We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could see sea, if you leaned out of the window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Exeter UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Could see sea, if you leaned out of the window”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2005

Quite a posh hotel. The room was very nice with a large new bathroom. Breakfast excellent. If your room is at the front, you need to keep the window closed because of noisy partygoers.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brassm0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    106
    70
    41
    41
See reviews for
72
118
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2005

Just stayed one (Saturday) night at the Windsor Hotel in Whitley Bay. The room was really clean, spacious and modern in style, it had all clearly been refurbed recently. I think it was one of the larger double rooms though, others looked a lot smaller.

Great bathroom and shower. It overlooked a fairly quiet street and we could just see the sea! Noise wasn't a problem but we did have the windows closed. Staff were friendly and helpful, one other great benefit was a 1pm check in and the restaurant menu looked fantastic!

We would stay there again and would definitely recommend the Windsor.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2004

I had been informed that the Hotel was good but sometimes noisy due to the close locality to the various bars in Whitley bay so I was prepared for a little noise. However the sound was unbearable even after I was kindly moved to a room further to the rear of the building. The problem being drunken groups of men shouting & swearing into the very early hours. During my stay of a week I was disturbed to find that a stagg group was staying at the hotel so the bar was kept open until 4:30 for them to continue their frolicks. I would not have chosen to stay here if I had known they encouraged the stagg do's.

The breakfast was adequate but the Bistro was very basic.

All in all I wouldnt recomend this Hotel as there are much more pleaseant hotels in the area.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

livingston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2004

I have stayed at this hotel all week on busness the service is excellant all the staff are very friendly.Have eaten in the bar and the resturant and the food is to be recomended in both ,nothing was too much trouble for the staff when i enquired about a different room due to the party in the street on Thursday night this was no trouble ,if you're looking for a hassle free comfortable stay then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanWhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2003

The Windsor is a real gem. A family owned and run hotel it was refurbished a couple of years ago. The reception is modern and stylish, the receptionists (and indeed all the staff) friendly and welcoming, and the rooms comfortable and well equipped.

The en-suite bathrooms are clean and bright with separate bath and shower and high water pressure so you feel you really have had a shower!

The attached brasserie is excellent in the quality of the food at both dinner and breakfast, the decor and the wines.

If you're staying at the weekend and you're not a party animal ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the road the Windsor is on is pretty packed with weekend revellers. But this shouldn't put you off staying at this excellent hotel.

Helpful?
8 Thank Henrydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Newquay Lodge
The Newquay Lodge
#6 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Property: Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Address: 37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing