We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and welcoming!”
Review of The Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Metropolitan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Very modern and welcoming!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed last minute for 1 night with my hubby and 2 sons aged 2 and 7 months old absolutely loved it! Room was beautiful! Breakfast was delicious! Price was exceptionally good value! Will be back and will definitely recommend to friends!... Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieSlck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropolitan, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
thank you for taking the time to leave a review i am pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us , we look forward to seeing you next time your in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    30
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
109
30
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent place friendly owner parking outside 2 mins from the Metro.
Modern clean room with lots of light and tasteful decoration. Very comfortable bed and quiet room.
This is the best bed and breakfast for he money I have ever stayed in more like an Hotel.
Very clean in fact immaculate large ceiling room and warm the option of controlling the heat yourself and not switched off late at night by the owner.
Restaurant excellent 5 stars well cooked and tasty good quality filter coffee too.
I would stay here again.
Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropolitan, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
thank you for taking the time to leave a review i am pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us , we are really happy that you think we are the best you have stayed in, we look forward to seeing you next time your in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Beautiful B&B, lovely room, really clean, fantastic cooked breakfast 5 mins away from pubs and bars really nice staff especially Rosie, Wifi great and fast lovely dining room nice and quiet, beds are really comfortable. Everything is decorated lovely, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Fantastic stay.
Beautifully clean, well decorated and well furnished throughout.
Bed was very comfortable and room included and the little extra's that you might have forgotten.
Wifi fast and easy to access.
Fresh cooked breakfast in the morning (ordered the night before) was lovely with a range of other options also available. I was well looked after during my stay and staff couldn't have been nicer!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We came here from the South coast on a 3 day visit. Having stayed in the area previously my wife booked here because of the rating on trip advisor. We were welcomed by Andrew who booked us in and showed us the room. Lovely room very tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was different insomuch that you ordered it on a form the night before. That way you picked what you wanted and stipulated the time, and it was brought to the table by Steven who certainly knows how to provide a good breakfast. Cereals, fresh and dried fruit, croissants were all available. Toast to order on the morning. Everything was so fresh and the cooked part of the breakfast was piping hot. Full English was lovely, smoked haddock kedgeree was to die for, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs just great. I ran out of days so did not manage the smoked kipper pate. On the 1st morning I asked for red bush tea. No one ever has it anywhere so we always bring our own. On day 2 Steven made sure he had some in. That shows me how much they respect the guest and how much they want you to enjoy the stay. Enjoy we did. The rooms were kept immaculate. No complaints here just praise where it is due.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A really relaxing atmosphere. Very comfortable rooms decorated in a very modern style. The breakfast is superb with a great choice which you order the night before giving the time you wish to eat so it can be freshly cooked. It is run by Andrew and Stephen who are both very friendly and helpful. You can even eat a take away in the dining room if you want and if you ask they will supply plates and cutlery. It is very central, only 5 minutes walk to the metre and less to the shops. A really great find.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for three days very clean comfortable guest house Stephen very friendly nothing was a bother to him he even offered to bring breakfast to the room as I am not to good on my feet .We have booked again in March so does that not tell you how great a place it is thank you again stephen

Room Tip: We had the twin room on first floor has everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 10 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#9 of 10 in Whitley Bay
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 10 in Whitley Bay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan

Property: The Metropolitan
Address: 13 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitley Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan bed and breakfast is situated in the heart of Whitley Bay, We provide our guests with quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a modern setting at an affordable price. Centrally located, The Metropolitan is a few minutes walk from the blue flag beaches and Whitley Bay town centre. The Metropolitan is positioned in a quiet street which is close to all transport links, restaurants, theatre, bars and nightlife. It is the ideal place to stay to enjoy all that Whitley Bay and surrounding areas have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing