrivalbiscuitsmetro stationexcellent breakfastroom numbercomfortable bedseach morningwarm welcometea and coffeelittle gem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

i stayed here overnight on a business trip. Stephen greeted me with a warm welcome, and suggested places to eat in the area (even supplying plates, cutlery etc for my takeaway). Everything from the knives and forks to the decor is meticulously thought out and spotless. Breakfast was prompt, hot and fresh (and delicious!). Rooms are comfortable, with an abundance of tea, coffee (hot chocolate and biscuits). bathroom was well stocked, with plenty of towels too. my only complaint is that my stay wasn't longer.

Room Tip: i stayed in Room 3, comfy double bed, roomy and quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Absolutely spotless - bijou - well appointed - modern - great service - everything you could need well catered for - congratulations you deserve all the plaudits you receive. Also restaurant reccomendation was great. Will stay again when next in the area

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith&shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My mother and i stayed here in September, we have one or two nights away every year, so we can spend some quality time together away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Mam wanted to go to Whitley bay because it holds a lot of childhood memories for her. i looked on tripadvisor and found The Metropolitan with good reviews so i booked up with them. All our friends and family laughed when we said we had chose to go to Whitley bay but the laugh was on them we had a wonderful time. The Metropolitan was a very pleasant place to stay it was immaculate. Both Stephen and Andrew were very friendly and The breakfast was outstanding. There was also some nice little touches like complimentary cup cakes in your room. a big thank you to you both for making our quality time together extra special. we WILL be back next year... keep up the good work and take care.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Met by Stephen who was friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and contained everything we needed. Breakfast served quickly , hot , well presented and plenty of choice. The hotel had a 'bar code' theme to its decor and was very tasteful. We'll go back next time we visit our friends in Whitley Bay.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms were quiet, ours was.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arrived 28 October 13 for 6 nights checking quick and easy very helpful owner went out of his way to do anthing for us would 100% recommend and would return again in the future, Full English Breakfast Amazing stayed in a family room 2 single 1 double room was great clean large bathroom great views

Thank you

Daren

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews