We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My partner and I, went for a meal about two weeks ago to the Windsor Hotel . We were eating with friends a party of four people counting myself. We did not have a starter. Two had the steak dish and myself and one other had the chicken dinner. I was told that the steak meals were enjoyable, There was enough to fill you. The chicken meal was okay I enjoyed the mashed potato, Nothing stood out as special about the meal. It was an ok meal. The cost seemed fair for the meal. The hotel lounge and bar were clean. Can not say what the rooms were like. We were just there for a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Loved the hotel, staff friendly, breakfast nice.... Police on doors keeping everyone inside a concern. Little man on desk rude and clueless. Apart from this had nice stay over on way to higher parts of Northumberland

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

1970's grade hotel, hard towels, trouser press, teas maid etc etc......

Breakfast only positive, avoid while town if you can but if not this place is best of a shocking bunch.

Lucky to get 3-10 and 2.5 if that is for breakfast!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dudders15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I never usually leave reviews but felt compelled so that hopefully I can spare other people from the indignity of staying in this establishment. Upon arrival myself and my husband where told that there was no record of our booking. Luckily my husband had a copy of the invoice on his phone so we were eventually squeezed into the hotel by a very grumpy lady on reception I believe her name was Sarah constantly moaning she had so much work to do and was extremely tired. When we went to our room we were very disappointed the decor is like something from the 1970s and dirty with stains on the walls and carpets. The only bonus of this hotel was the staff members in the restaurant and the quality of food only downside is it is like a buffet I would of preferred a pot of coffee instead of tracking backwards and forwards for £8.50. However Stacey was a stand out individual always helpful and willing to go the extra mile for you. All in all I believe the hotel should have a more friendly welcome to the hotel by employing the right staff and vastly improve the decor! And I haven't even mentioned the noise from the string of bars and nightclubs across the road.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank traceygates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the windsor we spent 3days in this pit the first room they gave had wallpaper coming of wall curtain rail coming of window looked out on to a roof to crown it all the beds were not made dirty dingy room we asked to be moved which they did granted bigger room one of beds had a valance obviously to hide the dirty old base the other bed had no valance but mattress to big for bed the noise from the nightclub over the road was shocking women screaming and swearing 3am I can only say one good thing about this hotel staff were very nice especially the Australian lady she seemed to do almost everything we could go on and on about this place we will never be back I do not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Sorry I could not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

myself and my 2 last friends stay at this hotel every month and have been for the last 10 month we have always been made very welcome and nothing was a bother for the staff but this time we were gutted that johnny has left :( and i have to admit he was a miss he was a breath of fresh air always had a smile and a bit banter
still a fab hotel with friendly staff clean rooms and a lush breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a 5 day golf tour of courses around here and unfortunately stayed at the Windsor. First impressions are good, impressive frontage and decent reception but the rooms were awful. Dirty stained carpets and uncomfortable beds. Plumbing hit and miss too. Staff are surly and unhelpful apart from Bruce who was a star.Residents bar shut at 12 most nights but Saturday night was open to all and sundry. Geordie shore wannebes roaming around the hotel trying every room to get a free bed for the night,would be quite daunting for couples and families. The hotel reflects the town-shabby and dated

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank duffy1960g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 9 in Whitley Bay
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 9 in Whitley Bay
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Address: 37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range: £37 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing