We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, one for a stag group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chedburgh Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
859 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 848 helpful votes
“Very good, one for a stag group”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for a Stag weekend in Whitley bay. The place was very clean and tidy and the staff very friendly. Our rooms were clean and bedsheets nice and fresh. Breakfast is of excellent quality, if in the area would stay again. It's only 1 minute walk from all the bars so a good choice also 1 minute from the sea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    21
    5
    3
    14
See reviews for
12
16
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

An all rounder, and perfect for groups. The Chedburgh was exactly what we required and Louise was excellent at accommodating 10 lads, and understood exactly why we were there. No complaints from any of our party and I would definitely recommend it to anyone seeking a base for a stag/hen do. My advice though is to avoid Whitley on a Friday as it's like a ghost town and head to Tynemouth or the city centre. Saturday in Whitley on the other hand is awesome!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Growy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at The Chedburgh Hotel over the weekend of the Great North Run. What a hotel!
Located just 15mins from the centre of Newcastle on the mainline metro service it’s a great alternative to staying in the centre of Newcastle. We stayed as a large group and our every need was catered for. The owner is friendly, all rooms and bathrooms were clean, modern and bright.

Overall Excellent Value! I would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

A group of us booked the Chedburgh for three nights for the Great North Run weekend and were looked after from start to finish! The accomodation was clean and tidy, and Louise couldn't do enough for us. Even though it meant a very early start for her on race day to feed everyone, plus also allowing us to watch the rugby!

I'd recommend to anyone to stay here because the rate is also very reasonable.......

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Firstly... Louise is so helpfull it's amazing, spot on accommodation, clean and tidy and breakfast was fab. We can as a party of 11 on a stag do and was made really welcome. I would without a doubt Reccomend chedburgh to anyone and everyone. 10/10. And Louise is a hottie too which is always nice. We stopped 13/08/2011 thanks for the stay we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Having to organise a stag do with 2 weeks notice is no easy task, chedburgh made it so much easier. Able to put 11 men up with such short notice, bending over backwards to help us out and make sure we all had a bed for the night. Chedburgh is the best I've stopped at in Whitley, really clean, looks fantastic, and the service off the owner is 2nd to none. Breakfast is spot on too. 100% Recommend this place and will defiantly be back. Thanks for making out stay so good.

We stayed 13/08/2011

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have stayed in here several times now and i can honestly say it was faultless.
They are very welcoming and the service,rooms and breakfast is exceptional.
Would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#9 of 10 in Whitley Bay
17 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newquay Lodge
The Newquay Lodge
#6 of 10 in Whitley Bay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedburgh Hotel

Property: The Chedburgh Hotel
Address: 12 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chedburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star contemporary styled accommodation located in the centre of Whitley Bay. Sky Sports channels, Free WiFi, DVD players, complimentary beverage tray and en-suite rooms are all available. Full English breakfast is served daily. Offers & discounts on accommodation are available. The best B&B you'll find in Whitley Bay for the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chedburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedburgh Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing