We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chedburgh Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Keighley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Having to organise a stag do with 2 weeks notice is no easy task, chedburgh made it so much easier. Able to put 11 men up with such short notice, bending over backwards to help us out and make sure we all had a bed for the night. Chedburgh is the best I've stopped at in Whitley, really clean, looks fantastic, and the service off the owner is 2nd to none. Breakfast is spot on too. 100% Recommend this place and will defiantly be back. Thanks for making out stay so good.

We stayed 13/08/2011

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    20
    4
    3
    14
See reviews for
11
16
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have stayed in here several times now and i can honestly say it was faultless.
They are very welcoming and the service,rooms and breakfast is exceptional.
Would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We arrived in Whitley Bay having received a phone call not long before arrival to tell us that our room at The Chedburgh Hotel was double booked and that a place had been found for us in alternative accomodation just down the road. We actually felt this to be unsatisfactory, because although alternative accomodation had been found it was not of our choosing and we pose the question what if every where else had been full ? I would not have relished trying to find alternative accomodation at such short notice!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank tufty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChedburghHotel, Manager at The Chedburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
I find this comment very hard to believe, as we would never allow guests to arrive after paying deposits and then say that we had double booked. If on the rare occassion we are ever double booked we would always let the guests know weeks before arrival as we always plan who is in what room 2 weeks beofore guests arrive so that these matters can be delt with asap and we can let the customer know in advance and explain the situation. But we would never allow for customers to turn up at door for us to say that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Debi, jo, linda and me have stayed here for a few years on a girly weekend and always had a brill time.... Louise and paul at the chedburgh are fab hosts and are so friendly... The breakfast is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the hotel is in a great location for shops, nightlife and the beach, which is a 2 minute walk away.... Xxx

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed here a number of times both with my family and on a stag do - must say has to be the number 1 place to stay in the area and certainly my favourite
Atmosphere fantastic
Breakfast ace (and I own a cafe)
rooms tip top
A truly great place to stay Paul and Louise are lovely too and can't do enough for you
Cheers guys see you again soon :-)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acecarloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

we stayed at this bb for a stag weekend the place was very clean and the breakfast very good.The location was spot on just around the corner from all the night life but away from all the noise. The metro into Newcastle was only 3 minuites walk away from the hotel which was very good you can have friday night in Newcastle and saturday in whitley bay which was advised by the hotel manager very good choice

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t_helsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChedburghHotel, Owner at The Chedburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thanks for your great review, you's were a great group and I hope to see yous back again!

Thanks

Louise & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have stayed at the Chedburgh a couple times now and I love it! Its very clean, decorated very modern and the prices are excellent! It is a 2 min walk if that to the strip of bars but still a very quiet place to. I have stayed here with my wife as well as my friends as it accomadates everyone. The owners are great very helpfull advising us of the best places to go which there advice was first class as we had the best time! Overall I will recomend the Chedburgh to anyone! I will DEFO be staying at the Chedburgh again when I come to whitley bay for a night out.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FonGalo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#8 of 11 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedburgh Hotel

Property: The Chedburgh Hotel
Address: 12 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chedburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star contemporary styled accommodation located in the centre of Whitley Bay. Sky Sports channels, Free WiFi, DVD players, complimentary beverage tray and en-suite rooms are all available. Full English breakfast is served daily. Offers & discounts on accommodation are available. The best B&B you'll find in Whitley Bay for the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedburgh Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing