We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one word - revolting!!”

New Ambassador Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one word - revolting!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

if you are looking into using this hotel i strongly advise you have a rethink! i visited this hotel with 5 friends for a 21st birthday night out, we decided to stay here as this was cheaper than newcastle centre, but the extra money would have been well worth it! from walking into the reception and seeing the unprofessional slob behind the desk it was clear this was not a pleasant place.

there is an adjoining 24hour strip club with music pumping through the hotel non stop! the smell was so gross i was gipping but luckily this subsided once you were upstairs! as soon as we opened the doors to the rooms our jaws dropped at the disgusting upkeep (or lack of it) the walls were stained, window frames rotting, ceilings stained, carpets stained, the wall of the shower was broken, no pressure from the shower head, an iron in the wall with no casing and all the bare wires exposed, old dirty bedding, punched in doors. it was like being in the film vacancy!! we did not feel safe at all! my friend actually insisted on going to the shop and buying dettol to clean and we used the full bottle!!! i left this on show for the slobby receptionist to see! i would have complained but i feared for my life!!! you are allowed to smoke in this hotel also which disgusted me as a non smoker! the hotel is basically the perfect setting for a horror movie!!!!!

do not use this hotel, it should no doubt be closed down!! nothing in whitley bay is worth seeing the whole place is a dive, pay the extra tenner and stay in newcastle!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caddywo-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    3
    0
    13
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stay in this hotel for one night and that was enough! Firstly did not feel safe in the hotel, door and window both broke. Room felt very unclean and old fashioned and mine was the best room out of the group! Others had stains on bedding, broken ceilings and very dirty bathrooms! If you dont care for personal hygiene stay here! Another thing to note is as you walk in to reception there is an open door with a bar on the right, including topless dancing at 5.30pm! would not recomend!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinky32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

9 of us stayed weekend past had a brilliant time , rooms where fine , clean sheets and a toilet all we needed. Bar vegas was amazing the girls got our stag right up on stage put on a great show. Defo worth it will be back

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

there was 7 of us all dif ages went for girlie bday hotel was clean,staff was very hepfull esp if we needed extras for our room:) i av nothing bad to say about our stay and we are returing in july!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

Ive just stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a funeral cause that was the only hotel available on the site i was on. We booked it on the site for £76 and when we got there got asked to pay £78 i no its only 2 pounds and even got my surname wrong and also had booked us in for 3 nights.

The room was filthy the nets were brown and had never even seen a washing machine before, the tiles in the bathroom at least 3 were broken and moving the hot water took an age to turn on at to get up an hour early to make sure it was hot for when we got up, the shower handle was broken and when i first turned it on it moved down to below my chest. The blanket on the bed had [-] burns and it there was one light in the room right in a corner and lit up about 20% if that of the room, the sheets and cover on the bed felt and looked horrible and the porno like canopy above the bed was just like a flea catcher. In the bathroom the bin was dirty and the vents were covered in dust and cobwebs.We didn't have the nerve to look at the mattress just in case.

Before we went we weren't told that the hotel bar would be playing loud music till early hours of the morning, we could here people talking in the room upstairs and their phone alarm going off no sleep there then.The breakfast was a NO NO after 1 night in i went down to ask to take it to my room as we slept in after having no sleep and also in a rush for the funeral and the so called chef was a young lad with old jeans on and a tracksuit top
i wondered whether or not his mum knew he was or did she think he was down the shop getting the morning paper.

The second night after the funeral i went down and asked the guy behind the reception whether or not i could take a drink to my room or not and the reply was i don't work here I'm only looking at the Internet facebook so i went and got one anyway and when i came out he was changing his shirt behind the desk.

There is know way you could have a rest at that hotel and feel comfortable and clean, or even to relax and we cringed every second we were in there how can someone class this as a 4 star hotel not with a million pound investment could it reach a 2 star. An health inspector would close that down in seconds without a doubt, i looked at the hotel across the road the Windsor and dreamt i was in their and when i checked there website i really wished i had done.

I will NEVER be staying there again or even recommend it to a local homeless person as they would be better off sleeping on the streets get a better nights sleep without the fleas and mites.

  • Liked — NOTHING AT ALL
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sausage77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

Please read this carefully:

Dont have the attitude that" well it will be ok for £25 a night". It wont be alright because I think this building could be potentially closed down if an inspector were to visit!!
On arrival it became obvious that this place was minging , personally I wouldnt wash the floor with those nets!!! What does it take though to show a bit of pride.
The rooms were very mucky and had never seen a hoover. The windows were sash and wouldnt close. I do believe that one girl had something growing in her kettle. The towels provided were used for the floor only because again they werent fit to clean the dog. The bedding left something to be desired and after reading other reviews on this site before I went I took my own bedding to put on.
Some girls from our party were in rooms where the mattress was covered in brown stains!!!! We had no alternative once we had arrived but too stay there.
We were a hen party of 30 who thought this place would be most local to everything and easy to use.
The Hotel bar is in fact a strip joint with action going on all day( if you like that kind of stuff).
The Hotel had various smells in different areas all too bad and most of us girls felt so itchy after staying the night couldnt wait to get home to get a good scrubb!!!!
Look closely at floors door handles and toilets and Im sure you would cancel the breakfast too - go on I dare you to eat it!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Askernlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigrichsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

valley boys. this place is not the hilton but for 30 a night what you want. its in the centre of all the action friday and saturday night. the rooms are comfortable i didnt have a problem with mine nor did 7 of my mates.the staff are helpful and cheerful which makes the stay easier .this place is for birthdays ,stag hen,or just clubbing.wouldnt recomend it to my gran [lol]. thanks alot to all the staff big rich look after yourselfs

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigrichsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#8 of 11 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ambassador Hotel

Property: New Ambassador Hotel
Address: 38-42 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
New Ambassador Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing