We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul Weller weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Paul Weller weekend away”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from the mouth of the Tyne festival having stopped at the windsor hotel in whitley bay. The parking behind the hotel was a great start as most of the area seemed to be permits, straight into the hotel from the car park and into a nice modern reception, check in was quickly done and we were given room 58. It was fairly large and a great view of the sea front,the room was clean and needed a little tlc but very adequate for one night. When we arrived back at around midnight to be greated by the night porter who was a great fella asking about our night.the room was noisy to the ally hours as opposite a few nightclubs/ bars but that's whitley bay and a decent amount of beer soon blocked that out :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodseatsmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    108
    72
    42
    41
See reviews for
73
121
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

With the exception of 2 staff members, in our experience the staff here were brilliant and were what made this hotel so good! They were always friendly and helpful, especially the night guy - sorry - wish we'd asked your name but you were fab and hope the family get together goes well! (hope that identifies you) AND also the lady who recommended Barters books in Alnwick for the rainy day. Loved it!
There was a waitress who failed to adequately 'wait' and a receptionist who - like another reviewer has already mentioned - attempted to charge me £100 more than Booking.com had quoted and then took about 20 minutes to rectify "the computer says no". Sorry - it may not have been your fault - but - not good enough! You were clearly unhappy that I questioned the price. Pleased I kept my own records.
We found the room, especially the bathroom, spotless and with an adequate amount of space.
On one night there was a lot of noise from other guests (just one couple actually - screaming at each other) and I'm afraid this area is close to discos so I don't recommend if you are like me and a light sleeper.
The breakfast is now £8.50 - not the £7.95 advertised. It's OK but we only had one as the drinks are DIY with sachets - not good - and my meal was greasy. The waitress didn't help matters. Found a cheap cafe in the town where you could get better food at half the price.
Evening meals in the hotel were very expensive for basic pub grub.
Won't stay again as feel we've 'done' this area but would recommend this hotel to others - just make sure you take your booking records with you (and ear plugs) - and eat out!

Room Tip: ask for a 'quiet room' and take ear plugs if staying at the weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a night 2 adults and a dog. Room was ok cleanish. Old stains on the carpet. We went to rwception to check in where a woman slowly zzzz checked up in whilst answwering the phone talking clearly to other staff saying who had been I that morning. Telling us how her leg hurts and shes got so much to do. We sat in the pub for a drink whilst the girl behind the bar discussed a guests bill and showing anorhet guest there bill and saying that they hadnt paid and it would be on her head and then they paid the wrong amount again showing this to the other guest. However breakfast was ok and the woman serving was nice and friendly! Checking out a guy was checking our details and the other receptionist came in asking him what this an that was even thought he was meant to be dealing with us. Is could be a nice place just need to sort the staff out!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

Birchanger, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If I could rate this review purely on the service provided by Graham, the night porter, it'd get 5 out of 5. We arrived at 11.15pm: tired, stressed and needing to be looked after and Graham did not disappoint.
Unfortunately, the hotel itself did disappoint. In place of the family room we had booked, we were given two adjoining rooms, but a key could not be found for the inter connecting door. Moreover, the shower in one room did not work, so there was a lot of two-ing and fro-ing between the rooms in the morning, via the corridor. We could not find a remote in either of the rooms, so no TV.
On leaving, it was clear that the receptionist found it a real chore to try and figure out how to charge us the rate agreed with hotels.com rather than the higher rate she had on record. Again, Graham was there to smooth the situation over.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is close to the bars and nightclubs of Whitley Bay so we weren't expecting it to be anything special, we were pleasantly surprised though. We arrived on a busy Sunday afternoon, the hotel was full but the staff were very obliging and happy to change our room because the first one they offered us was unsuitable for my disabled husband. Our room was light and spacious with clean bedding and towels, the decor was a bit old fashioned and the carpet looked as though it had been fitted by a child with blunt scissors! The breakfast was only okay but the staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 3 nights
B&B enjoyed our stay with lovely friendly staff. Johnathan on reception is there to help and make you welcome with a laugh. Breakfast was amazing food served by a lovely lady called Shirley who was very helpfull and a good laugh too. Quality of the breakfast was brilliant with everything you could want. Rooms are very large clean & comfortable beds and pillows. We stayed in room 68 directly facing the havana nightclub which was loud but after a few drinks wasn't a problem we soon driffed off.
Sadly on Friday night two coaches of over 100 old people arrived which did nothing but complain moan & groan. Coffin dodgers and bolied sweet brigade they was a choir what more can i say!!!
Apart from the old people that came and spoiled the hotel and there rudeness to staff which was discusting we can recommend this hotel as a great value for money with a fantasic friendly atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank floppets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

we used this hotel as part of a national holidays trip to see one direction at the stadium of light.
Lovely hotel, corridors were a little like a maze, my daughter and i booked a twin room and we had a double bed and a single one, and I have to say were probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in, the only downside was the air conditioner unit was right outside our window and so a little noisy.

The bathroom was huge with both a bath and free standing shower cubicle.

Staff were al nice and friendly and the breakfast was very nice, I would return if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 10 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 10 in Whitley Bay
222 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Property: Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Address: 37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing