We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chedburgh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Whitley Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaktree Lodge(Whitley Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
74
21
5
4
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
21
5
4
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwarm welcomebank holiday weekendfull english breakfastpleasant staystreet parkingladsmetro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome and good breakfast. would stay there again and would recomend to friends and family , close to town centre and clean rooms ,shower rooms are clean and tidy .............................

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived Friday afternoon and booked in for two nights. Shown to our rooms we where a party of three all with single rooms . Clean tidy with TV. Internet . Tea/Coffee milk kettle. Full English breakfast, family run . Now come on what more do you want .... O yes re the review 'bed was a bit lumpy', she's obviously not been camping! same price but with the grass & nothing else.
We all thought it was great value for money, and would return again...
I think if you want a 5* hotel dig deeper in your pockets and leave this place to genuine revues

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I liked this place overall and could stay here again. It's very well located on the Esplanade about 5-7 minutes walk to the Metro and the seaside promenade, and 5 minutes from South Parade where there are still a few good nightclubs and bars for the weekend partying.

The family (: Paul, Louise and children :) are very pleasant, helpful and do a good job of dishing out breakfast each morning to all residents who're up in time.

Ambiance and decor are nice enough: I was pleased with the setting of the tables in the dining hall, the generally simple but pleasant set up of the bathrooms, bedrooms etc. I'd love to see the showers working and fixed so that they are stable on the shower stand. Increased heating at night would be nice because for people who're not used to climate in Geordie-land, it's fairly chilly sometimes even in the "summer" because temperatures range from 18C-13C and that's not exactly balmy. Winters have minimums around 3C. So it's just cool, cooler and cold in this area. I guess that's why Geordies are more easily able to wear summer clothing when most people are reaching for a thick jacket.
The rooms have coffee making facilities, some shelf / wardrobe space, a wash basin, small desk and chair and, obviously, a bed.
Housekeeping is pretty good, there's a pleasant lady who comes over every day between 10 a.m. and noon, and does a good job. I like the shortbread cookies that came with the daily allotment of instant coffee sachets.

Breakfast is pretty good i.e. cereals, orange & apple juice, milk, coffee/tea, toast, full English breakfast (: sausages, bacon, egg, beans, mushrooms too at times :). I was happy with it. Breakfast may be complimentary depending on your deal when booking.

Wi-fi was okay although I'd like to be more stable. Still acceptable though.

All in all, very good value for money on my deal. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harshapaulraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Initially the place looked very nice. The rooms and beds are ok if you just want somewhere to get your head down. The walls are very thin so would recommend ear plugs or sleeping tablets. I know the place us cheep by in a while week I only had one towel change and the cleaner only seems to empty the bin, everything was dusty and the bed not properly made.

With some attention to detail this B&b could be really nice, just basic DIY like changing fuses and bulbs that have blown, re attaching things that have fallen off walls, sort plumbing out and planning doors to fit properly so they don't need to be slammed shut and wake every one up at 6.30.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frodo365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had a short break of 3 days at the Chedburgh, Whitely Bay. We were made very welcome by the owner, Paul, who even carried my case upstairs to the very clean and comfortable room.The bed was very good, bedding and towels fresh and spotless. Breakfast was well cooked and the ingredients top quality.
All in all a great stay apart from the weather but I can't blame Paul for that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnclark639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews