We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time and lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great time and lovely hotel”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

stayed at the hotel for three night last week staff very friendly special mention to johnie who was very helpful indeed rooms we very clean would recommend the hotel to everyone thank you very much hugh and liz

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 514hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    108
    74
    42
    42
See reviews for
74
121
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have stayed here over many years when in UK , 3 times the last few months , great location for Coastal walks and easy travel links to the city ,
good clean rooms , a quiet safe and comfortable place to stay for families.
room rates and meals real value for Money. no extra hidden costs very good staff, book rooms to the back of the hotel on Friday & Saterday Nights,
I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: double rooms to the back away from the stree t
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianswws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely comfy 4 poster bed! Spotlessly clean newly fitted bathroom! Wonderful hospitality! A particular mention must go to Sarah on reception! She was friendly efficient and professional balanced with a wonderful sense of humour! Thankyou!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A hotel should be clean, quiet, and comfortable and the Windsor Hotel ticks all the boxes. We were given a large room. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean. We had a quiet night each night every night. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJA961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My sister and I visited last week with our groupon voucher we both decided to have the sirloin steaks. We arrived at 7.30 ordered our food 1 hour later we were informed the kitchen had misplaced our order. We eventually got our food the steak was very fatty for a sirloin. The onion rings were excellent as were the chips.We did receive a free glass of wine for our wait. I thougt this was a very nice gesture Thank You.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fletch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

For a cheap half term break my friend and I didn't expect a great deal, but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff from the outset were very friendly; on reception, at the bar and the ladies who cleaned the room. The room (no 46) was very spacious, with a double and two singles. Plenty of hanging/drawer space, and a good bathroom with bath and shower cubicle.

Room Tip: Rooms 46 and 48 are next to each other and are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thornbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We agree with those who complain about the all-pervading stench of burnt food or oil. It's overpowering and totally dominant, not only in the public rooms, but in the 2, widely-spaced rooms in our party.

Moreover, there is an air of shabbiness throughout - worn out carpets, dirty light fittings, etc. Although our path room was decent (save for the shower soap dispenser not working and the loo-roll holder half off the wall), the room itself showed signs of neglect: the (very old) tv and bedside light didn't work, the curtain rail had no end-stop, so the curtain came away - as did the curtain tie-back. Plug sockets are difficult to reach.

On the good side, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It's just sad that the stench and poor maintenance undermines their hard work.

Off to get my clothes dry-cleaned.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 621147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 10 in Whitley Bay
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#9 of 10 in Whitley Bay
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
226 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,386 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Property: Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Address: 37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing