We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A hotel should be clean, quiet, and comfortable and the Windsor Hotel ticks all the boxes. We were given a large room. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean. We had a quiet night each night every night. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJA961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    106
    70
    41
    41
See reviews for
72
118
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington Northumberland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My sister and I visited last week with our groupon voucher we both decided to have the sirloin steaks. We arrived at 7.30 ordered our food 1 hour later we were informed the kitchen had misplaced our order. We eventually got our food the steak was very fatty for a sirloin. The onion rings were excellent as were the chips.We did receive a free glass of wine for our wait. I thougt this was a very nice gesture Thank You.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fletch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

For a cheap half term break my friend and I didn't expect a great deal, but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff from the outset were very friendly; on reception, at the bar and the ladies who cleaned the room. The room (no 46) was very spacious, with a double and two singles. Plenty of hanging/drawer space, and a good bathroom with bath and shower cubicle.

Room Tip: Rooms 46 and 48 are next to each other and are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thornbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We agree with those who complain about the all-pervading stench of burnt food or oil. It's overpowering and totally dominant, not only in the public rooms, but in the 2, widely-spaced rooms in our party.

Moreover, there is an air of shabbiness throughout - worn out carpets, dirty light fittings, etc. Although our path room was decent (save for the shower soap dispenser not working and the loo-roll holder half off the wall), the room itself showed signs of neglect: the (very old) tv and bedside light didn't work, the curtain rail had no end-stop, so the curtain came away - as did the curtain tie-back. Plug sockets are difficult to reach.

On the good side, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It's just sad that the stench and poor maintenance undermines their hard work.

Off to get my clothes dry-cleaned.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 621147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

Borehamwood
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked for three nights through Expedia and got a very good deal. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only minor matter was that one of the mugs for tea/coffee making was badly cracked and chipped and not very clean. The room was clean, warm, comfortable with plenty of room. I had to go to Newcastle on business and my girl friend and I decided to make a weekend of it. Whitley Bay is a pleasant town with a great fish and chip shop and good public transport connections. I will try and book the Windsor next time I go to Newcastle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrytBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel needs to invest in an extractor fan, as as soon as we entered the main reception we were hit my the smell and smoke from the steaks in the kitchen.

Staff seemed exhausted and in need of a break, as it was as soon as they could take or order and be done.

As soon as they knew we had a groupon voucher it was if we were second class citizens. The steak dinner the brought out, we weren't asked if we wanted anything else and were then given the bill.
Shame really as the dinner itself was good!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked this hotel through living social and got 2 nights b&b for £69, so excellent value!
The breakfast was average and the cooked breakfast was quite cold. They didn't seem to be able to cope with the sunday busy late morning period which meant waiting a long time for juice top ups and the cooked breakfast. The cups for hot drinks are way to small to have a decent cuppa in, as were the juice glasses. This meant multiple trips to top up. However, our room was a great size with a large plasma freeview tv and the bathroom had fantastic water pressure which meant we could run a bath in a minute! The shower cubicle was a little too small though. The furniture had quite a bit of wear and tear, but for a budget hotel its fine as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. Right on the seafront and just down the road from the pub and round the corner from the restaurants. The metro station is just a short stroll away and youre about 20mins from Newcastle and a 15 min stroll down the promenade to Tynemouth. No complaints as such, but nothing to write home about either.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Property: Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Address: 37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing